The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Also Morning Glory still annoying the living chit out of me. Still contrived, NOT FUNNY and the debates they have been having lately are pathetic. It is bloody obvious that their producer has written the scripts and they don't really believe what they are saying. The whole show is like a really bad stand-up routine. Andy Maher is the most annoying MF in the media IMHO.

Agree about MG. Can't decide who is worst, billy, timmy or Andy.:confused:

Think if they replaced Maher with another straight man and Billy with another joker then it could work with Timmy.

i know you love bagging the station.. but sorry they actualy have podcasts as well on there website... maybe you should check it out some time.

www.sen.com.au

i love the station and thats why i get annoyed because i feel they could be so much better, this thread is a good place to discuss it

sen website is a joke they have everything all over the place and the podcasts are from like 3 weeks ago

sport 927 website is the best and they are only a racing station so it just shows how far back sen's site is

KB just annoys me but not as much as Doran and MG guys. KB is a pretty good host but gee-wizz it's like listening to an old timey news reel. And don't dare to talk about the rules with him. He is stubborn person and often dismisses any opinion opposing him. Why don't they just go the full boar and make KB or get someone else to be a shock jock and rip on everything rather than go under a false pretense of a having a talkback show with a fair and balanced approach.

Sarbo,
I dont want to go through all this again, I listen because i want to know whats going on in the footy and sporting world.
As for being pissed off and what happened with the former staff like me so what , but what has that got to do with still listening to them I would say heaps of those who were out of pocket still listen to SEN.
Where would you suggest we listen given SEN is the only sports radio station in the whole country...to Ernie Sigley , bruce and phil or someone else.
And i listen because i want to keep my hand in , i posted here no secret that i tried to get back there to work on the footy coverage and i still hope i can work there again.
So sarbo allow me to criticise like the rest here without saying it is because i am pissed off...my posts are similar to many here.
I would go as far as saying that the common theme here is that a broom needs to go through the place and make the whole thing more of a new feel.

Their footy coverage better be good, because the ratings are in from the 1st survey and they are not too good

KB down 1.3 to 1.8
Doran down 1.4 to 1.6
Overnights down 0.8 to 2.3
MG and RH only programs rating at 3.0 or above

Too much soccer?

No, I don't think so.

Part of the reason I think its ratings are so low is that with the sample for radio ratings being relatively low, a few people could determine the ratings fate of an SEN show. Now this isn't a huge problem if they were a 3AW which already has a big audience, but with SEN's ratings already poor, it makes it even more important that those people with ratings diaries say they listen to SEN.

Personally I think the radio ratings system is deeply flawed. You essentially have to tick a box for what station you are listening to, for each 15 minute period of the day. Further, you have to tick a box to say where you were listening. And then there are another few pages where they ask you about your 'buying habits'.

Seriously, even if you do take an interest in the media, it is still a boring, time consuming exercise. People's lives are busy enough as it is, and they probably have better things to do than tick boxes.

I think they really need a serious marketing campaign. There are many sports nuts in Melbourne who haven't even heard of the station. My cousin said to me last week he was following the A-League via the web because he doesn't have Foxtel. He hadn't even heard of SEN, let alone know they were broadcasting Victory matches.

However, they are sometimes their own worst enemy sometimes. The website still says Huddo is on The Run Home and makes no mention of Francis Leach. In the Green Guide today, the listings say SEN is broadcasting 4 matches of something called ALF Football on Saturday and Sunday. Now, I don't know whose fault it is, and it is obviously a typo, but it also comes across as unprofessional. And what's on SEN next Mon-Thu? "Listings Unavailable at time of going to press".

I gather Brad,although aren't doubts on Chris playing again ?

im fairly sure it will be chris scott who will be involved with SEN games in QLD, because it is extremely unlikely he will play AFL again and is only on the list because they backended his contract similar to Voss who is still on their list

Brad Scott works full time at Collingwood, so unless he is gonna be doing his collingwood job and SEN at the same time then i dont think it will be him

No, I don't think so.

Part of the reason I think its ratings are so low is that with the sample for radio ratings being relatively low, a few people could determine the ratings fate of an SEN show. Now this isn't a huge problem if they were a 3AW which already has a big audience, but with SEN's ratings already poor, it makes it even more important that those people with ratings diaries say they listen to SEN.

Personally I think the radio ratings system is deeply flawed. You essentially have to tick a box for what station you are listening to, for each 15 minute period of the day. Further, you have to tick a box to say where you were listening. And then there are another few pages where they ask you about your 'buying habits'.

Seriously, even if you do take an interest in the media, it is still a boring, time consuming exercise. People's lives are busy enough as it is, and they probably have better things to do than tick boxes.

I think they really need a serious marketing campaign. There are many sports nuts in Melbourne who haven't even heard of the station. My cousin said to me last week he was following the A-League via the web because he doesn't have Foxtel. He hadn't even heard of SEN, let alone know they were broadcasting Victory matches.

However, they are sometimes their own worst enemy sometimes. The website still says Huddo is on The Run Home and makes no mention of Francis Leach. In the Green Guide today, the listings say SEN is broadcasting 4 matches of something called ALF Football on Saturday and Sunday. Now, I don't know whose fault it is, and it is obviously a typo, but it also comes across as unprofessional. And what's on SEN next Mon-Thu? "Listings Unavailable at time of going to press".

well done mate summed up my thoughts to a tee

From a girl's point of view, I am a morning glory listener each morning. To me, Tim is the weak link on that show. He will not ever make a stand on anything. He sits on the fence and reminds me of an old man in a dressing gown and slippers on the front porch.

Billy can be silly, yes, but I think Andy is the anchor there. I used to bag Richo a lot, but I have warmed to him lately, he seems to have pulled his head in.

I like the weekend shows better, the sat and sun morning shows, including Hold ya Horses (though it doesn't go anywhere near long enoug).

I do listen to KB on and off but I can't stand it because of his mouth noises on the mic. god it is annoying.

Anyway, there is always going to be differing opinions on everything. What I like, the next person will hate. So we all have to just voice an opinion and have the next person "respect" that opinion instead of attacking someone. That's childish.

Enjoy the shows you do and happy listening!!!

:D

Mark Allan boundary rider for one of the NAB cup games this weekend. I have heard it all now :eek:

I can't wait..........

KB: And now down to Mark Allan on the boundary, Mark what can you tell us about Hird's injury?

MA: It's similar to a golfing injury I had back in my younger days when I was in college playing golf in America playing with Allenby and Appleby. During my golf back swing I felt pain in my elbow which caused me to slice the golf ball. So I guess as long as he slows down his back swing he may be able to avoid that slice he has been experiencing lately.

I can't wait..........

KB: And now down to Mark Allan on the boundary, Mark what can you tell us about Hird's injury?

MA: It's similar to a golfing injury I had back in my younger days when I was in college playing golf in America playing with Allenby and Appleby. During my golf back swing I felt pain in my elbow which caused me to slice the golf ball. So I guess as long as he slows down his back swing he may be able to avoid that slice he has been experiencing lately.

"Did I tell you about when I made the cut for the British Open?"

looking forward to the first game mark allen and dermott do together. i doubt we'll hear anything about the game, only about themselves and the overuse of the word "I".

SEN announced their commentary team this afternoon

Nathan Buckley is going to be a regular on special comments...im guessing he will probably do 15-20 sunday games this season, as the pies only play twice on sundays

Too much soccer?

Yes, there is probably too much soccer talk. But for me it is what is NOT covered that is the main problem. If you have a look at the survey period, 14 Jan to 10 Feb. http://www.nielsenmedia.com.au/files/melbourne107.pdf

This is right in the middle of the commbank cup one dayers, KFC 20/20 big bash, ford ranger cup and SEN doesn’t cover any of these events. Cricket is still the biggest sport in summer and if you check the ABC’s weekend ratings it went up and I would say a lot of SEN listeners switched over to get coverage of the cricket, I know I did. Cricket also takes hours and hours away from other stations, and switching back to SEN really isn’t an option when a game is on.

If I was SEN, I would start trialling ball by ball coverage of cricket, start off with the Victoria 20/20 home games just to see what reaction this gets. Also cover the Australia one dayers at the MCG. SEN tried cricket in the early days, but they didn’t really persist with it.

The biggest event in summer is the Tennis, which goes from the middle of Jan to the end of Jan. also within the survey period, and SEN doesn’t really cover the tennis either. But its rivals do, ABC gives ball by ball tennis coverage at night and on weekends, and 3AW also covers tennis especially on the weekends and they do the ball by ball of the finals. Most of the SEN guys already broadcast tennis on the Australian Open radio service, so they could just take the live feed. I would cover the matches involving Australian players like Lleyton, Molik, Stoser and some of the big internationals like Federer.

Surely with another large drop off in the summer period, this must tell SEN management something about what is covered and what is not. SEN already covers soccer and basketball, but not to cover the 2 biggest summer sports is asking for low ratings.

People here question the radio ratings, but even if you think they’re wrong just look at the trend over the years. When does SEN get its lowest ratings? Summer. When does the ABC get some of its highest ratings? Summer. Sports fans leave SEN in summer to get their sports information elsewhere, and that fact is hard to question.

Kangaroos vs Collingwood
Friday 23rd March, Coverage from: 7pm
Carrara Stadium, QLD
Anthony Hudson, Matt Granland, Dermott Brereton & Chris Scott

Western Bulldogs vs Sydney
Saturday 24th March Coverage from: 3pm
Manuka Oval, ACT
Matt Granland, Andrew Maher, Daniel Harford

Carlton vs Essendon
Saturday 24th March Coverage from: 6pm
Telstra Dome
Anthony Hudson, Mark Readings, Dermott Brereton & Tiffany Cherry

Geelong vs Richmond
Sunday 25th March Coverage from: 3pm
Skilled Stadium
Kevin Bartlett, Mark Doran, David Schwarz, Francis Leach

Melbourne vs Hawthorn
Sunday 25th March Coverage from: 6pm
Telstra Dome
Matt Granland, Bruce Eva, Billy, Mark Allen

Edit: This was on the SEN website.... The same website that lists Huddo and the Ox on the Run Home.

Kangaroos vs Collingwood

Western Bulldogs vs Sydney
Saturday 24th March Coverage from: 3pm
Manuka Oval, ACT
Matt Granland, Andrew Maher, Daniel Harford

at what stage of the last 1/4 will maher allow granland to speak?

Kangaroos vs Collingwood

Carlton vs Essendon
Saturday 24th March Coverage from: 6pm
Telstra Dome
Anthony Hudson, Mark Readings, Dermott Brereton & Tiffany Cherry

Wish there was webcam of her at the same time :D
[/quote]

no tim watson this weekend...

interesting they are just going with the one special comments at each game.. I reckon there teams will change a bit once the real footy season starts..

i love derm just quality out of every word :thumbsu:

good to see jobs for the boys with bruce eva and doran getting runs and also kb doing the richmond game :thumbsd:

Listening to the game tonight the com team they have on has been as good as anyone for mine.

Granland class as Huddo is which we always new..

Dermie offers good insight while Chris Scott was good tonight.

QUOTE]

Mate are you kidding? He ruined the whole thing.:thumbsd: Had to turn it off just before half time thanks to Derm the Germ.
He went on and on during the lead up to the game about how collingwood wouldn't let North get away from them, that Mick would tighten things up straight away if kangaroos looked like getting a decent lead. Great insight Derm. North were ahead by 30 by the end of the first quarter and probably should've led by more. Just the first of about two dozen of Derm's observations and predictions that were just plain wrong. :thumbsd:

Lets hope they bring in two special comments men so Derm doesn't get the chance to dominate the discussion with his verbal diarrhoea.

QUOTE]

Mate are you kidding? He ruined the whole thing.:thumbsd: Had to turn it off just before half time thanks to Derm the Germ.
He went on and on during the lead up to the game about how collingwood wouldn't let North get away from them, that Mick would tighten things up straight away if kangaroos looked like getting a decent lead. Great insight Derm. North were ahead by 30 by the end of the first quarter and probably should've led by more. Just the first of about two dozen of Derm's observations and predictions that were just plain wrong. :thumbsd:

Lets hope they bring in two special comments men so Derm doesn't get the chance to dominate the discussion with his verbal diarrhoea.

wow he got a prediction wrong who doesnt

in the pre game his comments were brillant when he said the game doesnt need to protect outside squibs it should be about protecting the hard nut when getting the footy

he goes on a bit but he is is 10 classes above your billy/tim watson combo

Footy Talk, the show on with Matty Thompson and Ben Dixon at the moment is exactly what SEN have been lacking for the last 3 years. The footy will launch this station if they continue the simliar programming with footy dedicated shows on the weekend..

congratulations on a top move to those involved at SEN rather than just playign replays...