The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Re: SEN- Your opinion

SEN were always going to be up against it. The target audience is fairly limited as they are are pretty much set in their listening habits. For example, the male 18-35 market ( the most lucrative advertising wise ) are much more inclined to stay with music stations such as MMM, JJJ, or RRR regardless of how big a sporting fan they are. Those over that age who are "Talk" radio listeners have in the vast majority of cases, a worn in habitual preference for 3AW ( cant reason why either ) or 774. The fact that SEN's audience is almost exclusively male when the majority of radio listeners is female dosent help either. Still, sports radio stations have worked succesfully in other countries with similar cultures and questions should be asked as to why it has failed here. I have a few theories.

Having ex sportsman as presenters does not automatically create fulfilling sports radio listening. Just because Bill Brownless, Tim Watson, KB and Dermie Brereton could play a bit of footy dosent mean they are in any position to speak with any authority ( or knowledge apparently ) on sports other than AFL. Most attempts to converse on major non AFL sports are downright embarrasing.

Programmes on Cycling, swimming, netball, basketball, motorsport and extreme sport have so little a base listenership as to be a waste of airtime.

I realise that you have to fill in airtime but taking prime listening time up to broadcast the Australia- New Zealand test cricket series was a disaster. No one listened because few people cared. It was the start of the much awaited footy season for christ sake!

Nicole Livingstone has no k nowledge of sport apart from swimming. She cannot attract listeners and can and does lose them. Ditto Matthew Hardy.

SEN is a great station. I used to listen to the 3AW program (6-8pm), but now am a full SEN convert. From the morning guyz to Hudson n co in the arvos and the Boys on Saturday morning, it is a great combination of sport (ie. footy) and comedy type chat. The only absolute DOWNER was the axing of "the ring of fire' late night Saturday and Sundays, replacing it with soccer broadcasts from England??? What was all that about?? The flash, n co. were just about the three funniest guyz on that station and i still miss them!!!! :(

That would be by main recommendation for SEN, I know it may not improve their situation financially, but the Fish, Flash and Racetrack Rasputin were an absolute cult sensation on Friday and Saturday nights.

With the Tour de France on recently, watching it makes me think of them and there hilarious ramblings on it. Since they've gone, I've really missed the Ring of Fire. Especially that guy Billy and Zlate, the two nightclub wogs, man they were funny!

Brett Phillips is a hack, too sensible for that late night slot, he works alright on Triple M but he puts me to sleep (kind of appropriate at 2am ;)) We need some comedy, bring back the Ring of Fire, and bring in the Gladiators of Sport (Steven Peake, Howard Lee, Steven Milne, Troy Zantuck) in for another night a week.

I'd go as far as giving the Ring of Fire a daytime slot, maybe in a drive slot for an hour each night instead of the Run Home.

johnnyhoward said:
That would be by main recommendation for SEN, I know it may not improve their situation financially, but the Fish, Flash and Racetrack Rasputin were an absolute cult sensation on Friday and Saturday nights.

With the Tour de France on recently, watching it makes me think of them and there hilarious ramblings on it. Since they've gone, I've really missed the Ring of Fire. Especially that guy Billy and Zlate, the two nightclub wogs, man they were funny!

Brett Phillips is a hack, too sensible for that late night slot, he works alright on Triple M but he puts me to sleep (kind of appropriate at 2am ;)) We need some comedy, bring back the Ring of Fire, and bring in the Gladiators of Sport (Steven Peake, Howard Lee, Steven Milne, Troy Zantuck) in for another night a week.

I'd go as far as giving the Ring of Fire a daytime slot, maybe in a drive slot for an hour each night instead of the Run Home.

Could not agree more... they are really missed. (who could 4get their branding of channel 9 "channel we dont care".) Maybe we could start a petition or something to get them back on the air... Flash, Fish, Racetrack.. WHERE ARE YOU????

Shell said:
Could not agree more... they are really missed. (who could 4get their branding of channel 9 "channel we dont care".) Maybe we could start a petition or something to get them back on the air... Flash, Fish, Racetrack.. WHERE ARE YOU????
Forgot to add, one thing about that show was its killer theme music by Johnny Cash.

Hey I have a question, if someone out there knows the answer. SEN has a "locker room" segment on at 9pm every night, during the week, yeah?? Anyway, last year they had Geelong on every fortnight... but is there one for Geelong this year??? Every time i tune in, it seems they are banging on about bloody Stkilda, Essendon or Hawthorn... Anyone out there knows which day the Catters locker room is on at all???

they should have more of bruce!

SEN - great station.

i must say i was never a fan of ring of fire though.

world sport overnight is great, i love KB's hungry for sport and afternoons with bruce eva and nicole. must disagree with andrew coombs post and say nicole livingstone is a true professional in every sense of the word. she is well respected and is very knowledgable. (loved every minute when she chatted about the antics of tasmyn lewis on an abc documentary - was with nicole all the way on that one).
must say that bruce eva and mark fyne's knowledge of afl is second to none.

i just hope over the summer they provide more cricket chat, rather that off field AFL news like who's training the house down or who's possibly going where.

I remember early in the year when Bruce McAvaney was on Sunday mornings then they replaced it with a netball show. Will bruce ever come back?

By the way, I reckon Tony Schibecci doesn't work that well on his own compared to Mark Fine, who should fill in the overnight spot, he is much better. Schibeccster always says "well, I didn't see the game, but..." and he just seems too cliched. Finey is a bit more edgey. Schibeccster has a good voice and is a great announcer, but he's too cliched.

Re: The SEN Saga - Please post opinions here

Yeah and it looks like the programs are remaing pretty stable.

More advertisements, so must be some extra cash coming in and this is gerat to help support the station.

mark doran is going to be the afternoon host and bruce eva is going to be the night time host.
mark doran said his new program would have things like " a preview of how the lion king show is "
might find his preview after that will be one of the sen front door.

also half of the sen staff think that billy brownless is a **************** the other half think he is a really big **************** .

maybe i should be more forgiving doran and billy also were ripped off financially by the former sen management just like we were .

rippedoff said:
mark doran is going to be the afternoon host and bruce eva is going to be the night time host.
mark doran said his new program would have things like " a preview of how the lion king show is "

also half of the sen staff think that billy brownless is a **************** the other half think he is a really big **************** .

maybe i should be more forgiving doran and billy also were ripped off financially by the former sen management just like we were .

Wouldn't mind hearing Mark on in the afternoon, interesting to see how poeple get used to hearing him in a different timeslot.

rippedoff said:

Let cut to the Chase, how much does the previous SEN management owe your family member. We would all like to know.

The Netball show got sponsorship from the Commonwealth Bank and so pays for itself. The management have stated that this is the only way these specialist shows will get on air.

I listen to SEN all the time, but after trade week I will be tuning in less until the next footy season.

I agree about the Ring of Fire too. Excellent stuff, especially for punters. The pishtakery was very funny too. Channel 9 = channelwedon'tcare :)

Sen is back online Adelaiders: http://sen1116.conexim.com.au/sen1116_16.asx

Mark Doran's show included a 20 minute segment about Australian news & weather this afternoon. I was going to ring in and remind him that it was supposed to be a sports programme.

ben and my north it is an amount that is none of your business and even though it is four figures even if someone did you for 10 dollars or ten thousand they would still be a crook in the eyes of many.
read the link in afl on this site about the football tipster that has been dudded out of his prize by sen

as for mark dorans new sports show , i told you he was viewed as being a weak link at sen and this experiment when it fails to bring ratings will see his next move being out the door.

he was talking about chicken loaf sandwiches today and yesterday he was doing a thing on petrol.
he sounds more like ernie sigley than ernie sigley himself.

MArk Doarna's show does seem pretty weak. I would prefer BEva for sure in the afternoon spot.

I wish to announce that I shall return to SEN's World Sport Overnight tonight. I'll be on just after 12. I'll be on the next couple of nights, then thats it for a while due to exams. Now hasnt that lightened up your nights :p

Jarryd_S said:
I wish to announce that I shall return to SEN's World Sport Overnight tonight. I'll be on just after 12. I'll be on the next couple of nights, then thats it for a while due to exams. Now hasnt that lightened up your nights :p
Yes it was great to hear your voice grace that of my bedroom radio once again. :thumbsu:

rippedoff said:
ben and my north it is an amount that is none of your business and even though it is four figures even if someone did you for 10 dollars or ten thousand they would still be a crook in the eyes of many.
read the link in afl on this site about the football tipster that has been dudded out of his prize by sen

FFS - Move on will you.

And quite frankly, four figures is ******** all these days. They invested money and they lost. Its business and it happens.
Bloody hell, people lose their houses and all their possessions in some investments and yet all you do is whinge about a measley 4 figures.

How old are you anyway ?
You obviously haven't been in the workforce too long or more likely are still at school.

By the way - Capital letters at the start of a sentence.
Ask your English teacher why we use them. Not only am I sick of hearing you whinge about SEN, I'm also sick of trying to read pidgin English.

Do you and that family member of yours share the same intelligence levels ?
Makes it easier to understand why they lost money.