The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

rob harding rips schibecci a new one everytime they are on, the difference in quality between the 2 of them is massive

harding is on top of most things going on atm compared to schibecci who's knowledge is pathetic for a host on such a show

his show is only worth listening to in the first hour when harding/stone/feddish guys are on who actually know what they are talking about but after that the show is rubbish
It's annoying when Schibeci puts in a plug for the Feddish boys out of nowhere but the boys do know their sport - the Tony from Feddish speaks pretty well and has a decent all round knowledge even of sports like rugby (not that I care about it, but it's impressive for a part-time host - I guess he spends alot of time at his restaurant talking sports). Harding is a gun when he's on. It's laughable when Schibeci comes up with a counterpoint or tries to argue with him because he gets smashed everytime.

I heard Benny carbonaro on the radio a couple of nights ago - man does he know his netball. Good to hear from the great man. ;)

listening to BP and Rob right now filling in for Fineys final siren and they are doing a really great job.
Finey is good to, but they have filled in very well and they continue to show they know their football just as well as others at SEN.
Surely SEN have to replace Shibecci with BP or find somewhere else for BP , maybe we should start an on line petition or something.
Could you imagine Tony trying to fill in like these two are doing....I dont think so.
Rob Harding he is good to he seems to be like a first year player or rookie thats readymade for senior footy from the start .
I Hope SEN read this .

Hey Iceman, I've been arguing this for about a year or so...

I've sent emails to SEN, told Mark and Luke that they should have the job, been jotting down reasons why on this thread in the past year...

I've never gotten a response from SEN, and from what was told to me by someone who is involved, they dont take listener feedback that seriously unless its part of the actual talkback on the station. They think that hosts could just get their friends to email the station, or just some angry people. Its rediculous.
Keep in mind WSO has about 10% the amount of listeners as other shows, due to its hours, if its lucky, which means there isnt many people who listen to give feedback.

It took them years to crack down on the sexism and stupidity of MG, which is a great show now that the football is on and they can talk about it, before they just made 10 year old jokes about women and toilets between 6-7am.
And this was after the Run Home soapbox got filled with people bagging them for this.

Anyway thats my rant, i know for a fact that people who work there apart from the decision makers have very little respect for Tony, there was an indoor football match with the SEN crew as promotion a while back, and Tony's lack of sporting ability got laughed at (not relevent on its own) but combine that with his lack of sporting knowledge, and thats the issue.

I dont know why he keeps getting the jobs, i suspect he was one of the only volunteeres for the original midnight shift, and dont want to sack him since ratings mean nothing in that hour.

listening to BP and Rob right now filling in for Fineys final siren and they are doing a really great job.
Finey is good to, but they have filled in very well and they continue to show they know their football just as well as others at SEN.
Surely SEN have to replace Shibecci with BP or find somewhere else for BP , maybe we should start an on line petition or something.
Could you imagine Tony trying to fill in like these two are doing....I dont think so.
I haven't signed up for it but there's a World Sport Overnight forum - I heard about it on the show recently. www.worldsportovernight.com/forum is the address. Apparently BP, Tony, Rob Harding all post there every now and then so they must listen to the thoughts aired.

Is Finey back this week? He always listens to people's calls and attempts to create genuine discussion - other hosts just try and brush you off - "Good on ya mate" without a response. But Finey actually listens to people's opinions and is awesome. :thumbsu:

Johnny ,might do that cause BP musnt read this website as he came on Sunday night and said that with all his filling in that the listeners must be getting sick of hearing himI felt like ringing up and saying
NO BP its Tony we are sick of hearing.
Five minutes later Tony says " Federer is about to break the wimbledon record " BP says "Tony I think you might be wrong there Federer will equal the record ".
BP and Rob and the others are just better and smarter and know there sport better than Tony.

LOL last night, Tony was talking to the British guy at Talksport who was making a huge deal about Carragher calling up their radio station. Tony had no idea who Carragher was. Not one word. Just some rhetorical ' you have no idea who's listening do you'...

Anyway, people stop encouraging me to write about this on this thread, as i think my point has been made, but its so easy to go on about it.

lol i remember on the weekend when nadal was playing soderling and the match was already in the 5th set at 2 sets all but tony comes out with "and nadal is about to wrap this up" when they were showing a replay of the 3rd set because of the rain :o

rob corrected him asap but it just goes to show how far beind he is on whats going on atm

Geez Schibecci is coping it here, there was a time when he was the favourite on this thread. If anyone had a go at him they'd be shouted down. FWIW I don't hear much of WSO but I'm a big fan of the Gladiators. Tony does a good job when I've heard him and Gladiators is always a laugh.

tastes are one thing , getting things right is another.
Just been listening to Tony and his mates talking for ten minutes about how they dont like
CRAIG HUTCHINS :eek:, i started screaming at my radio saying get BP on now
HUTCHINS for F sake at least get his name right they sound like a bunch of litle kids
Did Tony get past year 7 when he was at school

Just been listening to Tony and his mates talking for ten minutes about how they dont like
HUTCHINS for F sake at least get his name right they sound like a bunch of litle kids

With all respect to Tony, he's all the same guy that does the PA work at the MCG, and a few years back he introduced the West Indies onto the field "led by captain Brian Lara"... which upset the WI as Lara had just been sacked as captain in acrimonious circumstances and Jimmy Adams was the new captain. I hear he had to make an official apology to the team.

I think it is a bit rough to have a go at Tony when it was one of the other guys who actually said it.

That said, am I the only one who finds it a little bizzare that the overnight programme on a low rating radio station has attracted so many posts?

Not sure why an overnight show gets so many posts either, but here I am adding to the list.

Last night's show was, at times embarrassing listening - in a horribly compelling way.

As previously noted, there was an extraordinary level of self-referential stuff, the same kind of broadcasting that irritates me about Ch 7's coverage, where hosts spend half the time talking about themselves.

Then Billy from Heidelberg rang in - he just doesn't do it for me, personally, but I can see why others regard him as loveable. His observation that "aboriginal players take five years to develop" was howled down by "Agitator" who basically told him he was racist to go away. The Tony turned his mike off and, if you believe what they were saying, had "stern words" with agitator, and he eventually apologised.

Staged? To some degree, probably, as it did keep me listening for one, in a "I can't believe this on my radio" sort of way.

Even now I'm getting frustrated typing about it! Three blokes, one of whom won't say who he is (but at least has opinions) sitting around talking about themselves, with a host (TS) who covers his hideous lack of knowledge by instinctively responding to every half-assed opinion put forward by a caller with, "Yep ... good call."

*sigh*

Three blokes, one of whom won't say who he is (but at least has opinions) sitting around talking about themselves, with a host (TS) who covers his hideous lack of knowledge by instinctively responding to every half-assed opinion put forward by a caller with, "Yep ... good call."

"Yep ... good call." has its equivalent on the afternoon show with Mark Doran's "OK..."

Yet another host who doesn't know a whole lot of sport apart from St Kilda and Roger Federer.

I should balance some of the negativity involved with bagging some of the hosts for their knowledge of sport by giving a big double thumbs up to Beva, KB and Francis. I would say those 3 have the best and broadest knowledge of sport at the station. They're comfortable and competent at interviewing someone from boxing, athletics, footy, cricket, rugby you name it.

very true.

francis and beva are experts in all things saints too :D

i reckon KB and Beva know the most about boxing.

I am up studying for alot of the night and i just think that even if it is 1am 4am or whatever that it still should be quality.
SEN is 24 hr sports and if it is middle of the night we still deserve to get people to listen to that know what thye are talking about, that can string a few sentences together , that can speak and read the english language without stumbling every five mins.
If you listen to radio like espn on line at 4am when they are on its still high quality guys.
Thats why we get so revved up about the overnights because we just want it to be as high a quality as the daytime
24 hr sports should equal 24 hr quality

Ok, to insert some positivity into this thread, i'll do my top 10.

1. Beva - Gun, knowledgable host, this guy is like Ben Cousins on Saturday night, all substance. His show isnt a high concept fancy show, and it doesnt need to be, its just good because whatever he's talking about with his guests he knows what he's saying.

2. Luke Mater/Mark Franklin - Fun hosts, who know their footy inside out. Have a great repriotre (however its spelt) with their callers - Brucey, Disgruntled etc.... They take talkback all the way through their show too, and dont have 2 hours of replays to fill in.

3. Dermott Brereton - Slightly off topic, but as much as he babbles sometimes and as much as he stuffed up my club during the Schwab era, he is the best special comments man in the biz. He and Huddo are great during pre-match.

4. Rob Harding - Bolter of the past few months, brilliant analysis from a fan of football. Very intelligent by the sounds of it, and like Beva is all substance.

5. Finey - Gone from crazy man, to the fan's man with Finey's final siren. I like that he has a go, and confronts people who have no idea. Also like it that he wears his heart on his sleeve regarding St.Kilda and that its great to listen to him after they loose.

6. KB - Gone down in my opinion because of the hands in the back rule taking over the show, but when its not about that, he's a great host. Love his first hour with journalists, and his style of hosting.

7. Francis Leech - Has come back in peak form, he and Ox are the odd couple, its always good when Francis makes a joke that goes over the Ox's head. Very clever presenter, with a great all round sports knowledge.

8. Anthony Hudson - Great caller, good chemistry with any other people, especially pre-match and the panel show at 4pm Friday.

9. Daniel Harford - When i listened to Mark Doran's show, Harf stood out to me.

10. Liam Pickering - This is going back a while, but he was great with Mark Allen on the weekend, and when filling in on the run home.

Ok, to insert some positivity into this thread, i'll do my top 10.

1. Beva - Gun, knowledgable host, this guy is like Ben Cousins on Saturday night, all substance. His show isnt a high concept fancy show, and it doesnt need to be, its just good because whatever he's talking about with his guests he knows what he's saying.

2. Luke Mater/Mark Franklin - Fun hosts, who know their footy inside out. Have a great repriotre (however its spelt) with their callers - Brucey, Disgruntled etc.... They take talkback all the way through their show too, and dont have 2 hours of replays to fill in.

3. Dermott Brereton - Slightly off topic, but as much as he babbles sometimes and as much as he stuffed up my club during the Schwab era, he is the best special comments man in the biz. He and Huddo are great during pre-match.

4. Rob Harding - Bolter of the past few months, brilliant analysis from a fan of football. Very intelligent by the sounds of it, and like Beva is all substance.

5. Finey - Gone from crazy man, to the fan's man with Finey's final siren. I like that he has a go, and confronts people who have no idea. Also like it that he wears his heart on his sleeve regarding St.Kilda and that its great to listen to him after they loose.

6. KB - Gone down in my opinion because of the hands in the back rule taking over the show, but when its not about that, he's a great host. Love his first hour with journalists, and his style of hosting.

7. Francis Leech - Has come back in peak form, he and Ox are the odd couple, its always good when Francis makes a joke that goes over the Ox's head. Very clever presenter, with a great all round sports knowledge.

8. Anthony Hudson - Great caller, good chemistry with any other people, especially pre-match and the panel show at 4pm Friday.

9. Daniel Harford - When i listened to Mark Doran's show, Harf stood out to me.

10. Liam Pickering - This is going back a while, but he was great with Mark Allen on the weekend, and when filling in on the run home.

Top list that and thanks for compiling. Haven't heard the overnight guys before though, but good to know there's some quality on there. It really makes a difference when your presenter has an awesome knowledge of sport and good chemistry with his on air team.

Bruce Eva is on hoilday for a couple of weeks and Mark Fine is taking over.

Love my SEN especially Bruce Eva and Mark Fine, they are simply too dam good.

Geez Schibecci is coping it here, there was a time when he was the favourite on this thread. If anyone had a go at him they'd be shouted down. FWIW I don't hear much of WSO but I'm a big fan of the Gladiators. Tony does a good job when I've heard him and Gladiators is always a laugh.

Yeah people are being rather tough on Tony.

I still believe that it is hard for anybody to do the midnight to dawn shift and after 2 or more years you certainly do become stale. It is amazingly hard for your bodyclock to handle that shift and i think that is what is bringing tony down.

I was listening to Brett Phillips last night and someone rang up complaining about the Aggitator and Brett said, "well he won't be on my show" Doesn't he like the Aggitator? Plus the others? I remember when he has been filling in for Tony in previous weeks he has not had them on....
They are by far the most entertaining Midnight to dawn 2 hour period fo the week. Second to Peaky and his men now....who has gone a little down hill but mainly as he isn't on with the guy that does the good bad and the ugly anymore who used to give him stick.

What has happened to the Laundry?
I heard they were doing it volunteer but it is a bit stupid it just going off the air already...

-Ben