The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

LOL come on - they got a few questions wrong in a quiz. Can't win em all.

On a radio station in Adelaide about 3 weeks in a row they had a quiz on a Saturday night and they totally had the wrong answer for the quiz and were giving out incorrect hints left right and centre. Every week the host blamed the producer in a laughing sarcastic manner.

-Ben

On a radio station in Adelaide about 3 weeks in a row they had a quiz on a Saturday night and they totally had the wrong answer for the quiz and were giving out incorrect hints left right and centre. Every week the host blamed the producer in a laughing sarcastic manner.

-Ben

i tend to disagree. a quiz requires correct answers. if the quizmaster has incorrect answers on his sheet then whats the point of having a quiz. if exams were like that i wouldve dominated ;)

Yeah you are right Russian. It was Finey that produced for Leachy. I remember when there was all that stuff about the footy players taking nodos and then finey decided to take like 10 in one afternoon to see how it would make him feel. hehe.

Does anybody know about Musashi? I asked it in the last page and haven't got an answer yet.

Don't bag Schubecki for his lack of knowledge. He can't be on top of everything. Plus he has kids and working that shift is tough. Not to mention he always is the voice of the MCG.
He is a good bloke. Give him a break.

-Ben

who gives a shit if the guy is a good bloke, lol at having kids being an excuse for having a total lack of knowledge and in your job how pathetic

mcg voice? wow he reads names given to him on a paper in that tryhard voice he thinks sounds good, its like he has a blocked nose all the time :o

BP is continuing to dominate WSO :thumbsu:

good chemistry with his co-hosts, keeps up to date with all the sports scores and actually knows whats going on unlike tony "dont read the scores out because people might want to talk about it and i dont have a clue" schibecci

lol okay you don't like Tony whatever i do. Who cares.

Anyway i am not exactly sure how true this is but it appears that from next week WSO will start from 11pm. No 4 Diegos.

Can't wait to hear the Soccer people complain!!!

-Ben

Just spoke to someone who does a little on-air work at SEN. Finey is getting the evening shift full time. Also threw a little interesting little on the Beva issue, in that Beva had already indicated to management that he was going to step down from the evening shift at the end of this year. He was a little guarded in saying anything about why the sacking happened so fast and mid-week, other than maybe management would find it harder to sack him before the ratings came out this week.

Anyway i am not exactly sure how true this is but it appears that from next week WSO will start from 11pm. No 4 Diegos.

-Ben

I like my soccer as much as anyone but 4 days a week was overkill - especially in the off season.

Don't bag Schubecki for his lack of knowledge. He can't be on top of everything. Plus he has kids and he is a good bloke. Give him a break.

-Ben[/quote]

Then let his kids do WSO they might know more about sport :)

-Ben

i dont think anyones got anything personal against TS, but just as a sports presenter on a sports radio station the expectation is he should know more. as for having a family and being a good bloke, i think we all know it doesnt wash up when protecting your job. and he probably is a top bloke!

I like my soccer as much as anyone but 4 days a week was overkill - especially in the off season.

agreed.

FFS
I have no probs with Schebecci, he is a nice, humble guy and at least doesn't have tickets on himself like Mark Dorkus or some of the other personalities (whom I won't name) on the station.
I would like to hear more of Harford though, he is such a postive upbeat and funny bloke, and I would much rather him do the noon shift then Dorkus.

I do think though that the 11 - 6 am shift is probably not enough for one man to do the whole hog, and I would like to hear more of Steven J Peak and Steven Milne and Troy Zantuck around those hours (assuming they can fit it in with their other committments)
Brett Phillps is okay, but I much prefer Schebecci in the graveyard shift.
Also get rid of chasing birdies, golf is utter rubbish and not deserving of an hour's air time.

FFS
I have no probs with Schebecci, he is a nice, humble guy and at least doesn't have tickets on himself like Mark Dorkus or some of the other personalities (whom I won't name) on the station.

dermott brereton. give him an hours show and hell talk about himself.

Brett Phillps is okay, but I much prefer Schebecci in the graveyard shift.
Also get rid of chasing birdies, golf is utter rubbish and not deserving of an hour's air time.

i love golf but talking about it is hard. i dont mind the show, not that i really listen to it.

its the same with other sports like soccer. heaps of people hate the game, but it like other sports have a place on the station.

FWIW i hate boxing and motorsports but meh, if theyre on ill turn it off.

Peakie Milney and zantuck probably would go on more but since they don't get paid and do it all volunteer it isn't simply worth it for them.

-Ben

Not sure about that move as the station made a name for itself off its a league soccer calls and with the afl dominance these guys were a good link with another sport.
I certainly think to even non soccer fans they are alot funnier than the worst show on sen the social club.
Now we lose an important niche sport show that was at least a bit different and replace it with another show that does what every single show before them on sen does ,thats talk about whats happened in the day of sport mainly footy .
I would say this is a cost cutting exercise , think about it you get rid of one show and all you do you is just make another show start earlier or go longer to replace it .

did anyone listen to wattos waste on morning glory this morning (friday)?
he was going on about people not washing their hands after going to the can. billy said that he never does and doesn't encourage his kids to either. what a filthy pig, it just goes to show that his persona is not just an act and that he is really a slob. he reckons that theres no need to wash your hands as what your touching doesn't have germs on it, unless you manage to piss on yourself and that people use toilet paper so no need there either.
i'm not a wowser but this is pretty disgusting. wonder if he'll get many people wanting to shake hands with him now.

lol Billy is an idiot.

I dunno if getting rid of the 4 diegos would be to cut costs. I'd imagine they might be doing it volunteer anyway....

Might be wrong...

-Ben

-Ben

If you like quizzes with incorrect answers, try listening to the dogs breakfast 25 question quiz that 3LO (ABC Melbourne) puts out every night just after midnight. WIthout fail, each night someone will get gonged off even though he/she has given a correct answer. A later contestant will often mention casually later that the answer was actually right. You'd think they could spare 10 minutes to do some research and not just rely on a 30 year old copy of Encyclopedia Brittanica or whatever it is they use. They have the Internet on computer now fellas .......

Are you talking about the Tony Delroy quiz?
I used to listen to that quite a bit. I reckon people reported a wrong answer every week maybe...at most...
Although often wrong answers were ignored...

I'm not sure how they do the quiz. I think maybe people send them out sets of questions and they probably don't check them properly.
Sometimes Tony is on top of it but he can't be on top of them all.

-Ben

Sheesh, that's a bit pedantic, Jabso. I had a lecturer at uni who once told that it was far less important to know something than it was to know where to go to find it out. One of the best bits of advice I've ever got.
Google has that covered these days. That's probably why the younger generation don't know how to spell. I hardly think that's a good thing.

tonight was most entertaining sen friday night call i have heard i believe...

Don't bag Schubecki for his lack of knowledge. He can't be on top of everything. Plus he has kids and he is a good bloke. Give him a break.

-Ben

Then let his kids do WSO they might know more about sport :)[/QUOTE]

Nearly drove off the road in laughter when i heard Tony Schubecci refer to the Akermanis ''fuhrer'':p. Hmmm Tony that might be known as furore..Heard him with Nathan thompson the other night. ''Nathan, Robert Murphy's had a very good season'':eek::eek:He tries hard but to be frank he is very ordinary.

I missed last nights 7.00 - 10.00 timeslot, am I correct in saying that Finey & the regular Thursday night format was missing?

What I did hear when i tuned in after 10.00 was nothing but first class crap. If ever RMIT conduct a radio hosting course, this hour will be the template about how bad crap radio can be. Tony S was host, some guy called Kenny was his alledged producer, they managed to get the answer to a golf question in the quiz (question 1 for memory, great start) wrong, & it went down hill from there.

They had complete tossers calling in, they had a question about touring car racing, they gave a hint that the answer had a first name of Ian, Schebbci suddenly cut to an add, come back & apologised that the hint was wrong, his name was Leigh! & on it went, he took his umbrage out on Kenny on air, totally unprofessional. Any self respecting suburban community station would be humiliated if they put in an hour like that, it was pathetic.

Tony, it appears you follow this thread, you've been magnaminous enough to acknowledge feedback in the past, please lift your game, I know you're passionate about SEN, but this is beyond a joke.

Threaders, try & contact Barry Quick about your concerns via SEN website if you feel strongly enough, SEN have made encouraging progress in recent times, it's in severe danger of being undone as a result of the crap that's going down at the moment.
Gotta agree wholeheartedly. I cringe when he reads scores out!It was even worse before 10pm.:thumbsd:

Yeah you are right Russian. It was Finey that produced for Leachy. I remember when there was all that stuff about the footy players taking nodos and then finey decided to take like 10 in one afternoon to see how it would make him feel. hehe.

Does anybody know about Musashi? I asked it in the last page and haven't got an answer yet.

Don't bag Schubecki for his lack of knowledge. He can't be on top of everything. Plus he has kids and working that shift is tough. Not to mention he always is the voice of the MCG.
He is a good bloke. Give him a break.

-Ben
Yeah but his not on top of anything! More Stephen J peake thanks. Instead of being the voice of the G why doesn't Tony do what most sports presenters engage in> RESEARCH

did anyone listen to wattos waste on morning glory this morning (friday)?
he was going on about people not washing their hands after going to the can. billy said that he never does and doesn't encourage his kids to either. what a filthy pig, it just goes to show that his persona is not just an act and that he is really a slob. he reckons that theres no need to wash your hands as what your touching doesn't have germs on it, unless you manage to piss on yourself and that people use toilet paper so no need there either.
i'm not a wowser but this is pretty disgusting. wonder if he'll get many people wanting to shake hands with him now.

I actually called the producers after the show and left a message. It's the wrong time of the day to be talking this kind of crap and it was the 2nd time for the week they have over stepped the boundary.

Did anyone listen to Mark Doran and his ramblings about how his show is all about the listener..... well Mark the Clock is ticking and you cannot stop it. It's time to go, very soon.

Then let his kids do WSO they might know more about sport :)

Nearly drove off the road in laughter when i heard Tony Schubecci refer to the Akermanis ''fuhrer'':p. Hmmm Tony that might be known as furore..Heard him with Nathan thompson the other night. ''Nathan, Robert Murphy's had a very good season'':eek::eek:He tries hard but to be frank he is very ordinary.[/QUOTE]
He'd wanna be careful mixing his words up like that - he may be mistaken for a Nazi! ;)