The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

did you sent in a sms text message last night askign Finey what he looked like and if he was fat becuase he sounded Fat? Finey then asked a few callers if they were skinny becuase they sound skinny, or if they drink beer because they sounf like they are a beer drinker, etc etc

My North you are kidding as if I would text that WTF!!!! What does sounding skinny sound like. I love Finey -he has strong opinions but he is not arrogant and he gives everyone a go - even the little kids that ring in

Well Contra Mundum, someone did text in that as Finey read it out. It was on Sunday night.

I agree. I was shocking last night :)

Bit much and crossing the line impersonating people I think , Tony might not know much about sport but he wouldnt be that stupid to start posting and agreeing with threads saying he is not up to it and we want him replaced .

I disagree.

Most at SEN read the site, this thread specifically.

I think you'll find it is Tony.

I disagree.

Most at SEN read the site, this thread specifically.

I think you'll find it is Tony.

That's funny. About 90% of the comments on here are negative. Hope they have thick skins.

Schibecs goes on air, at 12 yeah? Quick squiz at bigfooty while getting ready at 11:26pm? Had to subscribe first too.

LOL last night, Tony was talking to the British guy at Talksport who was making a huge deal about Carragher calling up their radio station. Tony had no idea who Carragher was. Not one word. Just some rhetorical ' you have no idea who's listening do you'...

Anyway, people stop encouraging me to write about this on this thread, as i think my point has been made, but its so easy to go on about it.

As I've said before "you have no idea whose listening do you";)

Tony, why do you repeat yourself every minute, and draw out the words to fill time? How about during those 3 seconds doing some research so you can converse with the talksport people, instead of repeating rhetoric. Its annoying.

it certainly is. it. certainly. is.

Tony, why do you repeat yourself every minute, and draw out the words to fill time? How about during those 3 seconds doing some research so you can converse with the talksport people, instead of repeating rhetoric. Its annoying.

haha spot on

I have always taken the approach that people would rather hear the experts talk about topics and not myself. If people wanted to always hear me talk, then I would'nt have the experts on and I would just do the reports etc... myself. I for one don't need to hear my voice 6 hours a day. My reason and priority for doing the show has always been to inform the public, not to fill my own ego. I do research topics but due to the limited time we have with these guys, I just let them go and throw in something if I feel I need to.

I had not noticed the repeating of words though. I will be more aware of that in the future. :thumbsu:

I have always taken the approach that people would rather hear the experts talk about topics and not myself. If people wanted to always hear me talk, then I would'nt have the experts on and I would just do the reports etc... myself. I for one don't need to hear my voice 6 hours a day. My reason and priority for doing the show has always been to inform the public, not to fill my own ego. I do research topics but due to the limited time we have with these guys, I just let them go and throw in something if I feel I need to.

I had not noticed the repeating of words though. I will be more aware of that in the future. :thumbsu:

Hey if thats really you Tony, good on you for posting here and answering the criticism, most of which is very unfair.

I agree that I prefer the host to faciliate rather than lecture us on how much they know about sport, its better you guys asking the questions, even if you already know the answer so the experts in each individual sport can do their thing.:thumbsu:

Gladiators of Sport is a top show, keep up the good work.:thumbsu:

Good on Tony to reply to all the criticism we've made, i think we achieved our goal finally to get a response!

This will be my final point about this all:

Tony you say you are not going to give an opinion on things as you are not an expert. So why dont SEN get Rob Harding/Luke/Mark/BP to do so? They are no 'experts' but have wonderful knowledge of all sports that make great discussion and talkback. I wish SEN management would reply to all this, as hosts arent going to just quit.

Anyway, thats all i have to say about the WSO shift, leave it for others to decide. I mainly listen on weekends now anyway.

Good on Tony to reply to all the criticism we've made, i think we achieved our goal finally to get a response!

Tony you say you are not going to give an opinion on things as you are not an expert. So why dont SEN get Rob Harding/Luke/Mark/BP to do so? They are no 'experts' but have wonderful knowledge of all sports that make great discussion and talkback. I wish SEN management would reply to all this, as hosts arent going to just quit.

Anyway, thats all i have to say about the WSO shift, leave it for others to decide. I mainly listen on weekends now anyway.

Mulholland Drive. Please don't turn my responses around to benifit your argument. My comment was that I am not an expert but I never once questioned my knowledge of sport.

If I have an opinion I'll give it, but why would you rather here me tell a story when someone else can?

Mulholland Drive. Please don't turn my responses around to benifit your argument. My comment was that I am not an expert but I never once questioned my knowledge of sport.

If I have an opinion I'll give it, but why would you rather hear me tell a story when someone else can?

You have had a fair bit to say about me over the time and I have appreciated your thoughts.

If I have an opinion I'll give it, but why would you rather hear me tell a story when someone else can?

You have had a fair bit to say about me over the time and I have appreciated your thoughts.

Might be 'World Sport Overnight' in Oz, but it's 'World Sport Afternoon' here in Europe, mate. Makes for great background listening on the stream, and good on you for jumping in here and offering some rational and logical justification for your work.

I don't demand expertise in the intricacies of all fields of sport from radio presenters. I see them more as facilitators of discussion and mediators of debate. Of course, they are also welcome to throw in some of their own personal knowledge, anecdotes and analysis, so long as it's reasonably objective.

Keep up the good work.

Might be 'World Sport Overnight' in Oz, but it's 'World Sport Afternoon' here in Europe, mate. Makes for great background listening on the stream, and good on you for jumping in here and offering some rational and logical justification for your work.

I don't demand expertise in the intricacies of all fields of sport from radio presenters. I see them more as facilitators of discussion and mediators of debate. Of course, they are also welcome to throw in some of their own personal knowledge, anecdotes and analysis, so long as it's reasonably objective.

Keep up the good work.

Thanks Ghost, you carry the name of one of the greats of our club. Ohhh the good old days....

Unless listening to a specilised program I also like to hear the host as the facilitator especially with a general talkback program. And that is how I have tried to offer my program, as one that I would also like to listen to if I was out there. Happy we can keep you informed in another part of the world.:D

Super impressed about you coming on here to answer some critics in a very measured way Tony. It looks like you on-air folk at SEN are a bit like footy coaches in that the bad things are all your fault, but don't get any praise for the positives.

I'm usually asleep during WSO, but always enjoy it when you fill in for KB.

If that is you Tony, massive respect for coming on and answering your critics.

WSO listeners keep this thread updated as to whether he mentions it.

Personally I reckon it probably is. Someone fake probably wouldn't critique their interviewing style like that.

Unless that's the genius of it...

IF IT is you tony please mention this thread on your show tonight
C'mon Peter!

Nobody would pretend to be a Richmond supporter. :p

Tony is a great man. :thumbsu:

I used to love listening to his show. Quality stuff.

Then they stopped broadcasting into Adelaide. :thumbsd: