The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

How good is 1116 SEN, took the press confrence live of Luke Darcy announcing his retirement, did the same with the press confrence of announcing Rama comeback game.

Love or hate SEN, you've got to say that that was always a hole in broadcasting, in that any big live news events didn't really have a proper home. Beats interupting Ernie Sigley for the news and then back to the siesta shift.

Yet Melbourne Victory have a Press Conference this afternoon regarding the future of one of their star players and not a mention of SEN.

Oh, but I forgot...the ball isn't oval shaped so it doesn't matter. Yes it's good they cover Press Conferences live, but for Melbourne Victory fans this is a very important Press Conference (to find out whether we have actually received an offer from an EPL side for Adrian Leijer) and not a word.

Would it have hurt to cover it live, instead they had their silly afternoon quiz!

SEN do give the round ball game fair coverage. You have to remember that probably 95%+ of their listeners are AFL fans and maybe 10-20% are soccer fans (just have to listen to their quizzes when they ask soccer questions). I'm interested in hearing about Adrian Leijer also, but they can't do everything live, and I am sure they will cover it soon. They probably have been following Sheedy around all day.

Condolences to Mark Doran and his family on the loss of his father. Schibeci just announced it at the start of his show. You don't wish that on anybody.

I saw death notices in this mornings Geelong Addy and gathered it might've been Mark's father,which would explain why he's been missing.

Yet Melbourne Victory have a Press Conference this afternoon regarding the future of one of their star players and not a mention of SEN.

Oh, but I forgot...the ball isn't oval shaped so it doesn't matter. Yes it's good they cover Press Conferences live, but for Melbourne Victory fans this is a very important Press Conference (to find out whether we have actually received an offer from an EPL side for Adrian Leijer) and not a word.

Would it have hurt to cover it live, instead they had their silly afternoon quiz!

To say that SEN doesnt given soccer/football due time on air is absoloutely laughable, its in the middle of AFL season, I wouldnt get too worried.

now, now dont go and bag the quiz, plenty of people ring trying to get on, some people even get to win the prize that been given away.

no beva again tonight...... finey hasnt said he is sick... or has he? i havent heard him say it.... anyone know where beva is... obviously isnt on holidays cause he was just on holidays foir 2 weeks wasnt he??

what is going on!?

no beva again tonight...... finey hasnt said he is sick... or has he? i havent heard him say it.... anyone know where beva is... obviously isnt on holidays cause he was just on holidays foir 2 weeks wasnt he??

what is going on!?

Do you think Beva's got the arse?

Maybe Finey just forgot to mention why he is away.

To say that SEN doesnt given soccer/football due time on air is absoloutely laughable, its in the middle of AFL season, I wouldnt get too worried.

Agree:thumbsu::thumbsu:, SEN should never be accused of not giving soccer fair coverage. They talk about it regularly, they broadcast the victory games, they can't be covering every press conference when the interest is not there. I love my soccer and the victory but even I'd prefer a quick explanation rather than hearing the whole press conference.

Missed the first 20 minutes last night, also noticed that Weightman wasn't on, not that he's a loss, just that he & beva are thick as thieves. Perhaps if beva got the flick (speculating here) Weightman may have gone in sympathy, or vice versa.

What I did notice is that Finey didn't announce either of their tips in absentia, which in the past is common practice. Also, am I correct in assuming he wasn't in on Wednesday for no apparent reason?

Watch this space.

Missed the first 20 minutes last night, also noticed that Weightman wasn't on, not that he's a loss, just that he & beva are thick as thieves. Perhaps if beva got the flick (speculating here) Weightman may have gone in sympathy, or vice versa.

What I did notice is that Finey didn't announce either of their tips in absentia, which in the past is common practice. Also, am I correct in assuming he wasn't in on Wednesday for no apparent reason?

Watch this space.

Beva is one of the best talents at SEN, I'd doubt that they would have given him the chop. Dreaded lurgy I suspect.

Agree big fella, best by a mile, just listening to Tony S filling in for KB, lamentable, it's the silence surrounding the beva's abscence that concerns me.

Victory will be the main focus of the summer on par, maybe even ahead of, cricket. But for the moment, footy dominates.
For the moment it dominates?

Mate footy will dominate year round. Don't get me wrong, I'm not an AFL-hater. I absolutely love the sport, haven't missed a GFC game in Victoria since 2001 and only missed 3 games overall in the last 3 years, but they over do it.

I know the majority of their listeners are AFL fans but listening to them, they try to invent an AFL story to talk about rather than talk about a proper story from another sport.

Take the Morning Glory yesterday for example. At one stage their topic of conversation was "What would Essendon/Collingwood fans think if Buckley was to coach Essendon next year?".

Now Buckley hasn't even retired yet, hasn't indicated he wants to coach next year yet they are having a discussion about it. What about talking about one of the other sports stories going around that morning?

For me, it's AFL overkill, especially in the Off-Season when there literally is nothing to talk about yet they still talk about it.

More than half the on-air staff have had days off sick in the last 2 weeks, why do we assume that Beva has left? Find it hard to believe.

Get your head out of the sand MBP, I suspect >1/2 the staff have actually been off "sick", as distinct from sick, if you get the subtle difference. KB not in today, he & beave have worked together on & off since the early 90's. This kind of thing went on a couple of years ago when they nearly went to the wall.

As I said in an earlier post, I smelt a rat, maybe 2, last night when Finey didn't even acknowledge Beva & Weightmans tips.

SEN management would need a really good reason to offload their most versatile talent, who is also in touch with the man on the street more than most.

just listened to harf hosting the good oil and he has been terrible, taking himself way too seriously

he is way better when he has richo or doran hosting and he can just crack jokes over the top but he gets a bit lost on his own

BP has dominated WSO this week, great host :thumbsu:

schibecci getting top gigs during the day :o

Schibeci said yesterday that KB wouldn't be in today and they implied that he was off to have some minor surgery. Watson was back today after being off crook. Doran will be back on Monday. No idea on Beva.

Your wrong as Finey has mentioned a few times Bevas not been well saying that

Beva has been away with a sore back ....from the dirty great big knife that was stuck into it a few days ago

just listened to harf hosting the good oil and he has been terrible, taking himself way too seriously

he is way better when he has richo or doran hosting and he can just crack jokes over the top but he gets a bit lost on his own

Harf may be a better 2nd banana, but he's still better than Doran.

I mentioned this a while ago on the main board but with Fairfax taking over AW, does that mean guys like Healy, Sheahan (News Ltd affiliated) etc will have their loyalty tested - ie stop writing for the HUN if you want to work at AW.

If so, then I would imagine there would be a few good quality radio presenters looking for jobs in the upcoming months.

Maybe they are clearing the decks with this Beva thing.

There's a bloke called Craig Hutchinson who I'm sure wouldn't mind a gig at SEN. ;)