The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

I can't stand Morning Glory. I listen to it, but they annoy the hell out of me.

Much prefer Ian Cohen and Jason Richardson.

Did anyone else hear the guy getting stuck into Brett Phillips just before 1am last night? Went something like:

"I've listened to SEN a lot and I've heard ex-AFL champions like KB and Billy and then there is you! Where do you come from, what do you know? I've never heard you speak so much crap than you have in the last 20 minutes about Collingwood"

He then went on to explain how great Collingwood are and how great Rocca is. Loved it when BP put the Collingwood fan back in his place when he was trying to explain that 11 Collingwood players would get a game with Geelong. The guy had no way to back up his comments and was made to look like a ********!

Nice work BP!
Yes, I heard it.......the bloke was stunned when BP said Buckley wouldn't get a game .. at the moment, on current form.....these pies fans never cease to amaze me with their belief in how "great" they are!! BP is very good..:thumbsu:

That's like me and Doran's show. Can't stand him, but always listen.

I guess as long as its the only 24/7 sports talk station in town, I'll be listening.

i guess sen could use that as a reason why not to sack billy and doran, that ppl are listening. in reality the ratings arent great and they should be scrutinised. i actually think billy has improved a lot. he is starting to get involved more in soccer, nrl interviews. he supports the storm and victory, and i dont think he's merely doing it for the parochial thing. tim watson is another story.

FWIW im the same (morning, and doran when im in the car)

Did anyone else hear the guy getting stuck into Brett Phillips just before 1am last night? Went something like:

"I've listened to SEN a lot and I've heard ex-AFL champions like KB and Billy and then there is you! Where do you come from, what do you know? I've never heard you speak so much crap than you have in the last 20 minutes about Collingwood"

He then went on to explain how great Collingwood are and how great Rocca is. Loved it when BP put the Collingwood fan back in his place when he was trying to explain that 11 Collingwood players would get a game with Geelong. The guy had no way to back up his comments and was made to look like a ********!

Nice work BP!
That Pies fan was an absolute tool - I don't remember hearing that bit about his personal attack on BP though. He mentioned how 11 players from the Collingwood side would get a go in the Geelong team - ridiculous. "You're telling me Thomas wouldn't get a go in Geelong?" to which BP replied "Who would you take out?" and it's a good point, why would you get rid of Wojcinski, Ablett, Bartel etc for Thomas?

Also heard some bloke on the SMS say "Thank God Brisbane don't wear the Fitzroy jumper because they'd struggle to win" - BP said they wore the jumper 4 weeks ago against the Eagles and won and cut off to the break calling him a moron :)

Thanks heaps for that info.

I'm pretty staggered by all this. I'd definitely have Doran out before Beva. They better bloody well replace him with someone pretty good to justify it.

I'm sure its just not the nerds on the internet who love Beva too. Though I think there is a fair bit of disdain for Morning Glory and Billy on here which surprises me. I love the show and Billy.

Ratings are one thing, but I think the fact they have a heap of sponsors and advertisers (too many ads!)on board this year would be keeping the station fairly happy.

mate i'm with you on doran, you almost fall asleep at the wheel when he's on. r.e. morning glory, i'm just about over billy and the way he injects sexual innuendo into EVERY single interview and talkback. this is now really old and just not funny anymore. andy maher pisses people off with his excitement at the smallest thing but you cant accuse him of not being enthusiastic or passionate. watson really only contributes when he wants to and is turning into a caricature of himself, much like dennis commetti.
MEMO to all at SEN (esp Barry Quick), don't kill the goose, keep the guys that actually articulate their knowledge to the audience well and stop turning it into a boys club. thats why MMM suffered a couple of years ago. and don't even think about signing up Hutchy, he's a leech.
if you dont have the smarts to listen to your listeners and take action, your 2.5 to 3 ratings will look phenominal in 12 months time when you'll be scoring 1's.

That Pies fan was an absolute tool - I don't remember hearing that bit about his personal attack on BP though.
It was a different caller, was about 5 minutes after they got rid of this guy!

Loved it when he said Clement wouldn't get a game either. The guys response was a classic:

Caller: *gasp* *gasp* So you're telling me Clement wouldn't get a game with Geelong?
BP: Not at the moment on form, who would you take out?
Caller: *gasp* So you're telling me you wouldn't take Clement?
BP: No, not ahead of Egan, Harley, Scarlett, Mackie.
Caller: *gasp* anyway, we'll come back to that later!

He had absolutely no comeback or even a reason why Clement would get a game. Just that he thought he was a good player.

They really do get some morons that call up. The next 2 callers after this caller got stuck into BP for slagging Collingwood and saying they aren't any good.

BP's response was that he said they are a competitive team, but aren't a real contender for the Premiership this season.

God some Maggies fans are deluded idiots! (Nothing we didn't already know though!)

Changing the subject, does anyone else's ears bleed having to listen to that woeful comedy called "the bladder" on Saturday mornings ???
That stuff makes Billy Brownless sound like Rodney Dangerfield !

Changing the subject, does anyone else's ears bleed having to listen to that woeful comedy called "the bladder" on Saturday mornings ???
That stuff makes Billy Brownless sound like Rodney Dangerfield !

The Social Club isn't a bad show, but that Bladder segment is the least funniest segment ever... I only laughed at it once where they did a fake Bob Woolmer thing where the victim had been shot, stabbed and decapitated and the Jamaican Policeman declared "no suspicious circumstances".

Its even less funny than Matt Hardy used to be and that is saying something.

Not gonna happen on radio, champ.
Not 100 percent right you mean
Not going to happen on radio stations that have gooses running them!

The day that Hutchy and Ralph were sacked from 3AW ,Dwayne Russell and Healy spoke about it on their show and they also took calls on the sackings, some callers agreeing others not but at least the station let people say what they thought and didnt try to cover the whole thing up like Sen have.

This is a bloke that was one of the first at the station not some fly by night and to have him go missing and have listeners trying to guess is a blight on the whole place.

I wouldnt be surprised if Finey has been gagged because he strikes me as the sort of bloke that would want to clear the air and move on not leave it with an ongoing stench .

Correct weight my friend. A caller was just on Finey's show on this topic. The conversation went a little like this.

Caller: I hear Beva's no longer at the station. Why is that?

Finey: Well, um, Beva's a mate of mine. I guess that's something you would have to take up with station management.

Caller: But do you have a comment, for people who have enjoyed Beva's show in the past few years?

Finey: Um, no. But I'm happy to talk footy with you.

Caller: Well, actually no.

It's funny how the less you say the more questions it raises.

pies fans shit me no end

johnny from mill park etc has massive tickets on himself and is a massive tosser

its a shame the hosts try to be matey and agree with the callers to try and get more ratings, would love a spoonman type show where the host just gives it to the morons

finey tries but he isnt up to it

God some Maggies fans are deluded idiots! (Nothing we didn't already know though!)

You Geelong scum. You have a few wins on the board and then become so damn arrogant. Still, I suppose following a bunch of handbag wearing footballers around for years does that to you. :thumbsd:

pies fans shit me no end

johnny from mill park etc has massive tickets on himself and is a massive tosser

its a shame the hosts try to be matey and agree with the callers to try and get more ratings, would love a spoonman type show where the host just gives it to the morons

finey tries but he isnt up to it

You would have to be a Richmond supporter:rolleyes:

Well to everyone, we hit the 100th page on this thread. However the last few pages have been sad sad news for SEN 1116 with the sacking of Bruce Eva!

BRING BACK BEVA!!!!

Well to everyone, we hit the 100th page on this thread. However the last few pages have been sad sad news for SEN 1116 with the sacking of Bruce Eva!

BRING BACK BEVA!!!!

I second that. Can't imagine in a million years that his replacement would be better. And the station's general sports knowledge has plummeted.

Question -
Who is an more annoying tool - Maz from Hampton Park or Jim the angry scotsman from Hawthorn ?

I'd have to say Maz, he is such an one eyed and arrogant twit, and at least Jim provides some laughs here and then, esp when someone sledges him on air, cause he always has to ring back and have the last word .. .
I worry about his mental state sometimes though.

Question -
Who is an more annoying tool - Maz from Hampton Park or Jim the angry scotsman from Hawthorn ?

I'd have to say Maz, he is such an one eyed and arrogant twit, and at least Jim provides some laughs here and then, esp when someone sledges him on air, cause he always has to ring back and have the last word .. .
I worry about his mental state sometimes though.

Jim from Hawthorn.
He just doesn't appear on SEN either - he's a regular on AW as well.

Has got no idea at all.

Jim from Hawthorn.
He just doesn't appear on SEN either - he's a regular on AW as well.

Has got no idea at all.

I wish ground keeper Willy would keep it to himself sometimes "Ahhm really prood of the boys"