The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

The caller said that he was in an article somewhere talking himself up, would love to get hold of that article...:D

Here's the article - and no, it wasn't me who called up. Originally posted it on BigFooty a couple of years back when Leach moved to Vega. Maybe it was rippedoff who called, or a disgruntled mate of Bruce Eva? Funny listening though - Francis didn't handle the call all that well, for someone who thinks he is 'one of the best broadcasters in Australia'.

Leach: top of my game
by Glenn Mitchell
13 July 2005
Herald-Sun

Francis Leach is confident he can pull in the ratings for the new 91.5.

FRANCIS Leach really rates himself as a broadcaster.

Certainly, the management of DMG Radio's new Melbourne FM station seems to agree, and has made him its first on-air signing.

Now all Leach has to do is deliver the ratings for 91.5 in its showdown with Gold 104 -- and that is going to be one hard slog.

He will not go to air until the station comes on line in late September, but he started with 91.5 this week.

What he lacks in air time, he more than makes up for with confidence in his own ability.

In his first interview since becoming the first of 91.5's announcers, he told radio active: "I am one of the best broadcasters in Australia.

"I listen to other broadcasters and I'm better than them. I'm just about one of the best going around.

"I have no compunction about saying I'm damn good at what I do."
Initially, radio active thought he was joking.

It seemed an odd opening for Leach to proclaim his prowess so publicly and so absolutely.

But on checking with Leach it turns out he was dead serious. However, he insists he is not "big-noting" himself.

"I just believe I'm good at what I do and I don't have any trouble saying that," he says.

Maybe it was his excitement and exuberance at landing his "dream job" that led to such a public proclamation of his talent.

We all know a healthy dose of ego can go a long way in the media, not just radio, but it can also set you up for ridicule and a rather ignominious fall from grace.

Nonetheless, Leach is a very confident man indeed.

"I think DMG and myself are the perfect fit.

"They seem to be looking at a fair bit of flexibility in their format and I reckon I can deliver on all of those fronts," he says.

"They were very keen to get me across and I was very keen to work there given what I understand their format to be.

"I'm also a great admirer of executive producer Paul Clarke because I knew of his work when we were both at the ABC but we never got a chance to work with each other."

Leach has built up an impressive resume in his radio career.

His show on Triple J was regarded as one of the best shows around, and then he was a star recruit for SEN1116. That show was also highly regarded.

Of his days at SEN, Leach says: "In many ways I didn't want to leave.

"It's quite sad actually, but when you are offered your dream job, it was just an opportunity too good to pass up.

"In the end, it was a no-brainer."

Leach has an ability to handle current affairs, music, sport and talkback and, with that being the likely format of 91.5, he's within his rights to say the station is a perfect fit for his talents.

In a veiled swipe at Gold 104, Leach says 91.5 will not sound like a "jukebox on air".

"There is lots of great music that doesn't get air time and I think that's what we are going to bring to Melbourne radio," he says.

"I mean, when Paul Kelly brings out a new single, he doesn't get airplay, nor does Bruce Springsteen for that matter, and I think there is a huge gap in the market for that music."

Leach is also delighted about 91.5's target demographic of 40 to 60-year-olds. Word around the traps is that 35 to 40-year-olds will also be in the target group.

"These people have not drawn up the intellectual drawbridge," he says.

"They are still open to new ideas and new music. They don't live inside a little moat.

"In many ways it's like returning to what I did at Triple J.

"I feel like I'm resuming that conversation with an audience that has fresh ears and likes new music."

Here's the article - and no, it wasn't me who called up. Originally posted it on BigFooty a couple of years back when Leach moved to Vega. Maybe it was rippedoff who called, or a disgruntled mate of Bruce Eva? Funny listening though - Francis didn't handle the call all that well, for someone who thinks he is 'one of the best broadcasters in Australia'.

that is gold!!! :thumbsu: must be sent to SEN! :D

as for the ummming and ahhhing from finey, could be a trait filtering through SEN - see the ox.

cant be easy being in radio but tbh

They have the Thursday Terrors on SEN at the moment with the Agigitator. Good value radio. The Agigitator has a big go at the AFL he is one of the only ones that has the guts to do so.

Rather than just believing all their bull shit about well the crowds are up etc etc.

-Ben

Also listened to WSO with the agitator. I thought it was a great 2 hours, including Schibecci, first time ive listened to WSO in weeks and am glad that there's plenty of opinions rather than replays and rhetorical stuff.

Absolute classic, cant believe he would actully say that crap!

Hahaha, I'm sure Francis knew that would come back to bite him (even at the time he would've looked stupid). Even though I think he is a good broadcaster, you just don't say that stuff.

Schibeci was good last night, he works well as the anchor with contrasting personalities - Agitator is more hard hitting. It would have been even better if they got rid of that hack that was in there last night and brought in Tony from Feddish instead (who was sick).

Yeah that's what i've been saying all along. Tony works really well as the anchor with different personalities in there such as the thursday terrors and gladiators of sport.

The other guy that was in there wasn't too bad but i agree Tony from Feddish is better.

I love it how the Aggigitator bags the crap out of people every week. Such as Andrew Demitreo, Adrian Anderson, Anthony Rocca etc etc.

Couldn't believe he thought that Brisbane will make the grand final though....

He said it would be a Sydney Brisbane Grand Final.
Or Brisbane will at least get to the Pre-lims....

But they have to make the finals first!

-Ben

BTW Has anyone seen the pic of Derm with the other SEN Crew in last week's footy record with that horrid white shirt ???

He looked pretty gay (in both definitions of the word) and like butter wouldn't melt in his mouth.
Pretty good for a laugh though.

Oh btw Peaky is going to go off his nut tonight if St.kilda loses their appeal over the Baker suspension.

Peaky is a funny guy, bue he is so damn biased and one eyed towards St.Kilda, and he'll sprout some crap about legal technicalities and 'factual evidence' and use some big words to try and justify what Baker did to Farmer etc ... should be good listening :)

Oh btw Peaky is going to go off his nut tonight if St.kilda loses their appeal over the Baker suspension.

Peaky is a funny guy, bue he is so damn biased and one eyed towards St.Kilda, and he'll sprout some crap about legal technicalities and 'factual evidence' and use some big words to try and justify what Baker did to Farmer etc ... should be good listening :)

hahahaha. i think program hosts let their bias get in the way too much. its hard to strike a balance i guess.

Where is rippedoff, a great fan of SEN 1116 :p

Did anyone hear the guy ring in the Soapbox tonight and have a go at Frank about how he has come back to SEN with his tail between his legs after leaving and thinking he was all that?? Even called him SImon Townsend! :D:D Top stuff, Francis had to actually stop defending Baker for a 2nd to reply, but all he could say was to stop living in the 80's...:D

Did you hear the caller talking about Jim O'Dea and comparing him to Steven Baker ?

She went by the name "Teresa".Hmm ... I wonder if that was someone who posts [mostly whinges] in this thread.

First things first..

Has anyone heard him say these things?

Or do we all believe everythingwe read in the small paper? That's ironic, most people spend their time on this forum sh*t canning The Papers for their lies, mis-reporting and crap.

But when it comes to beleiving the worst in someone - oh, it's the gospel truth.

What hypocrisy.

Besides, it's 2 years ago and if you've been hanging on to that for this long you officially need to get a life.

First things first..

Has anyone heard him say these things?

Or do we all believe everythingwe read in the small paper? That's ironic, most people spend their time on this forum sh*t canning The Papers for their lies, mis-reporting and crap.

But when it comes to beleiving the worst in someone - oh, it's the gospel truth.

What hypocrisy.

Besides, it's 2 years ago and if you've been hanging on to that for this long you officially need to get a life.

I really couldn't care about Francis' quotes, but if they have "quotation marks" around them in the HS, then you can only assume that they are correct. They could have been taken out of context, but they wouldn't just make themup.

You are kidding yourself!

The number of misquotes and appalling mis-representations that paper is responsible for could fill a phone book.

And context is everything.

Besides, the bloke should be judged for how is on the radio - and what comes out of his own mouth rather than some second hand report in a newspaper 2 years ago.

I disagree with what he says all the time - but I like to think it's OK not agree with Leach or any others without sh*tting on them from a great height.

And for god sake - what sort of self righteous twats sit around in judgment of others - people they've never met, had any personal contact with at all?

I'm only new to the forum, but I can't believe the cynical character assassination passed off by posters here.

It's quite depressing that people are so ready to pass judgment so easily.

They must lead such blameless, over achieving lives.

Like I said, I couldn't give a stuff about what he said. I like listening to him on the radio and that's all I care about.

And like I said, they may have been taken out of context, but you can't tell me that Glenn Mitchell just decided to report on Francis leaving SEN and to make it more juicy an article, made some quotes up.

The number of misquotes and appalling mis-representations that paper is responsible for could fill a phone book.

Besides, the bloke should be judged for how is on the radio - and what comes out of his own mouth rather than some second hand report in a newspaper 2 years ago.

I disagree with what he says all the time - but I like to think it's OK not agree with Leach or any others without sh*tting on them from a great height.

And for god sake - what sort of self righteous twats sit around in judgment of others - people they've never met, had any personal contact with at all?

I'm only new to the forum, but I can't believe the cynical character assassination passed off by posters here.

Settle Francis, settle. We are allowed to give our opinions on people on here, thats what forums are for. Especially people who put themselves out there for us to base our opinions on. The article appeared in the HS with quotation marks on it, and since i havent seen/heard of any legal action being taken for misquoting/slander/etc., i would assume the general gist is true.

If u say such things in an article that is to appear in a big newspaper, u would have to expect people to form opinion based on that article and your quotes in that article.

If us "self righteous twats" shouldnt pass judgement on people we havent met, there would be no discussions of any sort on this forum, which u also have signed up for...

Hi Francis,

look mate we have nothing personal against you. I too heard that guy go to town on you with those statements. Yes I agree we cant always believe whats in the herald sun, but you can see that the public would assume what was quoted is true.

to be honest the only beef i have with you is being a biased st kilda supporter on air. no ones perfect, and i admit it would be hard to keep your feelings in check.

anyway, look forward to hearing you tonight on SEN from 4-6 - i switch to 3AW sports tonight after 6.

Yours,

ThePower

We can agree to disagree about the accuracy of reported quotes. If you think journalists quote verbatim you're naive.

All of this is beside the point though.

Why is this thread so focussed on sh*ting on people?

Playing the man and not the ball.

Not talking about ideas, issues, the radio - just being sad, cynical and, it must be said, sitting around thinking these things because they're convinced y'all could do a better job.

And it all comes from a place where they feel they're entitled to be sad, snippy b*tches?

It's like a classroon full of year 9 girls!

I thought this was going to be a forum where sport/radio were going to discussed.

It's sadly a long way from that.

We can agree to disagree about the accuracy of reported quotes. If you think journalists quote verbatim you're naive.

Not talking about ideas, issues, the radio - just being sad, cynical and, it must be said, sitting around thinking these things because they're convinced y'all could do a better job.

And it all comes from a place where they feel they're entitled to be sad, snippy b*tches?

I thought this was going to be a forum where sport/radio were going to discussed.

Its a free country, don't like it, don't come in here to read and write.

Now that sad..

You think I'm they guy from the radio?

I wish my shitty job was as much fun as being on the radio.

But thanks for the job offer..

In all seriousness, the people in here actually listen to the station a lot. At least they aren't sitting back abusing stuff they don't know anything about like some people do.

I bag Mark Doran all the time but I always listen to his show.

Are u new to internet forums? They are here to discuss our opinions on people, place, events and yes, even radio stations. We were discussing a call made to the radio station yesterday which mentioned the above article, thats all.

This thread is not all about s**ting on people.

Its about trying to improve a station that obviously a lot of people care about going on the amount of posts here.

I'm a big critic of the Morning Glory and in particular Bill Brownless. For instance this morning, they resorted to discussing Billys farting in the studio which is the sort of humour I expect from Rex and his cronies. Is it too much to ask that they do a bit of research on sports other than AFL so that they don't have to fill up air time with this rubbish.

Others are critics of Doran and his often monotone style and whilst I thought KB was great when the station first started now its starting to disintegrate into discussions about umpires which gets a bit boring after a while.

These are all fair comments.

I have nothing but praise for Francis and the Ox whilst Finey has been one of the best new talents to come onto radio for a long time.

How else are you supposed to improve something if you aren't allowed to criticise what is already going on ?