The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Without having listen to SEN since April or May, and since the summer of 04/05, do they have any form of cricket on these days? Any talk shows, or anything like that?

They have cricket shows as apart of shows.

Like i think Doran has a cricket show for at least an hour a week.

As does the rest probably.

-Ben

Billy from West Heidleberg is a classic calling everyone he hates duds. Also its funny how he wanted to box against some guy who lives in Williamstown.

Blimey that might have been me! I rang up monday night and bagged that psuedo intellect [Dave from Stkilda]Old Davey was bagging Rodney Eade to the extent of becoming obsessive. Picked him up on some falsehoods re. Terry Wallace that he was sprouting:thumbsd:

haha good stuff

i mentioned david from stkilda earlier in the thread and said how much of a tosser he is

keep it up :thumbsu:

Tailenders Cricket Show on Wednesday Night at 9PM.

Blimey that might have been me! I rang up monday night and bagged that psuedo intellect [Dave from Stkilda]Old Davey was bagging Rodney Eade to the extent of becoming obsessive. Picked him up on some falsehoods re. Terry Wallace that he was sprouting:thumbsd:
Hahahaha "pseudo-intellect" - so true. It's hilarious how he rings up Peaky and talks about what 'culinary delights' they have indulged in. He used to make a bit of sense but I think as time goes on he's taking the piss more and more - I heard him last night and he was singing a new version of "Working Class Man" with lyrics relating to Peaky - some of the funniest radio I've heard in a while.

Peaky is radio gold:thumbsu::thumbsu:

OWAAT went till 2am saturday night instead of the 1am ending.

bout time that w***er mark johnson finally realised that alot of sport happens late on saturday nights .

Who's this amateur during Schibeci's afternoon show?

If I hear Robbo say once more that the cricket shouldn't have started in Cup week, I'll scream.

I was so disappointed to hear this guy has finished his holiday and is working already. Shocked that he had a job to come back to!

Schibecs isn't the most polished guy, but he gets along well with all his on air buddies and can be quite funny and entertaining.

Streets ahead of Snoran.

Great new for SEN, this article below has indicated that the station is now self sustaining.

It also mentions summer sports, I believe SEN needs to broadcast the Boxing Day test and the on dayers in Melbourne. If anyone listened to the Vics game on the web http://www.cricketvictoria.com.au/ , it was basically the SEN team. Huddo, Pickering and a few others. I hope this is an indication of things to come.

SEN tried to broadcast the Melbourne Cup Carnival but was blocked by Sport927, so maybe next year.

The article also mentioned tennis, so maybe SEN will start broadcasting the Tennis now, the ABC does the night sessions. The Ausopen website broadcasts the tennis at the surrounds of the Melbourne Park and again, the majority of the commentators were SEN poeple. Bruce Eva was one of them last year.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22741181-7582,00.html

Sporting chance for all-talk stationFont Size: Decrease Increase Print Page: Print Michael Bodey | November 12, 2007

ALL-TALK sports radio, Melbourne's 1116 SEN, is not ready to expand into other Australian cities despite a stellar first year.

In the latest Neilsen Media ratings survey, SEN recorded further rises and closed the AFL season with a record cumulative audience of 322,000 listeners.

The Pacific Star Network station has obvious potential in the AFL-hungry markets of Perth and Adelaide although it would face a tough contest against the footy-friendly 5AA in Adelaide.

"It's an interesting question," said chief executive Barrie Quick.

"This station hasn't reached its full potential yet and over the next few years it will.

"That will give us an indication of whether it can work in other markets."

SEN lifted the network share of its target audience, males 25-54, from 3.9 per cent to 11.3 per cent over the year, thanks to its own strong sports line-up - including Tim Watson, Andy Maher, Anthony Hudson, Billy Brownless, Mark Doran, Nathan Buckley and Kevin Bartlett - and missteps in AFL coverage by 3AW.

Mr Quick is clearly happy with SEN's first year of broadcasting AFL matches.

"At the beginning of the year we actually set out to define a particular position in the market. We didn't want to do exactly what the opposition did and we set out to find a niche that the others didn't do," he said.

In a clear dig at the indulgent footy coverage by both Fairfax Radio's 3AW and Austereo's Triple M, Mr Quick said: "We wanted it to be accurate, have a degree of entertainment without going over the top and giving the scores as often as possible."

The inclusion of former Triple M caller and Channel Nine chief Eddie McGuire to the call team for a couple of late season games also confirmed the station's legitimacy. It also sparked speculation McGuire wished to come on board in a broadcasting/shareholding deal similar to Alan Jones' participation at Macquarie Media's 2GB.

The speculation appears unfounded, although McGuire would not comment on the issue.

Mr Quick said the station was sustainable at its current audience numbers and had enjoyed four consecutive months of record revenue.

"Obviously, with the increased ratings share comes a fair increase in revenue, which has been good," he said. "We've really now set ourselves up for a successful 2008 and beyond."

The question is now whether Melbourne's not-so-fickle football audience will stay with the station during summer.

Mr Quick is pinning his hopes on the Hyundai A League, and particularly Melbourne Victory, performing well into the Australian Open tennis tournament.

There will also be live coverage of some AFL player drafts.

Pacific Star's shares closed at 4.5c on Friday, giving the company a market value of $24 million.

Gotta say I really don't want them to cover the races thats what 927 is for and I don't want SEN covering the cricket either, thats what the abc is for. I rather tune in and hear something that I can't already hear...sports talk and talk back which is hopefully entertaining. Just covering lots of different sports is a waste of time IMHO and they did that SEN early on and it didn't go down to well with the ratings. They used to cover basketball, rugby, cricket, and even the olympics. Don't know about you guys but I aint going to be tuning in to listen to state cricket:thumbsd: Thats a way to lose half the audience they've built up.

This article isn't about SEN but is very relevant, it mentions Fairfax buying Southern Cross radio (2UE, 3AW). Will 3AW allow Herald Sun journos on board to promote the newspaper now that Fairfax owns it? I doubt it, and so I think News Ltd will respond in a very similer way and look at purchasing a radio network, so I truly believe SEN is ready to be bought out by News Ltd where their own Journos can promote the Herald Sun. Mark Robinson, John Ralph (was on the weekend), Leigh Patsh (best segment) are already on SEN. Patrick Smith writes for The Australian which is also owned by News Ltd. This is just my own reading of the media industry, I have not heard any rumours or am about to start one.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,22732470-7582,00.html

Fairfax's journalists get ready for radio | November 10, 2007

FAIRFAX Media chief executive David Kirk said yesterday he planned to move quickly to cash in on the opportunities created by the group's takeover of the Southern Cross radio network, indicating that Fairfax newspaper journalists would be used extensively as cross-platform reporters.

Mr Kirk used his first appearance as one of Australia's leading radio proprietors -- meeting staff at Sydney's 2UE -- to point to greater use of Fairfax newspaper reporters on radio.

Asked by 2UE broadcaster John Stanley whether staff from The Sydney Morning Herald or The Age would be appearing on radio, Mr Kirk replied: "Yeah, absolutely right. If something were to happen in Sydney, we would have people on the ground able to file news to the radio or for the newspaper or the internet very quickly.

"So what we do is we get our best talent -- and we get a large number of people that the whole organisation's got, able to support every different medium -- and we make everyone better."

Mr Kirk has also backed comments by Fairfax radio boss Graham Mott in The Australian this week that the radio network will adopt a "localism" stance in its programming -- with imminent moves to axe nationally syndicated programs in favour of state-based programming.

Mr Mott said that national programs like the John Laws show were disappearing as localism became more important.

"While John's done very well with a national program, more and more it has become very much more competitive, (particularly) in the Sydney market," he said.

"And I think it has put us at a disadvantage in being too national and not enough state-based."

Mr Kirk has backed the localism push. "We've said that we understand media really well, and we understand local media," he said. "I mean, the heritage and history of Fairfax is predominantly in newspapers, and that's all about connection with local people -- from The Sydney Morning Herald to local papers in the group."

Mr Mott told The Australian earlier this week that the Southern Cross name would be taken out of logos and presentation and replaced by new Fairfax logos by Monday.

"Under the sale agreement, we do not retain the rights to use the term Southern Cross," he said.

Mr Kirk has confirmed that this will occur as part of the $1.35 billion carve-up of Southern Cross radio and television assets by Fairfax and Macquarie Media Group.

"(The) Southern Cross (name) will go, because it stays with Southern Cross television, and that's been bought by Macquarie Media," he said.

Mr Kirk said no final decision had been made on how the new radio stations would be badged: "We haven't decided too much about the branding, except of course the local branding is paramount."

He played down suggestions that the former Southern Cross radio network would become Fairfax Radio.

"There's no real need to sort of have an overall company called Fairfax Radio. We'll work on what works from a news service perspective. The network news service might have a Fairfax component (in its name)."

Don't mind listening to Robbo and Doran together. :thumbsu: But sometimes its hard to keep up with what Robo is saying cause he says one thing and then seems to say the complete opposite 5mins later.:confused: Think the good oil would be way better if Doran had permanent cohosts, robbo, rita, harf, hoggy they are all good value and the show would be heaps better. Doran is best as the anchor IMHO. If the station had the money they should do that, same with KB's show, get Brian Waldron and Balme and some journalists in there with him.

Gotta say I really don't want them to cover the races thats what 927 is for and I don't want SEN covering the cricket either, thats what the abc is for. I rather tune in and hear something that I can't already hear...sports talk and talk back which is hopefully entertaining. Just covering lots of different sports is a waste of time IMHO and they did that SEN early on and it didn't go down to well with the ratings. They used to cover basketball, rugby, cricket, and even the olympics. Don't know about you guys but I aint going to be tuning in to listen to state cricket:thumbsd: Thats a way to lose half the audience they've built up.

I don't think SEN will broadcast State cricket, this is just a test broadcast. But TEST cricket could be on the go and the final of the tennis. The Racing I think was just going to be the main races this spring, but it was stopped. SEN has to find a formula for summer though.

Yeah but what you are proposing is a bad idea IMO. it has already failed on SEN and they lost what little audience they had over summer when they broadcast other sports. They should stick to what is working ATM, consistent programs with interesting content. Can it be improved? Hell yeah but just broadcasting test cricket or tennis is stupid and the easy option. Other stations already cover those sports. The reason I listen to SEN is for what I cant get anywhere else - sports content and talkback 24 hours a day.:thumbsu: Covering other sports is not like covering the footy, the interest is too low and you end up losing listners who want something more than a straight broadcast.

Don't mind listening to Robbo and Doran together. :thumbsu: But sometimes its hard to keep up with what Robo is saying cause he says one thing and then seems to say the complete opposite 5mins later.:confused: Think the good oil would be way better if Doran had permanent cohosts, robbo, rita, harf, hoggy they are all good value and the show would be heaps better. Doran is best as the anchor IMHO. If the station had the money they should do that, same with KB's show, get Brian Waldron and Balme and some journalists in there with him.

I actually wouldn't mind if Doran had a co-host or series of co-hosts as you mentioned. He has a great laugh with Rita, Harf, and Hoggy.

Oh FFS!

Snoran is going on about how the cricket test shouldn't have started on Oaks Day...

There are 365 days in a year, who gives a F*** when sporting events happen to fall on the same day!

Next Ashes tour are we going to put a Test match back cause of Wimbledon?

Is there nothing else to talk about today?

Billy came up with some gold this morning...they had Mark Webber in the studio and he mentioned how he had spent the past week in Perth, then someone said did he drive there and Webber replied yeah at 340km/h dodging kangaroos....then Billy piped up 'did you make it to the end?' and then you should have heard Billy back pedal

Oh FFS!

Snoran is going on about how the cricket test shouldn't have started on Oaks Day...

There are 365 days in a year, who gives a F*** when sporting events happen to fall on the same day!

Next Ashes tour are we going to put a Test match back cause of Wimbledon?

Is there nothing else to talk about today?

i heard someone on the arvo show yesterday say something like that. why does it matter? FFS the test is on in brisbane!

Billy came up with some gold this morning...they had Mark Webber in the studio and he mentioned how he had spent the past week in Perth, then someone said did he drive there and Webber replied yeah at 340km/h dodging kangaroos....then Billy piped up 'did you make it to the end?' and then you should have heard Billy back pedal

HAHAHAHA i had to read that line twice to get it - one of those days. how did mark respond?

Doran has one fan.
To be honest, he wouldn't even rate in my top ten for SEN hosts.

I'm just trying to say I don't think much of Tony Schibecci. I believe I have already said a few times in this thread that I don't think much of him.