The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

I actually agree with you...have been saying the same thing for a long time....channel fuddy duddy I call 3AW......but...my earlier post which was critical of Mark Franklin was pretty much a one off.....I was so looking forward to the overnight show coming back....and I just found him to be very annoying, very hyped and over the top, then his comments the other morning I thought just went too far....he also mentioned that he thought the police overreacted to the soccer dramas the other night....the boys were just having fun!.......then laughed.....Well, its not the image the soccer bosses want, nor do I think SEN bosses would be happy one of their presenters thought it was funny.....just my opinion....SEN is my favorite station, dont listen to anything else....

good on franka and luke mather for telling it like it is and not going for media beatups like the other sen hosts love to do, they were actually at the game so id rather listen to what they have to say then the other flogs like neil mitchell who only go by what they "heard" happened and create more trouble in the process

you cant compare sen and 3aw, totally difference audiences

i agree with icemen in that if people find sen boring they are more likely to switch to triple m for some tunes rather than go for some 3aw talkback

we all love sen and thats why we are on this thread because we want it to get better, if people didnt care this thread would of died on it arse ages ago but it hasnt which should say something

i thing this is a stupid post as i have never even thought of listening to sigley or the old fogeys
why do you even compare them and sen to each other
but there is plenty to listen to as well as sen the saffran guy on triple j used to listen to get this with martin some music on triple m
why do you think that we all have to be sen only and if not sen then 3aw
stupid post and comparison
reckon heaps of sen listeners listen to other radio stations like jjj and tony martins show

sorry brother i am not the sharpest knife in the tool shed so you are write i am wrong i am stupid io know this but that doesunt seem to be a requirement for having an opinion so that was mine

maybe because they are both am talkback stations?

maybe dont compare with music channels because if i want to listen to music i pull out my walkman? just ideas brother you are still write

good on franka and luke mather for telling it like it is and not going for media beatups like the other sen hosts love to do, they were actually at the game so id rather listen to what they have to say then the other flogs like neil mitchell who only go by what they "heard" happened and create more trouble in the process

you cant compare sen and 3aw, totally difference audiences

i agree with icemen in that if people find sen boring they are more likely to switch to triple m for some tunes rather than go for some 3aw talkback

we all love sen and thats why we are on this thread because we want it to get better, if people didnt care this thread would of died on it arse ages ago but it hasnt which should say something

I used to listen to 3AW before SEN started and I know lots of people who did. If you are into talkback, they are the two biggest talk stations in Melbourne, so they definitely have some competition.

Patrick Smith owned by John Elliott this morning.

Patrick compared Richard Pratt to Tony Mokbel and old Jack called up to defend him.

Patrick resorted to personal attacks against Jack. What a fool old Pat is, no matter what you think about Jack Elliott.

Patrick compared Richard Pratt to Tony Mokbel and old Jack called up to defend him.

He at no stage COMPARED Richard Pratt to Tony Mokbel

He used the analogy, that people are saying what Richard Pratt has done has nothing to do with football, so Patrick also said that what Mokbel has done has nothing to do with football, but we wouldn't allow him to be a president of an AFL club.

So what he is saying, just because his crime has nothing to do with the football club, it should not preclude him from being banned as president

He at no stage COMPARED Richard Pratt to Tony Mokbel

He used the analogy, that people are saying what Richard Pratt has done has nothing to do with football, so Patrick also said that what Mokbel has done has nothing to do with football, but we wouldn't allow him to be a president of an AFL club.

So what he is saying, just because his crime has nothing to do with the football club, it should not preclude him from being banned as president

Point taken.

Its a delicate comparison that could be read the wrong way like I did though.

Who likes Patrick Smith ???

He is an arrogant, stuck up old goafer with a massive chip on his shoulder ...

Who likes Patrick Smith ???

He is an arrogant, stuck up old goafer with a massive chip on his shoulder ...

I actually thought he had softened a bit over the last year and a bit after Huddo used to take the piss out of him on The Run Home calling him "Positive Pat".

Now he's turned into a complete w***er once again.

i like patrick smith. he doing his job, being a w***er and stiring the pot. i think he believes in the premise of what hes saying but embelishes it to cause controversy.

Thats what I think, he believes it all but puts a bit of mayo on it to make it interesting. The only time listening to Smith becomes unbearable is when he and KB agree on something and won't even listen to anyone else.

if anyone here listens to all night sport or the old WSO can you get in touch with BP or sen and buy a new membership to the show.
BP announced last night that to help the new overnight show survive they are selling memberships.
it costs $ 100 to become a member and members go into a draw where you can win going into the studio with BP and also you get to go to some nights they are going to have for members only .
there are a few other things like a sponsorship fo your local sports club that will be drawn as well to some members .
i told you that BP was more professional than lazy old shibecci he would never have thought of doing this having a membership.
also that $ 100 is for a whole years membership
so if anyone reads this get in touch with BP and sen they said they will be having more info soon about buying your membership :thumbsu:

if anyone here listens to all night sport or the old WSO can you get in touch with BP or sen and buy a new membership to the show.
BP announced last night that to help the new overnight show survive they are selling memberships.
it costs $ 100 to become a member and members go into a draw where you can win going into the studio with BP and also you get to go to some nights they are going to have for members only .
there are a few other things like a sponsorship fo your local sports club that will be drawn as well to some members .
i told you that BP was more professional than lazy old shibecci he would never have thought of doing this having a membership.
also that $ 100 is for a whole years membership
so if anyone reads this get in touch with BP and sen they said they will be having more info soon about buying your membership :thumbsu:

You are pulling our leg aren't you ?
I usually catch the last half hr of overnight when I wake up but didnt hear Brett saying anything like that , mind you I was half asleep.
Your saying that you pay them just because you want to help them stay on and in return you might get to sit in the station studio with them!
For the 100 bucks it sounds like a bit of a rort to me to raise money
Did they say where does the money go
into Bretts pockets or the stations coffers
If this is not a gag then maybe I was right in holding off buying some of those SEN shares Rice Paper was talking about
I have heard of community stations doing this to raise funds but this sounds a bit rich given SEN is a commercial business isnt it.
If I were you I might hold off sending in my cheque or giving them your credit card details
Not sure this sounds too above board to me , they might have genuine intentions but make sure you know where your money is going before you send it off Ice Men.

Been a huge Mark Franklin, OWAAT fan, but ever since All night sport started, i think he's been a little over the top and his speech patterns emphasising every 3rd word gets a little old.

I know they read this site, the best part of OWAAT is the casual conversation mixed in with a bit of excitement, i think if Mark can capture that as a solo act, the show will get better (Allnightsport).
Yeah I used to be a fan of Mark but the past couple of weeks he's annoyed me a bit - he laughs after every sentence. He must be on something surely? With him and Mather in the studio there's a good balance of personalities and they work well together - if that was the setup every night it'd be great, but Mark on his own needs some help. Get Zantuck & Peaky in there an extra night maybe.

Does that really annoying Indian guy from Wantina still call up and sprout crap ???
I think he is SEN's first real 'troll' radio caller ...
I remember last year he rang up and said Carlton were going to draft Aaron Hennemen with their first pick in the National draft ...
Don't think he still calls up but I remember that call - he also said something ridiculous like Australia were gonna host the 2010 World Cup at Optus Oval :D BP was on that night and didn't see the humour - he got upset. Classic radio, perfect trolling. BTW, the bloke's not Indian, he puts on a terrible fake accent.

Btw, just heard that SEN have sold the 12-6am slot to Brett and Mark, like it was proposed a while back. Just incase Brett is reading, some more feedback for the show:

I would advertise that fact, as often as possible, because it would build a hell of a lot of credibility and trust with the listners knowing you put your own money up to get live sport back on.

One more thing is that I really like the iniative of taking audio from other websites like the A-League preview, NBA summaries etc...I reckon you could go down that track heaps more, as it would be a point of difference from everything else on SEN, and give an independent feel to the show, which is independent.

There's plenty of audio stuff from BBC sport i know of (quality may be dodgy), NBA updates are daily. Even if they play the audio from the highlights for each game for 10-15 minutes, it would be fantastic.

You are pulling our leg aren't you ?
I usually catch the last half hr of overnight when I wake up but didnt hear Brett saying anything like that , mind you I was half asleep.
Your saying that you pay them just because you want to help them stay on and in return you might get to sit in the station studio with them!
For the 100 bucks it sounds like a bit of a rort to me to raise money
Did they say where does the money go
into Bretts pockets or the stations coffers
If this is not a gag then maybe I was right in holding off buying some of those SEN shares Rice Paper was talking about
I have heard of community stations doing this to raise funds but this sounds a bit rich given SEN is a commercial business isnt it.
If I were you I might hold off sending in my cheque or giving them your credit card details
Not sure this sounds too above board to me , they might have genuine intentions but make sure you know where your money is going before you send it off Ice Men.

I dont care as long as it means that we dont have replays overnight but if my cash gos into BPs back pocket i would rather that than into shibeccis.
only thing i want to know is if that w***er mark johnson pulls that stunt again and changes it to replays again what happens to our cash
does it mean we get a guarantee that we get a year of overnight for a $100 bucks to BP

and BP can spend the cash he gets on pros the casino or ice he can even go on a rave with ben cousins
if BP wants my cash he gets it :)

Anyone catch the great one-liner by a caller the other night when Mark and Doran (i think) were discussing celebrity boxing bouts (prompted by the suggestion that Hall and Mason were going to duke it out) they would like to see. This is how one of the calls went..

Mark: Who would you like to see in the ring?
Caller: James Hird and Prince Charles, they could box the ears of each other!!
Mark: Laughs
Caller: And Jennifer Hawkins..
Mark: With who??
Caller: Oh no one else, I'd just like to see her box!!!

The blokes in the studio lost the plot. One of the better one liners by a caller in a while!!!

Just as I predicted a couple of days ago, 3AW, 2UE will now replace News Ltd people with Fairfax journos. I will predict now that this news is out, News Ltd will be very active in the radio market place and there could be some news for SEN when it comes to sport.

http://www.theage.com.au/news/busin...-southern-cross/2007/11/15/1194766868305.html

Fairfax favours its own at Southern Cross

* Email
* Printer friendly version
* Normal font
* Large font

Jesse Hogan
November 16, 2007
Advertisement

NEWS Ltd journalists paid to appear on the talk radio stations formerly owned by Southern Cross Broadcasting are likely to be replaced over the next year by journalists from the new owner of the radio network, Fairfax Media.

Fairfax, owner of The Age, last week completed the $480 million purchase of Southern Cross' metropolitan radio network, which includes 3AW and Magic 1278.

Fairfax chairman Ron Walker and chief executive David Kirk briefed their new staff yesterday.

Mr Kirk is believed to have told staff he hoped News Ltd journalists would be "phased out", although he said the decisions would ultimately be made by the stations' programmers and news directors.

A source at the meeting said Mr Kirk said he did not see why staff at The Age and other Fairfax newspapers would not be the equal of News Ltd journalists. But he is also said to have assured them that he and other Fairfax executives "don't want to mess with success".

Fairfax spokesman Bruce Wolpe declined to confirm if News Ltd journalists, including Herald Sun columnist Andrew Bolt, would go.

"It was a private meeting with staff and that is how we will treat it," Mr Wolpe said.

Long-serving Southern Cross chief executive Tony Bell left the company after its assets were split between Fairfax and Macquarie Media Group. Mr Bell's deputy, Graham Mott, has been given responsibility for the stations and now reports directly to Mr Kirk.

The reporter owns Fairfax Media shares.