The shambolic mess of Opening Round

shaft the fans for everything they've got.
the length of the season, the number of rounds, the number of clubs,

Does OR shaft fans? Crowd numbers this year were up vs the corresponding home teams 2025 average home attendances.
Do any of those factors shaft fans?

A longer season means more games to watch, a specialist round in Adelaide has been a resounding success for the local economy as well as SA based footy fans attending multiple games, and for interstate fans also provides an opportunity to explore SA for a weekend, and in some cases watch 2-3 games at AO in a day.

Increasing club numbers particularly by inserting a Tassie team should increase the volume of people following the sport and provides a tangible avenue for Tasmanian fans to follow the sport.

Things like exorbitant prices to attend games, high streaming costs (kayo/fox), not having Saturday footy on FTA. A shambles of a VFL system both in relation to it including all eastern seaboard clubs in a bloated competition - and also a botched TV deal now only just rescued by the ABC would all be examples of how the AFL screws over its fans.

It shouldn't cost $90 to watch a game in the Selwood stand. It shouldn't (in 2024) cost over $70 to buy a top level front section seat at Marvel... against the Saints who don't often go over 30-35k attendance, and often less than that.

They just need to do it how the NRL do it, the Opening Round games are still Round 1, you just have the other games played the next week. Easy fix, first weekend is QLD and NSW focused, then you do the rest the week after.

This. It took me an absurdly long time to realise that this actually WASNT how it was being done when they announced it.
Just spread the f**king thing over two weeks

Its a good concept with a terrible execution

Just have all sides play but highlight the interstate clubs, have the prime time spots in the northern and western states

Hell even start the season with a derby to really spice it up

why highlight interstate clubs? Every fan is excited for round 1. Why not just have everyone involved, and if they are going to do something like this, make it 1 game in each of the main states. 5 states = 5 games. Having 4 games in NSW/QLD is ridiculous. It just kills the start of the season for everyone outside the states, as there is no build up to anything except the singular Saints/Pies game.. Hence 90k+ people to a Saints game!

Yours maybe, but not mine.
Mine is that the so called biggest advantage is 1 game vs 0 games.

And there's barely any correlation to back it up.

The Rounds 2-4 byes are separate issues entirely as they are creating situations where teams with 2-4 games are getting a bye while others don't.

An easy fix would be to bring the main bye period forward, at present it is Rounds 12-16. Bring them forward to say round 10-12. 6 teams per round, with OR teams going 10-11 and that way all clubs still only get one bye through out the year. Not some getting one and others getting two. This reduces the period where we don't have a full 9 games down from 9 rounds down to 4 rounds.

Yes it makes the period of matches to finals longer without a break, but 8 sides won't make finals, and another 6 get a pre-finals bye so it only elongates that period for the 7-10 wildcard teams, who likely don't go much further than EF/SF weekend anyway.

Agreed. In theory yes a team with an extra game I guess will have an advantage but what is there to back it up. I’m sure there will be plenty of people pointing to Saturday against Fremantle as an example of them running out of steam but from the last minute of the third term to the end of the match they kicked 6 behinds. It’s not like they didn’t create chances.

Surely after 2 practice games and a pre-season - and the players get absolutely flogged each year - one extra match isn’t going to make THAT much of a difference?

I mean I’m sure I’ve heard before of certain clubs but not others, having intra-club scratch matches before seasons which, while obviously not 100 per cent physical intensity, would in theory make those clubs have an advantage come round one if they meet a club who didn’t do the same but I’ve never ever heard a commentator or journalist mention it as a factor if one side beats up on another.

The byes stink.

OR as it is now is a stupid idea, just have a split round to start the season with the NSW/QLD teams playing the first week. Then have the teams that play week 1 play other week 1 teams and the same for week 2 teams in round 2 or round1 or whatever they want to call it.

I've hated the reasons they've had certain games on FTA to start the season as well.

- Sydney vs unlikely finalists Carlton is the opening game just because of Charlie Curnow.

- Potential bottom 4 Essendon vs Hawthorn is a Friday night game because of Zach Merrett.

- Dees/Saints was on in R1 because of last year's Saints comeback. It was a good game but rated poorly.

You can add Tigs/Blues to that list as well. It's a R1 tradition, but two bottom 8 teams on a Thursday night isn't a blockbuster.

The byes stink.

OR as it is now is a stupid idea, just have a split round to start the season with the NSW/QLD teams playing the first week. Then have the teams that play week 1 play other week 1 teams and the same for week 2 teams in round 2 or round1 or whatever they want to call it.

I've hated the reasons they've had certain games on FTA to start the season as well.

- Sydney vs unlikely finalists Carlton is the opening game just because of Charlie Curnow.

- Potential bottom 4 Essendon vs Hawthorn is a Friday night game because of Zach Merrett.

- Dees/Saints was on in R1 because of last year's Saints comeback. It was a good game but rated poorly.

You can add Tigs/Blues to that list as well. It's a R1 tradition, but two bottom 8 teams on a Thursday night isn't a blockbuster.
Carlton is playing every Thursday or Friday night until round 7... bar one round + a bye. so get ready for some fun times.

We had one normal round, and then they kill the momentum again with a bunch of watered-down bye weeks.

It's poo. Get rid.
You can blame the players association. I remember reading comments from them over the years saying they want stuff like 18 rounds, more byes, 20 minute total time quarters. The way I read their intentions, is the players want to play a few games then have weeks off, and have the season finished by July. They are like an over the top union.

If the league is adamant on starting the season so early, this has to be the solution for Victorian labor day weekend.

All teams play, but with a real emphasis on the Northern markets, but also making a big entrance in Perth. Its not hard.

Thurs Night - Brisbane vs Geelong - Gabba
Friday night - Gold Coast vs Hawthorn - People first
Friday night - West Coast vs Essendon - Optus

Now heres the kicker - Sydney super saturday - ONLY PLAY GAMES IN SYDNEY - take over the city

Saturday twilight - GWS vs Western Bulldogs - Engie stadium
Saturday night - Sydney vs Collingwood - SCG

and then:

Sunday early - North Melbourne vs St.Kilda - Marvel
Sunday afternoon - Adelaide vs Melbourne - AO
Sunday Twilight - Fremantle vs Port Adelaide - Optus

Monday afternoon (Labor day) - Richmond vs Carlton - MCG

The whole point of Opening Round was to boost the game in NSW and Queensland by playing the games in these states. This year there was a game added at the MCG so clearly playing games exclusively in non-Victorian states is not important to OR in the eyes of the AFL. If that is the case there is zero excuse not to have all teams be involved and get rid of these ridiculous early season byes and the obvious fixture integrity issues it brings with it.

It wasn't.

The main motivation was to take matches away from low-rating early arvo slots from later rounds, and move them into newly created / additional standalone primetime slots.

It wasn't.

The main motivation was to take matches away from low-rating early arvo slots from later rounds, and move them into newly created / additional standalone primetime slots.
For northern states teams. Another leg up

It wasn't.

But these games are being played in NSW/QLD and so in essence this is still an attempt to boost the AFL in these states

After an interesting Round 1 where all teams played, we now have this ridiculous situation where momentum for the season halts to allow byes for clubs in Round 2, 3 and 4.

And this is even before discussing the inequalities OR creates in match ups between teams coming off breaks.

Its a disaster and the exclamation mark on the Dillon administration
I can’t like this thread enough 👍👍👍

It’s unfathomable how ridiculous the concept is and that’s even before you get into the argument of whether there is something of an unfair advantage or not

Shouldn’t even be a thing
Dillon and Co are incorrigible idiots 🖕🖕🖕

Its a good concept with a terrible execution

Just have all sides play but highlight the interstate clubs, have the prime time spots in the northern and western states

Hell even start the season with a derby to really spice it up
It’s amazing that literally everyone gets it except the idiots running the show

You can blame the players association. I remember reading comments from them over the years saying they want stuff like 18 rounds, more byes, 20 minute total time quarters. The way I read their intentions, is the players want to play a few games then have weeks off, and have the season finished by July. They are like an over the top union.
Surely no players would be saying “ let’s play 2 games then have a bye “ just when they are building some momentum?

They should just keep paying more shit, ticky, touch, soft 50m penalties to ruin games so we all turn off for good.

Surely no players would be saying “ let’s play 2 games then have a bye “ just when they are building some momentum?

Wave enough money under their nose and they'll happily play a 37 game season with 19 minute quarters, a change of guernsey in the second half, a wildball "8 pointer" when the ball bounces off the umpire's head, 29 players on the bench, and a hushed interview afterwards saying how difficult it all is.

But these games are being played in NSW/QLD and so in essence this is still an attempt to boost the AFL in these states
The NSW/QLD element was an afterthought. It wasn't the main point.

Given stadiums elsewhere are often out of action in early March (and will be again next year), the northern states were obvious candidates to host new primetime slots at that stage of the year.

About to become a 19-team competition, and it's gonna stay that way for a while.

I would suggest you get used to byes.
The only bye I’m interested in is farewelling Andrew Dillon

I got the rationale behind the first opening round.

The NRL wanted to start their season overseas, so the AFL swooped in to those developing markets that same weekend as if to say "Hey, we're putting on this show for you, and not jetting it away to cater to some elite fat cats".

As I said, I get the rationale behind it. I don't agree with it, but I get it.

Now it makes absolutely no sense. No one can even give a rationale for it. AFL fans are often overly critical of change and doing different things, but this one is genuinely stupid. I'm talking about Dillon tweeting to beg for foreign navies to help out levels of stupid.

I just don't understand the argument that playing games in Melbourne on the opening weekend overshadows games in the northern states. Yes, it means Vic media/dedicated footy media will not be talking exclusively about those games in the week leading up but presumably the casual fans in QLD/NSW won't be consuming that anyway. If you put the four northern games on Thursday, Friday and Saturday they are still the main event for media in those states and (I guess) more general sports media like FSN. Then play the remaining five games on Super Sunday (SA, WA, and either Geelong at home or a Docklands double header). Seems to solve the problem pretty easily.

why highlight interstate clubs? Every fan is excited for round 1. Why not just have everyone involved, and if they are going to do something like this, make it 1 game in each of the main states. 5 states = 5 games. Having 4 games in NSW/QLD is ridiculous. It just kills the start of the season for everyone outside the states, as there is no build up to anything except the singular Saints/Pies game.. Hence 90k+ people to a Saints game!

Is there any way to quantify what the advantage is of playing this Round 0 on that weekend.

is it really just to compete with the NRL Las Vegas game ?

Are the AFL that insecure ?