The Shark thing

Re: Alistair Clarkson on Geelong las Sept - "We have to kill the Shark"

No pal! we've been listening the your crap about how superior your team is all summer, now's your chance to confirm all that bragging.
You must be the favorites or does that worry you're lot, didn't you win the flag the game, what are you frightened of! Maybe a fit Geelong.
Now times' come to back it up.
Did you read any of my posts in this thread, or did you just see 'Hawthorn' under my avatar and hit the 'quote' button?

For the record, Geelong was far more fit than Hawthorn on the big day. And Geelong are clear favourites. Ask the 16 AFL captains.

Did you read any of my posts in this thread, or did you just see 'Hawthorn' under my avatar and hit the 'quote' button?

For the record, Geelong was far more fit than Hawthorn on the big day. And Geelong are clear favourites. Ask the 16 AFL captains.

But you blokes keep tellin us your so much better, well, don't you!
Since where in the the Hawthorn era, guess you have to show us
"what your talking about" come next Friday.:D

But you blokes keep tellin us your so much better, well, don't you!
Since where in the the Hawthorn era, guess you have to show us
"what your talking about" come next Friday.:D
The result of next weeks game means very little. It sure won't change the result of 2008, so you're on a bit of a hiding to nothing there. Regardless of the result.
But that's ok, I'm sure you'll get some joy from it, unless of course you come undone again.

First, I'll apologise to those thinking I've re-opened wounds that were starting to heal. I meant to fire everyone up, not stir up grief. Sorry people:o My way of thinking on the matter must be slightly different - I reckon we've got to rectify the mistakes of the past. And that means confronting it. And understanding it as well.

Right-o. We've got to be the baddest bastards on the field each and every week. Especially in September. Were we not hungry enough? Then what were we doing there in the first place?

This is the most fired-up I've been before the start of a season. I KNOW this Geelong side has it in them to take the Cup back. I can't wait to see it happen.

Have at 'em, lads!!

2009.jpg

Thankfully Channel 9 have decided to show the Storm game live tonight. There's no incentive to flick to Channel 7 now, not that there was much before, but it'll be the Storm and the Cricket for me tonight.

Yarda yarda yah....I'm over the loss, somewhat dissapointed but i've moved on !!!

Any way what i was alarmed about was my key point of the article - Geelong hate quick, elusive forwards & we (Haw) have got good ones.

They hate a team that is accountable & tough and hard at the ball, and thats what we are.

Thats begs my next question...surely Clarko does'nt label us (Geelong) soft or second too the ball, does he mean that they (the hawks) are equal if not better than our guns !?
Annnnnd that comes to my final querie are hawthorns 'second stringers' above our 'second stringers' when it comes to depth, and especially the depth of both sides last gf day !?:eek::cool:

After the break they are showing the Grand Final.

Im turning over! Thought i'd be able to watch it but seeing Stewie Dew turn Matty Scareltt inside out on a highlight just then pissed me off.

Ablett: One Special Season it is!

As painful as it was it was interesting to watch.

I remember Malthouse when he was weagles coach saying a similar thing about us in the early 90's, that we were the 'herdest to stop but the easiest to catch'. Basically, that we were downhill skiiers to put it bluntly, the 2007 and 2008 Grand Finals could not be a more perfect illustration of that. When the going gets tough, we stop, too often.

Well, as expected, the show wasn’t about the Angry Ant. In fact, he didn’t appear all that much during the two hours. I stuck it out because I wanted to hear the much vaunted G.F ¾ time speech. There were a couple of minutes, but the editor must have got to it and removed the best bits.:eek:

I don't think Bomber is a bad coach or anything less than Clarkson but I do think Hawthorn to win last years GF needed to win in the box by a far margin to even get close and they did. They won it by their tactics.

Yarda yarda yah....I'm over the loss, somewhat dissapointed but i've moved on !!!

Any way what i was alarmed about was my key point of the article - Geelong hate quick, elusive forwards & we (Haw) have got good ones.

They hate a team that is accountable & tough and hard at the ball, and thats what we are.

Thats begs my next question...surely Clarko does'nt label us (Geelong) soft or second too the ball, does he mean that they (the hawks) are equal if not better than our guns !?

Mate they were about to play in a GF. Whether he believed it or not, he had to make the players believe it, or they were stuffed before they started.

As painful as it was it was interesting to watch.

I remember Malthouse when he was weagles coach saying a similar thing about us in the early 90's, that we were the 'herdest to stop but the easiest to catch'. Basically, that we were downhill skiiers to put it bluntly, the 2007 and 2008 Grand Finals could not be a more perfect illustration of that. When the going gets tough, we stop, too often.
What an absolute load of crap. Piss off to the hawks board then

come on guys, A lot of you seem to believe it is untrue, and i hope the club doesnt think it is untrue, otherwise it will be another painful season for you.

Think about it, Against freo, they physically out did you for most of the match. Collingwood, well you probablly dont want to be reminded about that.

And then there was the grand final, once again, there was a hell of a lot physical pressure in the first half. You missed 3 easy shots, yes, 3, not 10 or whatever you have been going on about.

I really do hope that thompson does something about it, i dont want any excuses from you again when someone beats you.

come on guys, A lot of you seem to believe it is untrue, and i hope the club doesnt think it is untrue, otherwise it will be another painful season for you.

Think about it, Against freo, they physically out did you for most of the match. Collingwood, well you probablly dont want to be reminded about that.

And then there was the grand final, once again, there was a hell of a lot physical pressure in the first half. You missed 3 easy shots, yes, 3, not 10 or whatever you have been going on about.

I really do hope that thompson does something about it, i dont want any excuses from you again when someone beats you.

Who won the Freo game and the Collingwood game that mattered?

During the year both Freo and Port decided to forget about the pill and went after the man against us and we cleaned both up. Well done for winning the silverware last year, but it had more to do with our missed opportunities and being out coached than your pressure IMO.

I don't think Bomber is a bad coach or anything less than Clarkson but I do think Hawthorn to win last years GF needed to win in the box by a far margin to even get close and they did. They won it by their tactics.

Mate bomber creates dynasties! Sure we are 1 cup short of where we should be...but that might actually keeps us going for years to come. The fact that we let our guard down once is probably means for never letting it happen again. I would look out for 22 fit Geelong players in the next final they play...i don't think we are on a hiding to nothing, i think we are now in the 'eye of the tiger zone'...

As ley ley would say """C'mon"""

hahahahahaha....your right, mooney missed coz he could see hodge out of the corner of his eye....ottens heard the trotting hodge 50m away and missed...

if you want to talk pressure, then you should start at 11 rushed behinds.

Not really, 63 inside 50's was the most hawthorn conceded all year, there zone totally broke down, and Geelong Choked it up.

It was the players skills that let them down under pressure...not Thompsons coaching.

Hawthorn applied pressure which accounted for some of the mistakes, but not all, and they took nearly all of their chances.

Who won the Freo game and the Collingwood game that mattered?

During the year both Freo and Port decided to forget about the pill and went after the man against us and we cleaned both up. Well done for winning the silverware last year, but it had more to do with our missed opportunities and being out coached than your pressure IMO.

i wasnt refering to playing the man, i meant the ball, the same as clarksons pre-game speach "they hate players who are hard at the ball"

the pies game last yr they played the ball with fierce intensity, and pumped you, and freo did it for 3/4 of the game at subi before for some stupid reason giving in...

that doesnt mean that geelong is soft, but it does back up clarko's point

Not really, 63 inside 50's was the most hawthorn conceded all year, there zone totally broke down, and Geelong Choked it up.

It was the players skills that let them down under pressure...not Thompsons coaching.

Hawthorn applied pressure which accounted for some of the mistakes, but not all, and they took nearly all of their chances.

I agree...

Footy is not about getting the ball, it's about what you do with the ball that counts the most. Yes, Hawthorn were prepared to concede in order to play their tactical game, we'll admit that. But to use the fact that Geelong missed shots on goal and didn't take advantage of their possessions as an excuse for "losing" the GF is a worrying sign in my opinion. You shouldn't be making excuses for your players and their performance... yes, Thommo was probably out-coached to a certain degree, some match-ups were questionable. But it was the players on the ground that ultimately won it for Hawthorn, a few stand-outs at the most critical of points, eg. Dew, Rioli, Hodge.

It actually looks worse for you guys to be constantly referring to the theory that your team choked' on the big day. Just accept it with dignity and move on. (I'm sure most of you have already :))