Analysis The Small Things

• Thread starter Thread starter Portia

The trouble with this attitude is it amounts to tacit approval of Gayle's comments. He should be called out on it and it should be done publicly so people realise it's not ok.

Imagine (seeing as that seems to be the theme of the defenders) if McLaughlin had replied 'At least you could see me blush. Stay cool n*****'. She would have been sacked on the spot and rightfully so.

Huge strides have been made with regard to shining the light of discrimination with regards to racism and stamping it out. As the thread title indicates this often starts with the small things. Sexism is discrimination and harassing comments like Gayle made are, to use a cricket pun, a power play. It's not acceptable and it is right to highlight this.
This actually made me laugh because I imagined the worldwide meltdown if someone said something like that.

Also, some 'expert' in manners was on 5AA as I was driving to work and she thinks that Gayle's brand of picking up the ladies obviously works overseas, but does not cut it with the ladies here in Australia. A few pulled her up on that saying did she deem women from overseas 'easy'? Fair call I reckon. I doubt that he ladies of Australia are totally immune to the passing interest of rich sports people as a whole.

But yeh, time and a place.

I love you Eddie but I don't think I have ever seen someone with such a different IRL to Internet persona than whats based on your commentary in this thread.

The last time I saw you were you grabbing random **** and being very Dinglesque

I love you Eddie but I don't think I have ever seen someone with such a different IRL to Internet persona than whats based on your commentary in this thread.

The last time I saw you were you grabbing random **** and being very Dinglesque

That is a lie.

I did grab Doctor Feel's partners bottom once but you weren't there to see that. If the truth be known I am much more likely to embrace a bloke or grab a bloke inappropriately to embarrass him rather than a girl.

I do become a bit overbearing at times when pissed but to say I was "grabbing random ****" is an outright untruth. having said that I may have poked a few in years gone by to see if they were real but that was the 90's, it was a different time.

That is a lie.

I did grab Doctor Feel's partners bottom once but you weren't there to see that. If the truth be known I am much more likely to embrace a bloke or grab a bloke inappropriately to embarrass him rather than a girl.

I do become a bit overbearing at times when pissed but to say I was "grabbing random ****" is an outright untruth. having said that I may have poked a few in years gone by to see if they were real but that was the 90's, it was a different time.

I was there!

Ahh memories. :P

That is a lie.

Can confirm.

That is a lie.

Maybe not a random boob, but I'm pretty sure your hand grabbed boob at some stage.

That is a lie.

Nah, I don't lie.

Your man-hugs and embraces are much-loved, and there was no malice or what ever in the grab I just thought the differing thoughts were humorous is all.

Carry on.

Maybe not a random boob, but I'm pretty sure your hand grabbed boob at some stage.
Nah, I don't lie.

Your man-hugs and embraces are much-loved, and there was no malice or what ever in the grab I just thought the differing thoughts were humorous is all.

Carry on.

So I was "grabbing random ****" has now become maybe grabbed one boob with no malice?

**** me.

Ok... Gayle shouldn't have said what he did but who the hell cares?

What should have been an asinine comment but in typical media fashion makes a mountain out of a molehill, sure it was stupid but just leave it at that.

Just my opinion.

Nah mate you may not have meant it this way but this is the Briggs-Hodge defence, aka "he was just being a boy, he's actually a good bloke".

"I cant believe you said I was grabbing randoms ****, when all I did was grab a randoms tit!"

"I can't believe the man who stands high and mighty on the internet didn't say anything at the time"

"I can't believe the man who stands high and mighty on the internet grabbed a randoms tit!"

0522-hugo-hornets-630x420 (1).jpg

He basically reduced her worth as a sports commentator to how good looking she is.

Isn't that one of the key reasons why she was hired in the first place, as 'eye candy' for the mostly male target audience? Then this happens and everyone is shocked and surprised and channel 10 are issuing apologies? Maybe we should have a discussion as to why television networks at large have a recruitment policy that favours extremely good looking women for presenter roles, overlooking those (both men and women) who are perhaps more talented at their craft.

By the way, not defending Gayle, his comments were inappropriate and shouldn't have been made regardless.

Back on topic,

Gayles comments were pretty shit and inappropriate. Surprised a few in the media/sport world stood up for his comments. Odd.

Back on topic,

Gayles comments were pretty shit and inappropriate. Surprised a few in the media/sport world stood up for his comments. Odd.

Especially while The Footy Show's not even on.

Wowzers...and what a thread.

Gayle is a smug douche and i hope he gets what's coming

This is Cameron Williams. He once coerced a female Fox Sports employee into taking her top and bra off in front of him on set while the cameras were turned off. While he was released from his duties at Fox at the time he's still gainfully employed in the industry and and now commands a high profile role at Channel 9.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1451960174.597497.jpg

Isn't that one of the key reasons why she was hired in the first place, as 'eye candy' for the mostly male target audience? Then this happens and everyone is shocked and surprised and channel 10 are issuing apologies? Maybe we should have a discussion as to why television networks at large have a recruitment policy that favours extremely good looking women for presenter roles, overlooking those (both men and women) who are perhaps more talented at their craft.

By the way, not defending Gayle, his comments were inappropriate and shouldn't have been made regardless.

Mel was hired was because she shows a great insight into sport, as seen by the fact that she was the host of Fox's A-League coverage and would know more about EPL than most of the people on here. The fact that she is good looking should be secondary to her being able to do her job. Of course, there would be a lot of truth in what you say, which is why her leaving Fox was a mistake for her career. She's probably getting paid more money, but the presenters on Fox actually respected her and her opinion whereas the drongos on Ten and the bogan element do not.

This is Cameron Williams. He once coerced a female Fox Sports employee into taking her top and bra off in front of him on set while the cameras were turned off. While he was released from his duties at Fox at the time he's still gainfully employed in the industry and and now commands a high profile role at Channel 9.

View attachment 204795

Mate I just cant stand Gayle....look at his face....

All the while his team is being slaughtered before his eyes at test match level...

View attachment 204795
I wondered what happened to that guy. But also, how the hell did he coerce a colleague to do that?!?! What a mind boggling thing to happen.

Mel was hired was because she shows a great insight into sport, as seen by the fact that she was the host of Fox's A-League coverage and would know more about EPL than most of the people on here. The fact that she is good looking should be secondary to her being able to do her job. Of course, there would be a lot of truth in what you say, which is why her leaving Fox was a mistake for her career. She's probably getting paid more money, but the presenters on Fox actually respected her and her opinion whereas the drongos on Ten and the bogan element do not.

I thinks her long term plan was Channel 10 getting the A-League rights as football is her first love.

Anyone who says this isn't a big deal, a blow up or just a bit of fun or entertainment is either consciously or unconsciously a gigantic ****ing sexist.

Gayle thinks he's God's gift to women, when infact he's an incredibly sexist cricketer without a brain. Imagine the furor if he said the exact thing to a male interviewer the homophobes would be out in full force, just like the sexists are now and the closet racists were with the Adam Goodes madness

The guy is not only sexist, but painfully unfunny. People find those kind of comments entertaining? Oh that's right, they're watching cricket...

Haven't watched a lot of BBL but was watching last night and even prior to the Gayle incident was a little taken aback with some inappropriate commentary around "Gayle obviously having a huge NYE...s****** s******" and "maybe he hurt his groin from overuse...s****** s******". Then plenty of s******ing during the awks Gayle interview and no immediate response from the commentary box post interview either. In fact it took a lengthy call from the Channel 10 Head of Sports to Howey before the condemnation came.

I don't think Channel 10 can sit on their high horse on this one. Something about providing an equal opportunity work environment.