The Sneaker Thread

My neighbour knows the dean of Duke.

:D

btw, those who play in globes, you know you're just gonna put em on the block and dominate them.

The ones to watch out for are the dudes rocking really really old kicks... just cos they don't shell out the $$ for fresh new ones, doesn't mean they can't play.. our centre is a prime example of that. Best post footwork in the grade, by far.

Cheers mate, they have the exact one im after. What are the sizes like? Are they standard US (ie; huge) ones?

I'd assume so.. I bought a Greg Oden jersey tee from there in a large (i'm AUS XL) and it's two sizes two big.

Do you have a pair of converse so good that my Grandmama would whoop you in them?

Haha, I actually saw a pair of those in a tiny sneaker store is suburban LA about four years ago, really should have bought them (they were on the sale table for like twenty bucks) but for some reason I didn't. Big regret.

Anyone see the Rockets/Blazers game today? What the hell was Aaron Brooks wearing?!

Pretty sure it's the Nike Cradle Rock - Steve Nash's signature shoe for this year... kind of looks like a dunk

nike-cradle-rock-nash-14.jpg

no word on release in Australia, assume it's a footblocker exclusive (typo intended - they block every other retailer from stocking decent product...)

Not likely to go down as a classic, though a lot of players will be wearing them this season... Nash usually does some kind of enviro-friendly scrap leather version of his shoes through the season which end up being pretty nice... his shoe from last season was a ripper at about $160, I loved them...

nike-zoom-mvp-x-steve-nash-pe-01.jpg

They were a total sleeper shoe - we sold out of them over about 3 months, but everyone who bought them came back to tell me how stoked they were with them... I grabbed a pair and they were seriously the best shoe under $200 I've ever worn.

May sound stupid, but is there any shoes that are specifically good knees? :)
My asics have done me well for the last few years, but playing more basketball I think it might be time to upgrade :P

May sound stupid, but is there any shoes that are specifically good knees? :)
My asics have done me well for the last few years, but playing more basketball I think it might be time to upgrade :P

Get something solid/structured through the arch area - a good strong midfoot shank. Something like the Jordan CP3.II

jordan-cp3ii-performance-review-2.jpg

or something that is pretty straight like the Zoom LBJ Ambassador
nike-zoom-lbj-ambassador-2-fall-winter-2009-051.jpg

will hold yr foot in place really nicely, as well as give you the required cushioning for impact protection - anything that hold the foot well under immense stress will help your knees no end...

I would also like to add that there are no stupid questions on the sneaker thread... relating to knee injuries etc, I'm happy to provide suggestions but my word is not gospel, just going on experience. Take into account that different situations/injuries/level of fitness/competence etc will also directly affect how well yr body holds up!

yeah, i've already got mine on order in the two inline colourways for Feb and April, but so far the reaction from sneakerheads is mixed...

I'm looking at getting some new ball shoes. I'm looking at the Kobe IV's, the CP3's and maybe the LeBron ambassadors. what would you reckond for a slasher that puts manu to shame who plays 3-4 times a week.

would you reckon for a slasher that puts manu to shame

Advanced hair.... ha ha ha aaaaah... but seriously, folks, the Kobe IV is a beast of a shoe... heaps lighter than the Ambassador and way more cushioning. I'm wearing them now (POP colourway, nice!) and they are really, really comfy. Either that or Hyperizeseses