Rumour The St Kilda debt situation - no more tick

That's not right.
If we had less than 28,000 turn up then we had to write a cheque for the short fall to the stadium. And when you're scheduled at Sunday 4.40 vs Freo.... you're writing a cheque. We also got no direct part of the catering at the ground.
It is one of reasons our finances are where they are.
The move to Seaford would probably be a major contributor
How North have had the same deal and paid down their debt i don't know. But credit to them. Especially with getting rid of the pokies which is to be admired.

Here's Butterss from a while ago....

He said that playing home games at the ground had cost his club 20,000 members since 1997, when the AFL began investigating the sale of the Saints' former home ground Waverley Park.

The AFL struck a compensation deal with St Kilda after the sale of Waverley to play home matches at Telstra Dome. The three-year arrangement ends at the end of this year.
Butterss told ABC Radio's pre-match program the club would have no hesitation in moving away from the much-maligned venue. "If we cannot negotiate an arrangement that sustains the club from a financial standpoint, we will not be playing here," he said.
"We will not be playing at a facility, we cannot play at a facility that we lose money week in, week out."

Butterss said the numbers the AFL had projected when St Kilda moved home games to the venue after Waverley became defunct had "failed dismally".

So basically, the AFL pressured/forced them into a terrible deal and offered to compensate them for the first three years....then hung them out to dry.

Nice.

Reading that above, it's really quite outrageous that anyone would be screaming at St Kilda about their finances - let alone the AFL.

At the end of that deal I remember the saints trying to move to the MCG, however the MCC blocked that as there was already capacity clubs there. Therefore we had to take the telstra dome deal. Ah well, it is what it is. At least the new deal is much more favourable to us

Bulldogs and North have less fans than St Kilda. Using the stadium deal as an excuse is lame -

The stadium is basically on Footscray Rd, less than 2 km's from Arden St.

Saints were always behind the 8 ball location with that stadium, as opposed to Waverley.

the revamp of the moorabbin base is huge ... its a $30m upgrade of the oval and facilities around .. the development in part funded by state and federal government as well as the AFL and the St Kilda football club . once finished will tie St Kilda to the area for generations ... yes North have no debt at the moment but they are without a base to claim theirs in their community ... St Kilda basically own that whole area and have community ties running deep .. yes it costs a lot and yes it is putting a HUGE debt on the club but the debt is servicabe by the club and the debt is bringing positive assets to the club that will service up to 15000 football players from all levels of competitions...
from the outside looking at numbers only yeah it looks like St Kilda are in trouble but the truth of it is we are doing things to set us up for future generations..

I agree, you have to grow your business to ensure there is additional revenue streams. The Bulldogs pioneered this by getting a government grant from John Howard of all people, and it turned our ground into a community hub for all of the community.

its never going to be able to support an in season AFL game ... its perfect for AFLW and VFL games and of course the pre-season .. but the facility is more than just a footy oval with comercial prospects for professions like doctors physio and the like to be in the facility for the general public plus the newly announced Danny Frawley well being centre to focus on mental health ..

realistically we will still need to play at Marvel (thankfully the AFL owning it means we have a better deal) but form an out of season prospect the Moorabbin development will bring in cashflow through the club all year roundand in a way to better the community (ie not through pokies)

If they can play games at Ballarat and Alice Springs why not Moorabbin? Obviously not against local teams but against GWS, GC, Freo, Port etc

AFL will never allow it ... the days of suburban grounds is dead the AFL invested so much into buying Marvel they wont allow it to sit empty while GWS play St Kilda at Morroabbin ...

The most you can hope for is preseason games, AFLW, and local football. It does bring the fans, as most love the nostalgia of games at the traditional heartland.

If you have a team, any team, constantly spending below standard to service debt, then they are reducing their ability to be competitive over a long period of time.

Entrenching yourself as a non competitive team then makes it harder to grow revenue once the debt is paid off.
If you’ve done it for a serious number of years you’ve also made yourself unattractive to potentially a generation of future supporters, and so the cycle continues.

salary structure. Even after we have zeroed the debt, we will still pay less. If one doesn’t want to accept, they are free to leave...

Reading that above, it's really quite outrageous that anyone would be screaming at St Kilda about their finances - let alone the AFL.

Turns out the AFL are a pack of hypocritical pricks.

Who knew.

There was also the NZ experiment which went well crowd wise in year 1, poorly in year 2 and dismally in year 3, then got cancelled

I'd love St Kilda to have a separate ground where they play 2 or 3 games a year like others do with Ballarat, or Hobart, or Launceston. (Alice is probably too far away, adds a 6 hour round trip flight for a not hugely significant advantage, can't say I envy Melbourne). Not sure it'll happen now though, with GWS playing in Canberra and few other options.

There was also the NZ experiment which went well crowd wise in year 1, poorly in year 2 and dismally in year 3, then got cancelled

I'd love St Kilda to have a separate ground where they play 2 or 3 games a year like others do with Ballarat, or Hobart, or Launceston. (Alice is probably too far away, adds a 6 hour round trip flight for a not hugely significant advantage, can't say I envy Melbourne). Not sure it'll happen now though, with GWS playing in Canberra and few other options.

Cairns

Actually, untrue. The buildings owned by St Kilda are fine to re finance and lend against in time as they are wholly owned by the football club. Its the same as most other football clubs, eg the Holden centre, Collingwood dont own the land, but they own the building. St kilda also owns their social club and the installations inside the building.
Being a pure sports entity, these can be borrowed against with no worries as long as there is capital gain from interests (eg memberships, sales etc). Once the assets are fully completed, St Kilda will be in an excellent position
So the buildings aren't owned by the St Kilda FC?

With all the back and forth. Arguments and counter arguments.

I think we can all agree on this one.

We all need some basic agreed facts to work from