The state of the Giants and Suns

The money wasted on the Gold Coast could have been used to build accommodation for 2000 homeless people.What a waste of money.

Ok, so only people who have lived there can make a comment?
As to what the Gold Coast is like as a city, a population and a place to live, yes. Otherwise your opinion is about as useful and informed as that of a camel herder from a remote Egyptian village.

How many clubs from all sports have tried and failed on the Gold Coast?
How many clubs from all sports have been successful on-field on the Gold Coast? Every club gets bigger attendances when they're doing well and poorer attendances when they're struggling on the field, including your own mob. I don't need to read your article, I know that the Gold Coast has never had a winner to back in the first place, except in motor racing, and the Gold Coast 600 is very well supported.

As to what the Gold Coast is like as a city, a population and a place to live, yes. Otherwise your opinion is about as useful and informed as that of a camel herder from a remote Egyptian village.

How many clubs from all sports have been successful on-field on the Gold Coast? Every club gets bigger attendances when they're doing well and poorer attendances when they're struggling on the field, including your own mob. I don't need to read your article, I know that the Gold Coast has never had a winner to back in the first place, except in motor racing, and the Gold Coast 600 is very well supported.
It is well known from history that Gold Coast is a graveyard for sporting teams. Every major sport in Australia has tried and failed, now the AFL have failed and given away millions. Any talk of forcing draftees to stay longer backs my point.

It is well known from history that Gold Coast is a graveyard for sporting teams. Every major sport in Australia has tried and failed, blah blah blah
So you've chosen to disregard anything that doesn't fit your preconceived notions, and keep repeating the same banal talking points based on sheer ignorance. Good to know.

Why do you think it is a good idea to have a team there? They were created out of nothing to inflate tv rights money, that's the only reason. Who cares if a million people live there, it doesn't mean you will have a successful club.It's an insult to Fitzroy and Tasmania imo.

As seen through the Melbourne bubble.

Tell me a good reason why the Gold Coast should exist besides providing more corporate advertising to sit through every week. No soul, everyone wants to leave, draftees are trying to blow up their interviews so they don't have go there, no one goes to games, no members ect.

Why do you think it is a good idea to have a team there?
It grows the game in Queensland, inspires kids to take up the game and provides another pathway for bringing top young athletes away from the rugby codes. I'm not content with the AFL being at its current state and growing no larger. I want it to be the dominant game in all states of Australia and knock rugby league from its comfortable position in Queensland. A second team is a big boost towards that outcome when they're firing. The results haven't come so far, but it's short-sighted to just assume they never will.

They were created out of nothing to inflate tv rights money, that's the only reason.
If that were the only reason, Tasmania would have a team right now. It isn't the only reason. Queensland is a massive growth market for the game. You can dislike it as much as you want but the VFL ended almost 30 years ago, the world doesn't stop at the state borders anymore.

Who cares if a million people live there, it doesn't mean you will have a successful club.It's an insult to Fitzroy and Tasmania imo.
You're just virtue signalling at this point, you don't give a fig for either Fitzroy or Tasmania but are using them as a stick to beat the Gold Coast with. Tasmania has passion for the game, but simply doesn't have the financial potential that a successful Gold Coast team would. Fitzroy went bust for a reason, they certainly didn't have that financial potential either.

Nothing guarantees a successful club, regardless of location. I can tell you that plenty of people do care about the AFL on the Gold Coast, otherwise they wouldn't get home attendances over 10 000 while the team is garbage on the field.

It grows the game in Queensland, inspires kids to take up the game and provides another pathway for bringing top young athletes away from the rugby codes. I'm not content with the AFL being at its current state and growing no larger. I want it to be the dominant game in all states of Australia and knock rugby league from its comfortable position in Queensland. A second team is a big boost towards that outcome when they're firing. The results haven't come so far, but it's short-sighted to just assume they never will.

If that were the only reason, Tasmania would have a team right now. It isn't the only reason. Queensland is a massive growth market for the game. You can dislike it as much as you want but the VFL ended almost 30 years ago, the world doesn't stop at the state borders anymore.

You're just virtue signalling at this point, you don't give a fig for either Fitzroy or Tasmania but are using them as a stick to beat the Gold Coast with. Tasmania has passion for the game, but simply doesn't have the financial potential that a successful Gold Coast team would. Fitzroy went bust for a reason, they certainly didn't have that financial potential either.

Nothing guarantees a successful club, regardless of location. I can tell you that plenty of people do care about the AFL on the Gold Coast, otherwise they wouldn't get home attendances over 10 000 while the team is garbage on the field.
I'm not convinced, they've had enough time and it's a failure imo. I don't see the financial potential at all plus there's already a club in Queensland. It will be another VFL park imo.

Tell me a good reason why the Gold Coast should exist besides providing more corporate advertising to sit through every week.
Because they have 12 000 members.

everyone wants to leave
Then why did Rankine re-sign?

draftees are trying to blow up their interviews so they don't have go there
Then why have several draftees reported how much they like the place? Why did Jez McLennan declare he wanted to be drafted by the Suns?

no one goes to games
Repeat after me, 12 000 is more than zero.

no members ect.

Then why have several draftees reported how much they like the place? Why did Jez McLennan declare he wanted to be drafted by the Suns?

12,000 members after nearly ten years is pretty pathetic, especially when you consider they are not passionate about it. The only way I can see it working is if a Melbourne club merges with them like Brisbane and Sydney did.

Tell me a good reason why the Gold Coast should exist besides providing more corporate advertising to sit through every week. No soul, everyone wants to leave, draftees are trying to blow up their interviews so they don't have go there, no one goes to games, no members ect.

Junior growth.

Was always a generational build.

Well that's super. Unfortunately the AFL, corporate sponsors, Channel 7 and Foxtel all disagree with you. And they have a lot more interest in accurately gauging the financial potential.
Corporate, corporate, corporate . What's the point? The corporates are the enemies my friend, all they want to do is put brainwashing logos on everthing and don't pretend you're not influenced by saturation corporate advertising .You can't look at anything AFL related without copping a brainwashing. The corporates wanted digital adds on fences and logos on footballs and goalposts ect, that has really detracted from the game.The AFL jumpers are a walking billboard, thanks corporates. Their faux meaningless charity efforts upset me the most, they use it to advertise more then write it off as a tax deduction.The corporates are the bastards hijacking the game and forcing souless teams like the GC on us.Who benefits? A small number of people only.

I think we had 15 players re-sign this year. That’s unheard of for a team at bottom winning 3 games by only a combined amount of 10 points. We effectively lost every game.

But we had that many players re-sign.
Our crowds and membership have held up pretty well.
We have some of the best training facilities. We have the best climate. And we have no shortage of what 18-35 year old men want. Women.

Oh and we have the support of headquarters so you may as well save your breath and words because (and i will say this slowly).

We
Are
Not
Going
Anywhere

Well that's super. Unfortunately the AFL, corporate sponsors, Channel 7 and Foxtel all disagree with you. And they have a lot more interest in accurately gauging the financial potential.
They aren’t paying big money for the Suns games, they are lowest rating games. Channel 7, Foxtel and the corporate sponsors pay for they ratings. There is a reason the Suns make the least in sponsorship money.

Corporate, corporate, corporate . What's the point? The corporates are the enemies my friend
If you hate the corporates so much, go watch park footy, where there are no corporates involved. The game has reached its current popularity and skill level in large part due to the money that has come from TV rights and sponsorship, and we'd be poorer for it without the corporations.

Really, if you hate corporations so much, perhaps you ought to join Socialist Alliance or a similar party opposed to the capitalist system.

They aren’t paying big money for the Suns games, they are lowest rating games. Channel 7, Foxtel and the corporate sponsors pay for they ratings. There is a reason the Suns make the least in sponsorship money.
The Suns are actually doing pretty well financially. By looking at the below, the Suns are making more of a profit than six other clubs in the AFL.

Full Profit/Loss
  • Western Bulldogs – $18,094,333 (includes $16,085,000 in land contributions)
  • West Coast – $10,894,794 (includes 3.3m in development funding)
  • St Kilda – $10,124,972 (includes $13,149,766 in funds for Moorabin Redevelopment)
  • Melbourne – $6,906,468 (includes $7,029,311 sale of Leighoak club)
  • Hawthorn – $5,060,573
  • Richmond – $4,210,003
  • Geelong – $3,976,073 (includes $5,026,345 in asset transfers from Kardinia Park Trust)
  • Essendon – $3,571,871
  • Port Adelaide – $3,179,265 (includes a revaluation gain of $4,166,586 on its land and buildings.)
  • North Melbourne – $1,535,580
  • Adelaide – $1,506,002
  • Gold Coast – $1,160,912
  • Carlton – $713,689
  • Sydney – $520,509
  • Fremantle – $326,776
  • Collingwood – $112,052
  • Brisbane – ($230,641) *
  • GWS – ($1,985,681) *
* losses

reference: http://www.footyindustry.com/?page_id=4497

Nobody believes that number

The Suns are actually doing pretty well financially. By looking at the below, the Suns are making more of a profit than six other clubs in the AFL.

Full Profit/Loss
  • St Kilda – $10,124,972 (includes $13,149,766 in funds for Moorabin Redevelopment)
  • Hawthorn – $5,060,573
  • Richmond – $4,210,003
  • Geelong – $3,976,073 (includes $5,026,345 in asset transfers from Kardinia Park Trust)
  • Essendon – $3,571,871
  • Port Adelaide – $3,179,265 (includes a revaluation gain of $4,166,586 on its land and buildings.)
  • Adelaide – $1,506,002
  • Carlton – $713,689
  • Sydney – $520,509
  • Fremantle – $326,776
  • Collingwood – $112,052
  • GWS – ($1,985,681) *
* losses

Look who is at bottom

Cairns, Townsville, Mackay, Rockhampton are all involved in smaller town Leagues. There are 5 divisions in the QAFL with a relegation and promotion system. There are about 10 teams in each, but some of those are double-ups of NEAFL teams and higher division teams.

I would say the costs would be to high to run a state wide comp as the travel costs would be huge.

Would a fully/ partly funded AFL reserves help? I can’t help thinking that playing against teams with 10-15 AFL listed players weekly would be a positive. Let’s call a spade a spade it’s a feeder competition for the AFL seniors and leave it somewhat compromised by having rivalry matches once a month to reduce travel loads and expenses.

Here come my theories*. Suns receiving the PP is perfectly fine (surely only a Dees fan could find fault?) and I would go further giving them an U17 mini draft. The only stipulation on the mini draft is that the picks are to be traded for established players. Plucking one here and let’s say Adelaide s**t the bed fully trading Sloane and Seedsman for priority access to the best mid in the 20 draft? It’s a decent platform for both clubs with Adelaide likely getting 3 top 5 picks across the 19-20 drafts. I really like Essendon’s list profile and perhaps they have had enough of Daniher so they target the other. It’s not the solution, but Daniher, Sloane, Seedsman, Rowell and Anderson is a decent injection of hope because that’s what they really need.

In terms of the long term vision of the AFL GC need to get on track to have every team playing each other once. Expansion to 20 teams is inevitable and is likely by 2030 with Tassie odds on to get a provisional license. At that point the AFL will go to a 20 round format (19 clubs once and a “rivalry” round) that gives them 200 H&A matches (up from 198), justification for the wildcard round with 50% of teams in the finals and the extra byes or shortened season the players want. GC getting it right in the interim is pivotal.

*only theories and I’m not wedded to any of it except the PP.

Full Profit/Loss
  • Hawthorn – $5,060,573
  • Richmond – $4,210,003
  • Essendon – $3,571,871
  • Adelaide – $1,506,002
  • Carlton – $713,689
  • Sydney – $520,509
  • Fremantle – $326,776
  • Collingwood – $112,052
  • GWS – ($1,985,681) *
* losses

Mate that’s like saying a guy that earns $1million dollars a year, spends $999000 has had $1000 profit. A guy earns $50000 spends $40000 has had a $10000 dollar profit. The guy that made a $10000 profit isn’t in the better financial position.

This is the revenue each club generated themselves before AFL handouts last year.

Collingwood $67million
Hawthorn $60million
West Coast $53million
Essendon $52million
Richmond $51million
Geelong $46million
Carlton $45million
Port Adelaide $44million
Adelaide $42million
Fremantle $38million
Sydney $37million
Melbourne $36million
Western Bulldogs $35million
Brisbane $32million
St Kilda $27million
North Melbourne $24million
GWS $16million
Gold Coast $15million

The Suns generate the least amount of money in the league through sponsorships memberships ect....

AFL handouts which the Suns receive 2nd most behind GWS

D17B834F-4805-4B4F-A603-BC665989323C.jpeg

Revenue with AFL handouts, Suns still the least.
D163B89E-A134-4408-9473-2D4B45BEA247.jpeg

Suns make a $1.1 million profit after the AFL gives them $24 million. Which is fine, the AFL are investing in growing the game.

Another day, another Victorian fool who thinks he knows everything when he really knows nothing. If you haven't lived or spent significant time on the Gold Coast within the past five years, you're completely unqualified to speak on the subject.
So no one else is allowed to comment unless they live in Queensland like you which automatically makes them experts on the matter certainly not biased are you ?? I also lived on the Gold Coast and North Queensland for 7 years what I find most worrisome for the suns is the large amount of people like you that actually believe more draft picks are the answer 😂 there are a lot of things the afl could do that would actually help a significantly larger salary cap pay to have there reserves play in the vfl instead of neafl more development coaches these are things that would drastically help them long term but people like you think a draft pick will magically turn them around I question your knowledge of the game with some of the comments you make !