Toast The Steves

Pure speculation Moo*. The scenario that played out could very well have occurred under any CEO/President combination.

* No swear filter.

So does the possibility that under any other CEO/President combination in a parallel universe we could have had - Choco, Neeld, Sumich, Buckley, Harvey, Scott, Ratten, Connolly, Bell, Carey, Hall, Gillard, Mems, Monkey Butler, ad infinitum. The reality is that we have Lyon because of the Steves - as an absolute truth. No speculation required - we have Lyon, Steves and Bond organised it.

Quite philosophical I detect logic and epistemology in your argument.

Rege is suggesting Ross may have come over with a different staff working at Freo and this may have occurred but highly unlikely. With different staff you have different ideologies which create different scenarios which inturn provides different outcomes.

Pure speculation Moo*. The scenario that played out could very well have occurred under any CEO/President combination.

What was that about pure speculation? Looks like you are the one drawing the long bow here.

I saw nothing from any of our previous CEO/President combinations that suggest they would have had the balls to go after Lyon and/or the professionalism to pull it off.

Our original admin were described as 'tired old men' who were out of their league in that thesis on our formation. They were also largely responsible for running the club millions of dollars in debt so I wouldn't trust them to run a WAFL club, let alone expect them to be capable of a coup like Lyon.

Schwab oversaw his best mate appointed as coach and then the appointment of Harvey as his successor without even opening the position up for interviews. Not exactly a good track record as far as appointing coaches goes. Meanwhile the President of the time gave our season a 'big tick' after we missed the finals - does he sound like a man ruthless enough to chase Lyon after the circumstances of 2011? More likely he would have given a pass mark as a result of extenuating circumstances and we would have missed our shot at Lyon.

I'm a big fan of the Steves* and I reckon we're in the best hands the club has ever been in by a long, long way. Not only that but it appears to me we are run as professionally as any club in the AFL these days.

*I'm also a big fan of the rebrand so no misgivings from me on that front either

I've been informed by the minister of home affairs that I am going to my nieces 21st. That was followed by, "but the footy is on"... I'll spare you the rest of the conversation.

End result:
DanIAm 0
Wife 1

Sorry AFL08, can't make it.
(I might be physically at the 21st, but the earbuds will be plugged into a radio)

Fold your arms and pout your lips and do not talk for the rest of the week. It works at my house.

I've been informed by the minister of home affairs that I am going to my nieces 21st. That was followed by, "but the footy is on"... I'll spare you the rest of the conversation.

End result:
DanIAm 0
Wife 1

(I might be physically at the 21st, but the earbuds will be plugged into a radio)

That is terrible form. I think the minister for home affairs ought to realise that football comes first, especially with Fremantle in a final.

Ah well, I feel your pain on this one

End result:
DanIAm 0
Wife 1

I stopped losing when i decided there wasn't going to be a discussion about it. :)

Freo84 - Couch (but i got to watch the game)

Wife - 0

The Steves have shown the cut-throat, no-shit approach that we never had. Every other club played by these rules but ours. It's refreshing and pretty exciting to see. I love the new jumper, love ol' Ross, and love our direction. They even tried to rejazz the song. They've really helped the club.

"And when the cup goes up hear the roaring, Freooo..O. Freoo" Now, that was a song folks.

End result:
DanIAm 0
Wife 1

Should've traded off your Christmas presents, you've probably got enough socks anyway.

End result:
DanIAm 0
Wife 1

The minister of home affairs tried to get me to go out to a birthday dinner on Saturday. I won that war due to a nice technicality - I advised her as soon as possible that I was not available for anything and therefore stood my ground and didnt go.

I also did the same thing on Saturday night - when the siren sounded and I officially started drinking the half bottle of tequila (thats a whole other story) I advised her that I would not be available on Friday night.

This has also worked as she has now organised a night out with the girls.

Valkorum - 2
Minister of home affairs - 2 (she got to go out for dinner and now a girls night)

The minister of home affairs tried to get me to go out to a birthday dinner on Saturday. I won that war due to a nice technicality - I advised her as soon as possible that I was not available for anything and therefore stood my ground and didnt go.

I also did the same thing on Saturday night - when the siren sounded and I officially started drinking the half bottle of tequila (thats a whole other story) I advised her that I would not be available on Friday night.

This has also worked as she has now organised a night out with the girls.

Valkorum - 2
Minister of home affairs - 2 (she got to go out for dinner and now a girls night)

Keep fighting the good fight. When we stand together no one is stronger :)

I've always wondered (mainly over the past day), if a wife is the "minister for home affairs" then what would a girlfriend qualify as?

Does she qualify as a minister or something else?

Could she be the "Junior Minister for Home Affairs" (i.e. not qualified enough to be the minister)

I've always wondered (mainly over the past day), if a wife is the "minister for home affairs" then what would a girlfriend qualify as?

Does she qualify as a minister or something else?

Could she be the "Junior Minister for Home Affairs" (i.e. not qualified enough to be the minister)

My partner isnt my wife, she is my girlfriend and she is still qualifies as the minister for home affairs.

Ah, my bad. I just assumed it referred to a wife.

How does she still qualify?

Ah, my bad. I just assumed it referred to a wife.

How does she still qualify?

I think a few reasons:
1) We have been together 5 years
2) We have bought a house together
3) She is pregnant

Hmmmm, definitely meets the criteria

I'm stuck on qualifying mine as a minister

1) Been with her 6 months
2) Definitely don't live together at present
3) Don't intend to knock her up for a while

I'm tempted to call mine the Minister for the Tolerant (i.e. crazy enough to date me).

Perhaps mine can be "Probationary Minister for Home Affairs"

New
Hmmmm, definitely meets the criteria

I'm stuck on qualifying mine as a minister

1) Been with her 6 months
2) Definitely don't live together at present
3) Don't intend to knock her up for a while

I'm tempted to call mine the Minister for the Tolerant (i.e. crazy enough to date me).

Perhaps mine can be "Probationary Minister for Home Affairs"​

Your Missus would be the Shadow Minister of Home affairs due to her not having full powers of office..................yet ;)

Well my Shadow Minister of Home Affairs knows not to come between me and Fremantle and in fact (until work intervened) she wanted to come to the match last Saturday night to make sure I didn't create a scene. She knows that this Friday night I'll be watching the game at the pub and she's not going to say no to that. In other words, she knows how things roll.

End result:
DanIAm 0
Wife 1

What is wrong with people? That would not happen at our house, my wife is as fanatical, if not moreso than me about footy !

Safe to assume you know nothing about business and I'd be surprised if you had a job? Just trolling for trolls sake. Ignoring you from now.

You're safe to assume whatever you want. I'm fine with you ignoring me, you haven't contributed anything of any value that I've noticed anyway.

prpl_jss, I would like to publicly apologise for my comment above. It was petulant, spiteful and unnecessary. All contributions from true Fremantle supporters are valued on this board.

I'm still fine with you ignoring me though, I'm sure you wouldn't be the only one.

Women should be told to get back in the kitchen and make me a sammich, when it comes to matters of life and death like footy!!

Oh hai Caterina and IP!:)