List Mgmt. The sweet and sour of the AFL Drafts: West Coast Eagles

Masten & Sheppard - Sweet or Sour?

The way list turnovers occur that's generally accurate for most teams.
I'm not so sure. There seems a pattern, either we kill a draft, or 06, 10, 14, or end up with near complete write off's, 03, 09, 12. Heck maybe you are right, but I still think that the eveness of our drafting and development is still behind the very best teams.

Simpsons philosophy seems to be helping with the latter, and we can only hope 14 will be the norm

I'm not so sure. There seems a pattern, either we kill a draft, or 06, 10, 14, or end up with near complete write off's, 03, 09, 12. Heck maybe you are right, but I still think that the eveness of our drafting and development is still behind the very best teams.

Agree on the inconsistency - not a good sign.

The question is why are we inconsistent? Are there particular types of drafts that our recruitment department struggle with?

We did not do well in 2007 and 2009 when they were considered thin drafts and 2015 has all the hallmarks of these 07 and 09. I suspect the draft will not be quite as poor as we are being told. If Ebert was still with the Eagles and playing like he is at Port, would we think 2007 was a bad draft with Masten, Ebert and Selwood?

BTW - I would rate 2006 as a strong year for our recruiters as it delivered MacKenzie, Schofield and Brown with picks only 2 good picks at 16 and 29 (yes am aware Schofield was 50).

I reckon our 2010 draft is sweet. How can you go past Gaff, Darling, Lycett and McGovern all in the same draft. I guess give it a little bit more time but when 3 are currently in the 22, 2 of them potential AA, its pretty sweet :)

All AA-Potential players. Incredible draft.

2014 Draft was a ripper too - Duggan, Lamb, Nelson, Cavka. First three all played senior footy in their first year. Not easy to do. Obviously very very talented. Cavka to come too!

List Mgmt. The sweet and sour of the AFL Drafts: West Coast Eagles