KC Chiefs, Royal Park FNC, Man City
The Rover - football's unsung hero

Concept originally discussed on the excellent Unofficial AFL Ranting Board:
www.elevenoclock.com/forums/aflranting/

and
www.roarpower.com

I have argued for about 12 months that Clinton King's value to Richmond's midfield goes well beyond his actual ability as a footballer.

In fact I have been on this 'rover' bandwagon (I dreaded using that word actually!) since 1995 when Richmond had a genuine rover (former back-pocket Chris Bond) for one full season and made the finals, only to fall out of the finals the following year after sending Bond to Fremantle.

Looking at the ideal scenario, centre square set-up for any team, you have a ruckman, ruckrover (or tagger), centre and rover. Each should play a different role, working together as follows:

The ruckman taps the ball forward to the rover (who is facing towards the oppositions goal). The rover then handpasses (NOT kicks) quickly to either the centre, or one of the two wingmen who is running pass to receive.

This results in an unpressured kick by the centre/wingman into the forward line. Meanwhile, the ruck rover prances around the field and picks up possessions here and there, or tags an opposition midfielder.

The key part of this equation is the rover - a player who needs the following qualities: the ability to read the tap of the ruck, quick hands, and a willingness to take heavy knocks in heavy traffic. Ratten is a prime example.

The rover does not need to be a good kick at all (he handpasses usually), or a strong mark, so he is rarely looked at as the team's star. But I reckon that a quality rover, working with a quality ruckman makes a midfield, and is worth his weight in gold. The reality is beautiful kicking wingmen are much easier to find than good rovers.

Using Richmond as a classic example, Richmond has only had one genuine rover since Dale Weightman (Bond in 1995), and has made the finals only once.

In 2000 Clinton King joined Richmond, playing as a genuine rover. Suddenly Joel Bowden is getting quick handballs out of traffic, and passing to Richmond forwards with no pressure. Bowden looks like a star - the Tigers win 6 in a row!

Then Clinton King (along with tagger, and '2nd' rover D. Kellaway) goes down with a serious leg injury. Bowden suddenly[/b] loses form and the Tigers disappear from the finals race.

Coincidence??? I think not.

Likewise, I reckon that Ratten makes Camporeale look good. If Camporeale gets 30 possessions, you can bet that as many as half of them are handball receives from Ratten.

Some ruck rovers are so good that they end up playing a rover role and a ruck rover role: Voss and Kelly being the obvious examples. But a team that doesn't have a player who can cop that first possession and knock, and dish out a handball to a pretty boy wingman, is not going to seriously challenge for a premiership.

So next time someone rabbits on about how good Camporeale, or Bowden, or Harford, or Hird, or Woewodin, or a host of other pretty boy ruck rovers and wingmen are - think about who did the hard work to make them look good.

And one warning to non-Tiger fans - if Clinton King and Duncan Kellaway play 22 games for Richmond in 2001, the Tigers WILL make the finals.

*I should declare that I never played as a rover - I was a full back or back pocket. I have no bias on this topic with regard to positions on the field.

------------------
TT - Obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

I think I've had this discussion before
smile.gif

Interested to know who you think played that role for Essendon last year.

After 12 rounds last year Richmond were 8 - 4.

In Round 13 against Adelaide, Clinton King broke his leg.

In Round 15, Duncan Kellaway did his knee.

Richmond went 3-7 for the rest of the season. Clinton King was the critical loss in this regard.

I do not doubt the importance of a hard ball getter.

I do have problems with the traditional names of rover, ruck/rover, etc. I think there is no longer a designated player for each of these positions.

I also have issues with the way the teams are announced. These however are separate issues that I may tackle later.

------------------
TigerFury.net - Independant Richmond Tigers website

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club:

Joe Misiti + a Johnson

BTW: You aren't trying to make your 'Mark' here, are you DCFC?

------------------
TT - Obligatory bad-tempered Richmond supporter

Good post TT.

I have always thought that Ratten is more valuable to Carlton than Campo. For a balanced midfield every team needs both type of players but the in and under types seem to be harder to get (no pun intended). Campo led the league in handball receives last year by quite a margin and I wish I knew how many came from Ratten.

I've said before in the Hawthorn room that it is what we lack. A consistent player to get the damn thing in the middle.

------------------
The early bird gets the worm. But the second mouse gets the cheese.

If the next Johnny Platten would kindly identify himself, Port would snap him up in a flash, just like every other club in the AFL.
Trouble is nowadays, if a kid is less than 180cm, the various recruiting staff Australia wide tend to ignore him.
A case in point is young Chris Hall from South Adelaide, a genuine rover, made All-Australian U18 last year, was ignored in the drafts, luckily, he was taken in the rookie draft by Port, who will hang onto him if they are smart.

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

Good points by everyone - I particularly liked the one made by Asgardian which is a reflection on the obsession with athletes over real footy players (to an extent). I'm happy North picked up 2 players who are roving types (but aren't necessarily limited to a roving commission) in Harris and Smith.

Having a good midfield set up is most important.
Last year, even though the Bombers didn't win a lot of the centre ruck duels, our midfield managed to rove off the ruck contests and usually got first use of the ball, Misiti is excellent at doing that.

TT, I think you might be on the money here, i reckon as do most that what Hawthorn has been lacking, hopefully Tim Clark or Brett Johnston could develop into that sort of role, have you seen them and whatdya think if you have. Cheers

Originally posted by CJH:
I do have problems with the traditional names of rover, ruck/rover, etc. I think there is no longer a designated player for each of these positions.

I also have issues with the way the teams are announced. These however are separate issues that I may tackle later.

I know Wallsy bemoans the loss of positional play in modern football...and I'm with him.

I think these days we have: a ruckman; one, or perhaps two key forwards and maybe a crumbing forward; backmen to match the opposition's forward set-up; one or two spare backmen; and everyone else on the ball.

No wonder most games are such a mess to look at.

------------------
Olmy knows best

Agree with many of the things that T/T wrote about. The other thing about a good rover is that they play within their ability. That is what made Peter Bell such a good player for North, and what will make him a very good player for Fremantle. He got into the packs, got the ball, and then sent it out to another player to set up the play (usually a long bomb into the general vicinity of the bloke with the 18 on his jumper
wink.gif
). To be able to select the right option, the rover needs to have a good football brain, have some idea of which players are in the clear...no good passing the ball out if the recipient is under pressure.

In the past, Pagan has said that his preference for the team was to have two in and under style players in the team....so in the 90s, we've had Rock/Stevens, then Rock/Stevens/Bell, then Stevens/Bell. With Stevens accident last year, the North midfield lost some consistency. We've now got Stevens, but have lost Bell, and so, young Harris could turn out to be one of the more important recruits that we pick up for this season.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club:
I think I've had this discussion before
smile.gif

Good post TT,
Joe Misiti and Jason Johnson played that role for us last year.
In previous years we had Joe Misiti combining with Seany Denham, a very underrated footballer, playing that tagging/roving role. A lot of people undervalued his worth to our midfield, often dismissing him as a talentless scragging/tagger.
Not dis-similar to Chris Bond TT?

Denham's first half performance in the 93 Grand Final(pre busted nose) was pivotal in setting up our win. Seany fired out numerous handballs to Longy, setting up 3 or 4 goals early which went a long way to setting the tone for the match. He had his critics, but Sean Denham was a great little player for Essendon.

where's wally?

The value of the rover in midfield set-up