The Vent Thread

one big problem is the acceptance of mediocrity

some posters on here pump up the tyres of some of our players, who would struggle to get games in mediocre clubs let alone a hawthorn or cats team....

let me spell it out the reality. This is the culmination of years of bad choices. We will be down for some time, and lets just hope some more talented youngsters dont jump ship.

They feel that our club cant get the best out of them, and could you blame them atm?? we suck financially, are irrelevent to the afl, we draft poorly, our body shapes are wrong

yes, this is reality. It sux. get used to it, we will have it for many years whilst the gc and gws rapidly overtake us. thats the truth. But i will continue to support, but some others will lose patience. Thats what you get for playing poorly in an afl backwater.

I understand a level of confusion because they are learning a plan, I understand a level of panic because of that confusion.
What drives me nuts is the stupid, stupid stuff like players of Rockliff's standing and skill, with his nearest opponent 1.5m away, handballing to Jed whose opponent is 1 foot away. What kills me is a player of Jed's age and experience getting tackled and with both hands free tries to wriggle free instead of disposing of the ball. What really pisses me off is Mitch Golby thinking he is playing rugby league and take on the tackler and try to ride the tackle out.
You cannot, having had an opportunity to do so get caught holding the ball.
However confused they are, no matter what pressure they are under, players of their level have no excuse for the shit dished up this week and last.

I will be there next week to cheer them on, and if they put in, I'll cheer them off as well, regardless of result. But by ****ing christ, if they play like that again, I won't be patting them on the back saying "nice try fellas".

My vent won't be a popular one but I don't care, my vent is in regards to the people ALREADY giving up on this club. A couple of bad losses and it's sack this, sack that. Bad losses make the wins all that sweeter. Give the players some time to adjust before we all start calling for heads.

I know the vent thread is to be used for people to not be judged but some of the comments in here and elsewhere have been laughable.
I agree with you. I am a Lions supporter and the only way I move out is if I am convinced we are tanking. All I ask is that the club do not give me an inkling that they are doing that. I am not wasting my heard earned on what I think is a bullshit way to rebuild a team. I have more respect for the Fevola trade than playing to lose.

Only started properly following the Lions in 2005. I started half supporting them as a young kid somewhere in the glory days for some reason that I can't remember. It has quite literally been a decade of pain apart from 2009. :(

I agree with you. I am a Lions supporter and the only way I move out is if I am convinced we are tanking. All I ask is that the club do not give me an inkling that they are doing that. I am not wasting my heard earned on what I think is a bullshit way to rebuild a team. I have more respect for the Fevola trade than playing to lose.

I agree with that John, I just think some supporters aren't giving them a chance, FWIW I don't think Leppa would be the kind of person or coach to want his team to tank. I just think he wants them to win just as much as we all do, but like he's said, the way he wants the boys playing isn't to get a win in round 3 or 4 but to build for finals in the next 2-3 years. I can't see tanking as apart of that plan.

Not for me little brother. I want to win and am not interested in the draft.

Again, not mutually exclusive. If the general insinuation is that anyone already taking interest in the draft is (implicitly or explicity) hoping we don't win each week, then I must protest.

Wasn't accusing you of that! I know you far better than that but I make the point because of my deep seated distaste for the "play da kidz" mantra.

Yeah, I still don't think it was a mantra this week though, and was necessity. If Raines or Polkinghorne had looked even close to up to it at NEAFL level I reckon they would have played. Our injury list is an abomination now.

I agree with that John, I just think some supporters aren't giving them a chance, FWIW I don't think Leppa would be the kind of person or coach to want his team to tank. I just think he wants them to win just as much as we all do, but like he's said, the way he wants the boys playing isn't to get a win in round 3 or 4 but to build for finals in the next 2-3 years. I can't see tanking as apart of that plan.
Hope your right Morgs. Just hope Leppa and the selection committee made a rookie error this game. I do not think that the playing of Raines et al would have made much difference but at least it would have shown that there was an attempt to be competitive. I was genuine not surprised at today.

Yep, as soon as I saw the side we had selected it was clear to me that we were going to lose and lose heavily.
I tipped Port Adelaide without the slightest hesitation, because the team we selected looked like the sort of side you select in Rd.18 when it is clear that you are going to finish bottom four, not in Rd.4 of a season when you are trying to get your first win of the season.

In other news, FITZROY drew today after leading by 15 points at 3/4 time. I was there with RupertKZ is Football and QuinlanKZ is Football and it was an exciting game, although the 'Roy's did choke a little. Getting text updates from a mate who drove to Adelaide for the Lions game, I felt sorry for him, but as I texted, I wouldn't cross the street to watch the Lions on what we have seen in the last two weeks. Thank goodness for FITZROY!

I think you might be on something. I still think a big part is Leppa not playing spuds like Polks and Raines... I really hope we rank now (west coast style not demons style)

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

I'm also thinking similar to TBD, if not the kids who do they play? Injuries have forced Leppas hand but for some reason people will shoot him down for it. I'm sure if Stakes, McGuane, McGrath et al were fit and healthy they'd be playing, they aren't so he is going to give the guys who deserve a game a go.

John, I have to admit the thought of the club tanking never entered my mind until I've seen it mentioned on this board in the past couple of days. I don't think it is a tactic we will use this season. Leppa is now being forced into selecting kids (injuries) but I can't see the point of continuing to pump games into the likes of Polkinghorne, as a glaring example, just because he's older and has played nearly 100 games. He's still shite, no? I don't think the culture Leppa was brought up in by Matthews will allow the thought of tanking to enter his thinking, so I agree with Morgs.

I expected to lose today...admittedly not so comprehensively. It is what it is.

John, I have to admit the thought of the club tanking never entered my mind until I've seen it mentioned on this board in the past couple of days. I don't think it is a tactic we will use this season. Leppa is now being forced into selecting kids (injuries) but I can't see the point of continuing to pump games into the likes of Polkinghorne, as a glaring example, just because he's older and has played nearly 100 games. He's still shite, no? I don't think the culture Leppa was brought up in by Matthews will allow the thought of tanking to enter his thinking, so I agree with Morgs.

I expected to lose today...admittedly not so comprehensively. It is what it is.
Will address your good post later alscotoz2. I need to pump myself up to get serious about this place and write something a bit more cerebral than the inane crap I tend to write due to what I consider the inane crap that I constantly read on here.

We're not losing in order to get better draft picks , Leppa is just focusing on gameplan and stuff like that regardless of the score. We're not trying to lose but we're also not trying to win.

Leppa's average result

Us: 66, them 126

Will address your good post later alscotoz2. I need to pump myself up to get serious about this place and write something a bit more cerebral than the inane crap I tend to write due to what I consider the inane crap that I constantly read on here.

If you hate it so much, shut down your account. I personally love the scope of opinion and posts on here, even when I don't agree. I come here for opinion before any other source. Not sure why you feel the need to condescend the masses as if blessed with some higher knowledge all the time.

Not sure why you feel the need to condescend the masses as if blessed with some higher knowledge all the time.

John is actually one of the most measured posters going around and has never portrayed himself as a higher authority on anything (although if I have a question about darts, I am going straight to him). I'm on a fundamentally different page to him in terms of team selection this week but this board is a much better place with him here.

If you hate it so much, shut down your account. I personally love the scope of opinion and posts on here, even when I don't agree. I come here for opinion before any other source. Not sure why you feel the need to condescend the masses as if blessed with some higher knowledge all the time.
Hate? I said inane so with that in mind I only need to condescend to you comrade.

John is actually one of the most measured posters going around and has never portrayed himself as a higher authority on anything (although if I have a question about darts, I am going straight to him). I'm on a fundamentally different page to him in terms of team selection this week but this board is a much better place with him here.

Yeah just don't agree that with inane crap comment, it was very high and mighty. I felt like it is designed to make some posters feel uncomfortable about posting. I think convo on here has been great lately.

As much as I think we need the number 1 pick, I don't want us to EVER tank to get it.

I think when you tank, your clubs gets an attitude of losing which can take years to remove.

Example 1: Melbourne
Example 2: Carlton

I am talking about a number1 draft pick because with our injuries and draw we will not finish any higher than 17th now.

Yeah just don't agree that with inane crap comment, it was very high and mighty. I felt like it is designed to make some posters feel uncomfortable about posting. I think convo on here has been great lately.

It's actually cool for John to have an opinion on posts just as you felt his post was "high and mighty".

Oh ok, sweet so sweeping generalisations about all posters being generally 'inane' is all good then?. There's been a rule change at the HQ, I didn't get the memo. because it was only a few months ago TBD and the lads were all over me for making general sweeping comments aimed at the whole board, I had to reasses and reeducate my posting style.

Mate I will say **** all as I have done for a couple of years now if you and others so wish. There are plenty of inane comments around here and I make heaps as well, I said that in the post that you quoted. If you must know IMO it is easy to trash specific players/coaches etc for performance but is not that easy to take a holistic approach to sport, life, the universe and every thing in-between and that was my point.

If you got the definitive answers to that go for it. I have a book to read and a beer to drink. :thumbsu: