The Vent Thread

Still not happy all of these sooks got what they wanted. What message does this send to our future draftees ?

Agreed. Was an opportunity for the club to make a stand, yet it bowed down to each and every one of them and accommodated their every wish whilst getting nothing in return.

Why not make the statement knowing you are getting nothing in return and send the message to any other sook that you won't be coming here to do your apprenticeship to just piss off a few years later.

Again the club drops the ball. Just staggering what has taken place and the club simply accepting it.

Agreed. Was an opportunity for the club to make a stand, yet it bowed down to each and every one of them and accommodated their every wish whilst getting nothing in return.

Why not make the statement knowing you are getting nothing in return and send the message to any other sook that you won't be coming here to do your apprenticeship to just piss off a few years later.

Again the club drops the ball. Just staggering what has taken place and the club simply accepting it.

Did we get nothing in return?

If we let them go for nothing I reckon you'd be back in 3 years saying that the club failed to make the team better by not getting any draft picks for the departing players. Just a hunch.

So we should **** ourselves over to make a stand against players who don't want to play here? Unreal.

Did we get nothing in return?

What was that exactly? A few spuds and rubbish picks in a weak draft.

If we let them go for nothing I reckon you'd be back in 3 years saying that the club failed to make the team better by not getting any draft picks for the departing players. Just a hunch.

Based on what exactly makes you say that?

So are you still maintaining that we didn't butcher the 09 draft period or threw away our picks in Polec, Longer and Docherty, which a lot were saying at each of those events. At least I'll admit when I get things wrong, unlike most here.

So we should **** ourselves over to make a stand against players who don't want to play here? Unreal.

And what would we really have given up otherwise? A few spuds that we brought in and a couple of upgraded picks in a weak draft vs making a stand and not gifting second and third year players taken with a high picks to their preferred choice in clubs after doing an apprenticeship and getting shit in return when clearly we could have sent a message loud and clear to future draftees that we aren't a feeder club, but go on, accept what will no doubt be the norm at the club when Paparone and Mayes inevitably piss off this time next year. Sure occasionally one or two will stick around, but the club has clearly set a precedent that it will accept bowing down and accommodating players to get to their preferred destination whilst at the same time every other AFL club knows what push overs come trade time, but go on, tell me how we screwed ourselves by bringing in a couple of spuds that aren't too dissimilar to a couple of other average players that we now bring in on an annual basis and obtaining a couple of pick upgrades? Unreal.:rolleyes:

Dylan,

You seem to advocating putting these players into the PSD, meaning we would end up with even later draft picks. With these players leaving it is going to leave an age gap in our list. I wouldn't have thought filling that age gap with extremely late picks in the draft would be a good way to go about building a premiership list. Yes we got shafted, yes we couldn't attract any big names but we've been force fed a shit sandwich and came out of it as was expected (for me anyway). That's what happens when you're operating daily with one hand behind your back. It helps if you can see the situation in its entirety and understand WHY we made the moves we did. You don't need to agree, but at least you'll understand.

All these people banging on about letting these players go to the PSD are mad.

There is **** all difference between Pick 25 and Pick 15. It is just some stupid draft position that rarely comes up trumps.

The only draft position I would trust in Pick 1 and even then we have had plenty of failures.

I am soooo going to kick the crap out of Carlton, St. Kilda, Port Adelaide when they are next down. I mean I mean absolutely going to rip into those clubs and their annoying fans because of this trade period.

You've turned me into a freaking Vulture Big Footy...thanks...

Wish we could make the finals in 2014 just to prove all the ****ers on the main board they are wrong. We lose Yeo and Black and wow, we are bottom four.

Please make the finals