Analysis The Weird Change In The Club's Social Media

Am I On To Something?

possibly trying to entice the youth to come in droves and be ready to replace the ageing relics that are known as members

It's interesting to note the disparity in the number of views of youtube videos on the Official Eagles youtube page versus the Official Dockers youtube page. It appears they have a younger more savvy supporter base.

As much as I hate to admit it, Freo are ahead of us in a number of areas. In terms of supporter engagement, they're streets ahead.

Agreed. Freo have really transformed themselves from top to bottom and consequently getting results.

It's true that they've captured the younger demographic. My work's got about 600 or so people in our office and it's sickening the amount of support Freo get. Easily outweighs Eagles support.

This is true. I reckon it might have something to do with the availability of tickets to Freo games compared to our games in the past. If parents were wanting to take their kids to the footy, or their young kids asked to go, there has really only ever been Freo tickets available. West Coast have been at capacity for a long time, so maybe young people, who were growing up in the late 90's or early 2000's just wanted to go to the footy, could only go the Freo games, hey presto you have an instant purple hack.

Add to that with the amount of foreign families that have moved to Perth in the last 10 or so years, and they would have had the same issue, only able to go to freo games. Where I live it seems like there are a shit load of English & South African families and all the ones I know go for Freo.

It's true that they've captured the younger demographic. My work's got about 600 or so people in our office and it's sickening the amount of support Freo get. Easily outweighs Eagles support.

That is truly sickening.

As the first and most successful AFL team in Western Australia, the Eagles should have the most supporters. I believe they still do, but the Dockers are catching up unbelievably quickly for a side that wears purple and has very little success. As others have alluded, it is in the younger demographics that are driving growth for the Dockers. I blame this squarely on the older generation of Eagles supporters who have obviously not put enough effort to transfer their loyalty to their younglings.

I think one needs to engage with people in an engaging manner ... throwing in lots of "cool" words can just come across as try hard and TBH I reckon most kids see through that even more quickly than their parents these days ...

Yep.

Finding an effective way to engage your supporter base isn't an easy thing to do. It shouldn't be about the language you use, more about what you're trying to say. While I think some of the tweets coming from the newbie are a strain on occasion, kudos to the club for letting them try something different to what was before.

Just needs to keep improving.

In other highs... club just tweeted "Cloak", instead of "Cloke".

Yep. This is a job I didn't get. Obviously not looking for someone who actually knows the game.

Unfortunately I feel like our club is one that embodies the jobs for the boys culture...

reading a lot of the articles on the site and the tweets feels like it's some 14yr old fan not the representative from a professional well funded sporting club. Although maybe I'm getting old and this is how you engage the kids

Unfortunately I feel like our club is one that embodies the jobs for the boys culture...

reading a lot of the articles on the site and the tweets feels like it's some 14yr old fan not the representative from a professional well funded sporting club. Although maybe I'm getting old and this is how you engage the kids

Official club tweets are representing the business and should be delivered accordingly, not sounding like banter between a couple of young dudes.

I don't disagree with the sentiment - but it's same reason there's 2103789128371273 comic book films at the cinema mate - that's where the $$$ is.

Analysis The Weird Change In The Club's Social Media