Mega Thread The Welcome Thread - If you're new (or old) to BigFooty introduce yourself here

Bucks2019

Rookie
May 27, 2019
1) How did you come to be a Pies fan?
2) How old were you when you went to/watched your first game?
3) Who's your favourite Collingwood player?
4) What is your favourite Collingwood

Hi all,

Q.1. My mother barracked for the pies, my father whom I didn't and still don't really like barracked for Richmond.

Q. 2. I can remember the 1977 Grand Finals, I was about 6.

Q.3 Growing up it was Daicos, now it's Pendles.

Q.4 I have 2 that really stand out. I was in hospital and watched the 1980 escort cup, but for the first time I watched VFL in colour TV, I was in awe. Although we lost, the greats on both of those sides is something I will never forget.

The second was the prelim 2010 against Geelong, I hate Geelong but being there watching Leigh Brown kick a mongrel 65 or 70 metre kick that somehow bounces through for a goal was amazing. Hearing the chant, just loved it. My wife who originally barracked for the Crows and now a pies supporter and member also says she hasn't experienced anything like that night at the footy.

I thought from that night we were going to win the big one. Going to the drawn grand final was very hollow. Thankfully they made up for it the following week although I didn't go.

Cheers.

Countrypie

Apr 10, 2012
Rowville
4) What is your favourite Collingwood

Hi all,

Q.1. My mother barracked for the pies, my father whom I didn't and still don't really like barracked for Richmond.

Q. 2. I can remember the 1977 Grand Finals, I was about 6.

Q.3 Growing up it was Daicos, now it's Pendles.

Q.4 I have 2 that really stand out. I was in hospital and watched the 1980 escort cup, but for the first time I watched VFL in colour TV, I was in awe. Although we lost, the greats on both of those sides is something I will never forget.

The second was the prelim 2010 against Geelong, I hate Geelong but being there watching Leigh Brown kick a mongrel 65 or 70 metre kick that somehow bounces through for a goal was amazing. Hearing the chant, just loved it. My wife who originally barracked for the Crows and now a pies supporter and member also says she hasn't experienced anything like that night at the footy.

I thought from that night we were going to win the big one. Going to the drawn grand final was very hollow. Thankfully they made up for it the following week although I didn't go.

Cheers.
Nice to meet someone else who hates Geelong

JordanDeGod

Draftee
Jul 26, 2019
Moved to Melbourne in 2016. My hair dresser based in Hawthorn talked me out of supporting Hawks and Barracking for Pies. Best decision of my life. The Hair cut wasn't bad either.

Jordan De Goey.

4) What is your favourite Collingwood moment
Beating the Tigers last year. What a glorious night!

Jul 31, 2019
It's a hazy memory I must admit, but I remember being young (5 or 6 at best) and it was the first time I'd watched an AFL game in full on TV. I can't remember much but it was Collingwood vs Richmond and the pies ended up winning. From that moment it's always been black & white for me.(Thank god Richmond didn't win!!!!!)

2) How old were you when you went to your first game?
I grew up in Tassie before moving to Melbourne for Uni. So despite being a die-hard pie from a young age it took until 2005, when i was 14, to see my first game. It was Round 9 of that season where we were 1-7, the eagles were 8-0 and the boys somehow won! Amazing memory and well worth the wait!!

3) Favourite Collingwood Player?
I honestly struggle to answer that, I'm a fan of too many - but Steele Sidebottom if I was forced to choose. What I can say is that nobody will ever come close to my love of Saverio Rocca as a youngster. I'll leave out the heartbreak of having to see him in a Roos Jumper though!!!

4) What is your favourite Collingwood moment?
Like any magpie tragic, how could you choose!! The previously mentioned win over the Eagles has to be right up there. But other moments (premiership aside) that come to mind include,
Round 8 2002, vs lions
Prelim Final 2002, vs Crows
Qualifying Final 2003 vs Lions, Didak's sealer from the first row
Semi Final 2007 vs Eagles in perth
And of course belting those Tigers in the Prelim last year!!

Anyway, not sure why it's taken so long to sign up, but I look forward to taking part in discussions of our shared passion! Go Pies!

scratchy09

Aug 25, 2019
1. I was born into it. Most of my whole family is Collingwood.

2. I was really young, I think I was 3 or 4.

3. My favourite Pies player of all time is Dane Swan. One of the best players I have seen play. I think currently though, it is Pendles or Grundy.

4.I won't just say the 2010 flag as it is kind of obvious. I think Swans performance on 2014 ANZAC day was really just sensational. Not his best one but he went forward and played very well.

Sinski

Draftee
Sep 6, 2019
Everton

1. Born into a Collingwood family.
2. Would have been about 9 years old and was at the game that BT kicked his 100th in 86. Watched us on TV a fair bit before that.
3. Favourite all time is Daics but of the current players it is Pendles.
4. 1990.

pugsville

Nov 28, 2001
leningrad
collingwood
4) What is your favourite Collingwood moment?\

1. Lived in the Housing commission on Hoddle st when I was 4-5 for a few shiort weeks came out a pies fan.

2. 1989 Victoria Park, Wet day. Peter Daicos Magic.

3. James Manson.

4. Too many.

MostGrossest

Rookie
Feb 28, 2019
Hi everyone!

Thought I should do this as I've neglected to.

Mal Michael. During one of his first years at the club he gave me $10 and let me talk to Bucks on the phone if I would commit to the pies and it was a done deal.

Went to my first game when I was about 5.

Bruzzie Maynard, absolute junkyard dawg and a future 300 game pie and club captain.

Knocking off the tigers in the PF last year is the best recent moment. My favourite 'moments' are seeing how much the team has evolved into the unit that is currently is, super supportive and fun club that even other supporters admire.

wordsmith

Rookie
Jan 22, 2007
hello all, have been on here before but it's been years so I thought i'd say HI again. Looking forward to reading up on all the crap I've missed out on!!

straight out of the womb

s**t was early though, maybe 6-7

Pendles

outside of winning the 2 flags i've seen in my time, beating the cats in the 2010 prelim! Still to this day i think that first half was the best footy i've seen us play!!

New stars

Rookie
Sep 21, 2017
Long time listener, first time caller?

A bit nervous about taking your first tentative steps into the maelstrom that is BigFooty?

That's all cool, we were all newbies once, we know what it's like.

Why not introduce yourself by letting us know a little about yourself.

Here's some questions to help you!:

Oh and last, but definitely not least, welcome to the Collingwood forum on BigFooty :thumbsu:

New stars

Rookie
Sep 21, 2017
My grandad was a east perth footballer and was offered to join the pies, his brother was captain east perth jack walsh, the walshes grew up with rag gabelich brian foley we always had great players around my grandad a magnificent bloke jim walsh tobruk vet, my grandad loved the pies and so do I and only want the best players to play for them

raymond35

Jan 5, 2004
Brisbane
collingwood vfl
1 i think i became a Collingwood supporter in response to my family being Richmond supporters.
2 the earliest game i can remember is a Collingwood Richmond match at Victoria park from the early 70s. Was about 6 years old.
3 named my son after Peter Daicos, but current favourite player would be Darcy Moore.
4 favorite Collingwood moment was when Craig Starcevich slotted his match sealing goal against Carlton in 1988.

MaggiePie05

Draftee
Jan 12, 2020
Hi everyone 👋🏻
Here are my answers
1) How did you come to be a Pies fan? I was born into a Collingwood family.
2) How old were you when you went to/watched your first game? About 10 years old
3) Who's your favourite Collingwood player? Tie between Jamie Elliott and Brodie Grundy.
4) What is your favourite Collingwood moment? Hmm there’s a few to mention. 2010 GF, Buckley winning his Brownlow and Pies beating Richmond in the 2018 prelim.

lvandinter

Jul 5, 2019
Storm, McLaren F1, Man Utd
Been here for a few months now, but I’ll introduce myself, My name is Lachlan, but you’ll know me by my username.

1) I‘ve been a Pies supporter since I was born, most of my family goes for the Pies.
2) First game I watched on TV that I can remember was the Anzac Day thumping in 2010. I was 9, when I went to my first game which was Collingwood vs Western Bulldogs, NAB challenge 2015, and I’ve been to around 20 games since then.
3) All the players are my favourites, but a standout has to be Scott Pendlebury.
4) My favourite Collingwood moment was the 2010 Grand Final, which I can remember considering I was only 5 years old, one of the best days of my life. I have another standout moment, which was running through the banner with the boys in Round 10, 2017. We were pretty lucky to win that, even better it was free! Got to meet Pendles, Coxy, Steele and Billy.

Can’t wait for Season 2020 and I’m hoping there’s another Premiership cup in the cabinet!

Durzo

Draftee
Feb 21, 2020
Hi All,

I've been following the board on and off for the last few years.

Born into it and glad I was

Not sure what my first game was but I know I was at the 1990 GF as a 2 YO

This has been Steele from the day he arrived at the club

Hearing the Collingwood chant in the stands after the Prelim against Geelong in 2010

Mar 1, 2020
Brisbane Lions
Hi all, apologies if this isn't the right forum to be posting this question, but what video content would you love to see your club put out? More post-game interviews with players/coaches? More get to know the players type videos? More funny/joke stuff/light-hearted stuff with the players? Any other ideas about content from the club that you'd love to watch?

Or if there's a better place to pose this question, please point me in the right direction. Cheers.

Hi all, apologies if this isn't the right forum to be posting this question, but what video content would you love to see your club put out? More post-game interviews with players/coaches? More get to know the players type videos? More funny/joke stuff/light-hearted stuff with the players? Any other ideas about content from the club that you'd love to watch?

Or if there's a better place to pose this question, please point me in the right direction. Cheers.
Think it would be replays of VFL games for me.

BadSneakers83

Draftee
Jul 5, 2020
G'day everyone. Longtime lurker, first-time poster. I was basically born with a Pies jumper on. My great grandfather, Reynolds Webb (His Christian name is my middle name) played for the Pies between 1921 & 1925. He was good enough to pull on the Big V alongside the Coventry brothers. My parents have his jumper and long service certificate framed in pride of place on one of their walls. Some of my earliest memories are of visiting him in the late 80s; he was a sweet, gentle man who was deaf as a post by then and couldn't care less about the footy.

I've been hooked on the Pies since I could walk. I was 7 in 1990 and remember how much the flag meant to my Dad and family. I then followed the Pies through the hard 90s, the heartbreak of 02-03, and then the glory of 2010. I was behind the WC goals when Sheed crushed all of our hopes and dreams in 2018, and in the GWS forward pocket when Mummy sold candy to Pendles in last year's prelim.

It's a particularly tough burden being a Pie, we don't seem to win at the Big Dance very often and our backs are perpetually against the wall. But we wouldn't have it any other way! The miserable GF win ratio means that flags are precious things to be savoured. It's a dark time right now, but there is a bright future. I take such heart in seeing names like Daicos, Brown, Kelly, and yes, Buckley still at the club. Buckley's transformation into a truly rounded leader of men has been my highlight of the past few years. I don't know what the future holds with our players, president and 2020 season. But, when the chips are down I'll be there with the rest of the faithful in the stands at the G, side by side.

Floreat Pica everyone.

mapguy

Birds doesn't real
Jul 7, 2020
Greetings from a hop, skip, and jump from the geographical center of North America.

1) Process of elimination. It was almost 5 years ago I stumbled across footy by accident. I wanted a team that played at the 'G and whose colors matched my furniture. There was only one choice. When Cox showed up it was a sign it was meant to be.
2) The first game I watched live I was 27. Round 1, 2016. It was at the SCG and Sydney won by 80. Life comes at ya fast.
3) Maynard
4) Since I haven't been lifelong, for me it was the 2018 Prelim. Most fun I've ever had watching sports.

Pat McAfee picking up the sport lately has been pretty cool, if it brings in more fans from this side of the world that's pretty great, but I don't know how many diehards will get up in the wee hours of the morning to watch everything live. I have always enjoyed that aspect of it myself.