The Wine thread

I made that mistake just the once, an aged bottle of Michael Shiraz...it was my birthday but yeah big mistake and a waste of a good bottle.
Yeah, I learnt from experience too on a near 40 degree Xmas day.

Sparkling Red ??
Dying art I'm afraid. Like Vintage Ports and fortifieds.

Not enough sales, not enough $$$, too much risk sitting around in a winery (old barrels, high sugar levels stored over a long period of time).

Once upon a time a lot of wineries would do this as a passion project funded by their other sales. Most have found it's not worth it or times are too tough to wear it now.

Dying art I'm afraid. Like Vintage Ports and fortifieds.

Not enough sales, not enough $$$, too much risk sitting around in a winery (old barrels, high sugar levels stored over a long period of time).

Once upon a time a lot of wineries would do this as a passion project funded by their other sales. Most have found it's not worth it or times are too tough to wear it now.
Yes and no, Primo Estate make a ripper albeit an expensive one.

I think it WAS a dying art but there's plenty of little wineries that do it. I believe it's Beresford's (owned by the bickfords group) highest seller. $20 a bottle and you can't go wrong

Going to the Barossa for the weekend, staying at Rowland Flat.

Anyone recommend decent wineries in the area and within walking distance. I see Rockfords is and St Hallett.

Somewhere with a decent food and wine pairing but only light on the food, not a heavy lunch meal.

Going to the Barossa for the weekend, staying at Rowland Flat.

Anyone recommend decent wineries in the area and within walking distance. I see Rockfords is and St Hallett.

Somewhere with a decent food and wine pairing but only light on the food, not a heavy lunch meal.
St Hugo is not too far. Wines are very nice

Comedian Ricky Gervais posts about Barossa Valley wine Chateau Tanunda as part of his backstage rider​

A bottle of South Australian red that retails for just $25 is among Ricky Gervais’s rider demands on his latest comedy tour. Find out which one.

A $25 bottle of South Australian red is among Ricky Gervais’s rider demands on his latest comedy tour.
The British funnyman shared his must-have items while backstage in the UK, and included on his list is a bottle of Chateau Tanunda shiraz.

Gervais posted a photo of the Barossa Valley wine, alongside a packet of nuts and a bowl of fruit, to his Instagram account and 4.2 million followers.

“I am a megastar. So I need things to be right. Just got to my dressing room at The Alban Arena for tonight’s #Mortali#Mortalitythey’ve lit the fruit all wrong. Unbelievable,” he captioned the photo.

The Grand Barossa Shiraz 2022, which retails for about $25 a bottle, is made using grapes from Chateau Tanunda’s vineyard sites across the Barossa.
Chateau Tanunda senior winemaker Jeremy Ottawa said it was “super exciting” to get the shout out from Gervais.

“Our Grand Barossa Shiraz is loved all over the world, but to now know it’s a wine for international stars to drink and even share to their following via social media is huge,” he said.

“Stars like that are generally pretty particular about the wines they have in their rider, and any products that show up in a social media post, especially when you have 4.5 million followers, so we can only assume he is a big fan.”

1748572532780.png

Anyone else come across a weird phenomenon, was out at Hoosegow recently and they have Rockfords Basket Press for less than you can buy it for at Dan Murphy's...and its not even the first restaurant that I have had this occur..the Greek Taverna on Port Road was the same. They must be getting hellishly good deals in that regard as usually the price of a bottle of wine retail you can double it if its served at a restaurant

I miss the days when Baily and Bailys was first getting bought out by Woolies. Baileys had a number of vintage stock that BWS just included as current vintage price and I must have been one of the few to notice because I reckon over a few months of winter, I was coming up to the 407 range, grabbing a bottle from the back of the display ( it was me who changed it around) and pay 18.95 for a 8 year old bottle.

It was the same with the St Andrews Cab Sav, 8 and 9 year old bottles sitting there at 39 bucks, they were drinking so well, full of fruit, a bottle that you just didn't want to share. It was disappointing when that ruse finished up as I had a great winter in 2007 I reckon, may have been 2006.

Izak Rankine, Alex Carey, Ryan ‘Fitzy’ Fitzgerald join forces in Barossa Valley winery buy​

A group of sport, media and business identities, including Crows star Izak Rankine and cricketer Alex Carey has bought a historic winery in the Barossa Valley.

A high profile group of sport, media, business and legal identities, including Crows star Izak Rankine, Test cricketer Alex Carey and radio host Ryan ‘Fitzy’ Fitzgerald, has snapped up a historic winery in the Barossa Valley, with plans for a major redevelopment to “reinvigorate the winery’s presence on the national and international stage”.
The syndicate has acquired Bethany Wines from the Schrapel family, which established the winery in 1981 after a long history in the region dating back to the 1840s.

Rankine, Carey and Fitzy have joined forces with Crows veteran Brodie Smith, businessmen Graham Hobbs and Leigh Curyer, and Adelaide lawyers Garry Winter, Dimitris Parhas and Brendon Roberts KC in the acquisition of what they describe as one of the state’s “most historically significant wineries”. “Future developments will include premium accommodation, spaces for weddings and events, and an exciting entertainment collaboration designed to reinvigorate the winery’s presence on the national and international stage.”
Schrapel family patriarch Johann Schrapel planted shiraz grapes from cuttings carried from Europe in Bethany, near Tanunda, in 1852, making the family’s vineyards some of the oldest in the region.

Brothers Robert and Geoff Schrapel, representing the fifth generation of the family, established the Bethany Wines winery and label in 1981. They’ve been looking to sell the business for about two years as part of their retirement plans.

1750736416066.png

Anyone else come across a weird phenomenon, was out at Hoosegow recently and they have Rockfords Basket Press for less than you can buy it for at Dan Murphy's...and its not even the first restaurant that I have had this occur..the Greek Taverna on Port Road was the same. They must be getting hellishly good deals in that regard as usually the price of a bottle of wine retail you can double it if its served at a restaurant

Do you remember what they were selling it for?

Probably to pay the expenses of running a business. Rent, staff wages, electricity, it all costs money and if they sell the wine they have in the shop itself, it goes a long way to paying for the expenses listed.

There is always a comedian.

I’m more interested in the markup - you pay $90– at the cellar door. Interestingly they normally sellout of Basket Press by early May but still have it on their tasting list.

I’ve been collecting and drinking BP since the 2010 vintage.

It was around $180 / bottle. Dans has it for well north of that but I did check the rockfords cellar door and yeah, its $90.00 for the 2021???. The one I had a Hoosegow was a 2018 from memory...but the pricing seems to be all over the place

The most recent vintage is 2021. They release the vintage about 4 years later (similar to Penfolds Grange). As a stonewall member I can purchase 6 bottles (public is limited to 3).

I generally find with BP you need to drink about 7 years after vintage date so 2018 drinking would have been ideal. There actual pricing doesn’t change and has been consistent but yes the markup by restaurants, DMs is all over the place.

Rockford only make a certain number of bottles each year and are their own grapes - think it was 4,000 cases from memory.

Probably to pay the expenses of running a business. Rent, staff wages, electricity, it all costs money and if they sell the wine they have in the shop itself, it goes a long way to paying for the expenses listed.
Stop punching down on kirky

Rockford only make a certain number of bottles each year and are their own grapes - think it was 4,000 cases from memory.
Rockford source from a number of growers to make the Basket Press Shiraz, as well as their own fruit. Some of them got pinched by Chris Ringland along the way when he started his own label.

The 2010 Rare Chance (second) Basket Press release featured fruit from a number of other Grapegrowers who didn't usually supply to Rockford, but had been shafted by the big Corporates.

Looks like a few well known faces (including Fitzy, Alex Carey, Smithers & Isaak Rankine) have banded together to buy up the Bethany Winery from the Schrapel family.

Sadly there are a number of other SA Wineries also with no real family succession plan, that are also up for sale or will just close up and cease to exist.

Rockford source from a number of growers to make the Basket Press Shiraz, as well as their own fruit. Some of them got pinched by Chris Ringland along the way when he started his own label.

The 2010 Rare Chance (second) Basket Press release featured fruit from a number of other Grapegrowers who didn't usually supply to Rockford, but had been shafted by the big Corporates.

Ok, so the cellar door person advised incorrectly.

Got a bottle of that 2010 Rare Chance Basket Press.

Ok, so the cellar door person advised incorrectly.

Got a bottle of that 2010 Rare Chance Basket Press.
Rockford also had the SVS (Single Vineyard Series) releases, which were a lot rarer (and more expensive) than the Basket Press, and only available on strict allocation to Stonewallers. It was discontinued for a while, but I heard a while ago they were bringing them back. I haven't checked to see if that's happened.

I was lucky enough to try an almost complete vertical of them just over 10 years ago.

9OFAXIz.jpg

The Wine thread