The Wine thread

When did you all start to like wine?

As an ignorant 17 year old I think it tastes like shit, I know my taste will develop. But when did your's start to become accustomed.

What about white wine? Surely you've had goon before?

I drink much more white than red but really enjoy having a bottle of red to myself while eating a nice big juicy steak.

My dad's been into wine for a long time now and has gotten me into it, guess you just grow into it but there's no rule saying you have to like wine, if you don't like it you don't like it, just like I don't like raspberry vodkas.

I used to absolutely hate any type of wine until a little while back I decided have a bottle of sparkling over dinner..
I now have a dozen bottles at home just waiting to be consumed :)

What about white wine? Surely you've had goon before?

I drink much more white than red but really enjoy having a bottle of red to myself while eating a nice big juicy steak.

This one goes alright with a steak FP. :thumbsu:

musician.jpg

25 years ago you would go into the innercity pubs and ask for any old wine.You would get absolute corkers for $3
Bloody yuppies wrecked that

When did you all start to like wine?

As an ignorant 17 year old I think it tastes like shit, I know my taste will develop. But when did your's start to become accustomed.

At 17 Id never drunk it

At 21 I thought it tasted like shit

Wasnt till I was 24 when I started to get a taste for it. Have been buying to cellar for 18-24 months and have around 120 bottles now and always growing, and am moving into a career into the industry as well.

Hi guys, if a lot of you are like me then you're into your wine. I've worked in a bottle shop for the last couple of years with a focus on wine and this has really got me into it particularly lately. If you're into wine then I recommend you try some of these if you haven't already. Just as a side note I am not really into straight Cab Sauv's but thats only my opinion:

O'Leary Walker shiraz
Tin Shed shiraz
Pirathon shiraz
Shutz shiraz
Pirramimma Stocks Hill shiraz
Elderton estate Shiraz :thumbsu:

Stella Bella cab merlot
West Cape Howe cab merlot
Lenton Brae cab merlot
Flametree cab merlot

West Cape Howe tempranillo :thumbsu:

Frog Belly SSB
Rockfield SSB
Moss Bros, Moses rock SSB
McHenry Hohnen SSB
Skuttlebutt SSB

Prevelli chardonnay
Leeuwin Estate Prelude chardonnay
Yearing Station Chardonnay
Flametree Chardonnay

Saint Clair sauv blanc
Cloudy Bay sauv blanc

Galli Estate pinot gris

Theres probably heaps more but thats all I can think of off the top of my head. All of the wines mentioned are affordable at below $30. Just tried a 2002 Penfolds Bin 28 which was very nice. Anyone else have other suggestions?

I work at a winery in Clare and am studying wine marketing at Uni. In terms of Whites im a lover of Riesling and Albarino, for Reds, Cabernet and Pinot would be the main two.

Some suggestions of those that ive had recently:

Claymore 07 Dark Side of the Moon Shiraz $25
Crabtree 07 Tempranillo $22
Crabtree 08 Watervale Riesling $22
Pauletts 09 Antonina Riesling $40
Riposte 07 Gewurztramier $20
Voyager Estate 08 SBS $24
Honeymoon Vineyard 07 Pinot Noir $30
Zema Estate 06 Cabernet $22

Nice thread!

Downed a bottle of Billiecart salmon champagne last night with a couple of friends. Definitely my favourite drop.

I work at a winery in Clare and am studying wine marketing at Uni. In terms of Whites im a lover of Riesling and Albarino, for Reds, Cabernet and Pinot would be the main two.

Some suggestions of those that ive had recently:

Claymore 07 Dark Side of the Moon Shiraz $25
Crabtree 07 Tempranillo $22
Crabtree 08 Watervale Riesling $22
Pauletts 09 Antonina Riesling $40
Riposte 07 Gewurztramier $20
Voyager Estate 08 SBS $24
Honeymoon Vineyard 07 Pinot Noir $30
Zema Estate 06 Cabernet $22

I have tried these, both good wines :thumbsu:

Nice thread!

Downed a bottle of Billiecart salmon champagne last night with a couple of friends. Definitely my favourite drop.

Jealous. Never had the pleasure of trying it which isn't surprising as I am at uni, have no cash and it we sell it for like $80 to $85. In fact I haven't tried many frenchies, probably only the Pol Roger vintage and Pol Roger N/V.

Wine thread from a year or so ago that might give you some ideas.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=413137

I had a bottle of St. Henri (1998) last weekend & it was very nice.

Also for somthing in a better price range I bought a bottle of 2003 Barwang Hill tops Shiraz for about $25 from Dan Murphys & it was quite good.

Also at the moment you can get Penfolds Kalimna Shiraz for $20 a bottle if you buy 6. Most only have the 06 left so buy it & put it away for at least 12-18 months.

Recently tried the new Elderton Friends Shiraz 2006. Great value enjoyed it :thumbsu:. Not as big and brutal as the Estate range but still quite ballsy.

I used to work at the cellar door of a winery called Willow Bridge, it's in Ferguson Valley in W.A., about a 45min drive out of Bunbury. Some sensational wines there, particularly their semillon and sauvignon blancs.

Best of all was the premium shiraz called Black Dog. This little ripper got its name, as the story goes, from when someone remarked that the wine was as black as the inside of a dog. Early vintages were a bit rough, but over the last few years the winemaker has eased back and it's a very well balanced wine. From memory, it was about 18% alcohol too, closer to port in alcohol content. Will set you back $60, though.

I used to work at the cellar door of a winery called Willow Bridge, it's in Ferguson Valley in W.A., about a 45min drive out of Bunbury. Some sensational wines there, particularly their semillon and sauvignon blancs.

Best of all was the premium shiraz called Black Dog. This little ripper got its name, as the story goes, from when someone remarked that the wine was as black as the inside of a dog. Early vintages were a bit rough, but over the last few years the winemaker has eased back and it's a very well balanced wine. From memory, it was about 18% alcohol too, closer to port in alcohol content. Will set you back $60, though.

My parents have a hobby vineyard really close to Willow Bridge. Ferguson Valley has a lot of potential imo.

Agreed. It's like a little secret at the moment, as Margs is obviously the known place to go for wine buffs, but there are some absolute gems there. Hilly terrain, good soil, and an ideal climate.

What wines do your parents produce? Do they sell any of their grapes to larger wineries? I know that Willow Bridge buy some of their sauvignon blanc from a Pemberton producer, or they did when I worked there. (Pemberton, btw, has some wonderful sb)

My best value (and has been for ages) is Jim Barry Family vineyards shiraz/cab blend...seriously good wine, around $13-15 at dan murphy's...or go Barry's Lodge Hill shiraz, have got it for $15 but usually around $20 - superb.
Other fave cheap-ish red is Bleasdale's (Langhorne Creek, SA) Mulberry Tree cab sav (around $13-15).
If anyone can get their hands on Highbank (Coonawarra) do yourself a favour, pricey though ($40-ish)

My mate's family winery is Majella in Coonawarra. Go and see Prof and Yabs to get a great deal! :) I don't know much about wine but they have picked up many awards and I enjoy a drop with a nice steak, roast meat or pasta. :thumbsu:

Arrogant Frog Sav Blanc goes alright for 10 dollars.
Woolworths thanks you for the plug :thumbsu: But seriously, I don't know why people would pie cheap French plonk when Australia produces some sensational and affordable wines that are widley available. Bloody frogs :thumbsd:

Has anyone tried any of the preservative free wines? I know Banrock Station and Happs have brought them out, are there any others? Are they any good? I do like the idea of some vino minus the chemicals, hence feeling less shit the next day. Not interested in white wine either.