Murray

Suspended
After the Essendon debarcle me and a mate where having a quiet one at the Seaford Hotel (some people know it as the sundowner or as we know it the Gundowner).
Any way we talking about the players that had been at Collingwood who had heaps of talent but never ever made it, in the way their talent suggested they should have.

By the end of the night there were eight of us (6 other pie supporters had joined in) and we came up with a list from the past 20 years or so.
Try these names
Andrew Tranquilli
Athos Hysroulakous
Heath Shepherd.
Leigh Carlson
Mick McGuane (Yep I know but many thought he never filled his true potential.
Wes Fellows
Mal Michael
Bruce Abernathy
Greg Phillips
Kevin Morris
Ray Shaw
Ian Cooper
Graig Stewart.
Graeme Teasdale
Allan Edwards

We had a big list which I won't go on with.
Anyone got any other thoughts.

Andrew Tranquilli-slow and skinny
Athos Hysroulakous-too thin
Heath Shepherd-you're kidding
Leigh Carlson-good player what's he doing here?
Mick McGuane-2 Copelands what's he doing here?
Wes Fellows-retired the year they introduced testing for steroids.
Mal Michael-still playing...and making it.
Bruce Abernathy-came over older than most, good player
Greg Phillips-Champ who wouldn't take a pay cut and loved his Port so he left
Kevin Morris-Fulfilled potential
Ray Shaw-Fulfilled potential (4xGF captain)
Ian Cooper-not sure
Craig Stewart-not sure
Graeme Teasdale-broken when we got him, still performed a bit.
Allan Edwards-Ditto, totally bung knee.

Heath Shephard

A wild man with a heart of gold, was injured while he played and still has to have his knee scrapped every year... ouch!

Perfect example of a coach ruining a footballers chances.

Try these names
Andrew Tranquilli - he was soft - great skills and a good decy forward, but soft.
Athos Hysroulakous - handy. no more than that
Heath Shepherd. injuries slowed him down
Leigh Carlson had a great career at Collingwood and Fitzroy
Mick McGuane you have got to be kidding me. Sensational player, he was our best kick in our midfield and a great running player. Career shortened by injury. Should have won the Norm on GF DAy
Wes Fellows - *******
Mal Michael - young and improving when he left the club
Bruce Abernathy - slow - overrated SA hack
Greg Phillips slow - overrated SA hack (but not nearly as bad as Abernathy)
Kevin Morris - you have got to be kidding - very solid recruit (middle aged when we picked him up)
Ray Shaw - interesting choice - twice as much talent as his brother but much shorter career.
Ian Cooper - very short fullback who played on Hudson Wade Jezalenko etc - toughest job in footy in the late 60's was fullback. Reliable player.
Graig Stewart - slow hack - worst GF CHB in history
Graeme Teasdale - superb footballer - unlucky that he did his knee at Collingwood
Allan Edwards - we bought him at a second hand shop (Richmond) - let the buyer beware. Second worst knees ever at Collingwood (Lee Walker takes the no 1. prize)