Things bogans like

Good observation. :thumbsu:

The "Muzza" is a definately distinct subsect.

The Muzza explosion in this city is something that needs to be addressed urgently I believe. The only time when I have to double take and shake myself out of feeling Andrew Bolt type emotions is when the subject of Muzza's is being discussed. And that scares me.

THIS. I can't stand people who dress up using the flag, or generally people who have the flag raised outside their house. w***ers.

That's a pretty harsh stance you're taking on these people. What if that's their only fault, you know, like they just really like Australia?

I should clarify due to my poor wording. I dislike ferals who attempt to dismiss their feral behavior as "being Australian." Typically these people wear the Australian flag and paint heir faces, etc.

Although, generally speaking, I do dislike people who raise flags outside their house (regardless of their behavior).

All depends on your definition of 'bogan'. Whilst I can understand where Mario et al are coming from, one has to also understand that the term 'bogan' is now simply used as an epithet against a broad spectrum of people who might otherwise be described as 'philistine', 'white-trash', 'young', 'simpleton', etc etc.

I;m no Professor of Linguistics or philosophy of language, but it seems rather pointless to me to debate the meanings of words like 'bogan'.

Perhaps slightly OT, I grew up in a booming outer-suburb of Melbourne and it is almost sadening when I look through the facebook pages of so many of my classmates from school, who now sport either a photo of their falcodore (purchased on credit) or a photo of their baby (unplanned) as their profile pic.

:(

I should clarify due to my poor wording. I dislike ferals who attempt to dismiss their feral behavior as "being Australian." Typically these people wear the Australian flag and paint heir faces, etc.

Although, generally speaking, I do dislike people who raise flags outside their house (regardless of their behavior).

I got you mate. But blaming various types of strange behaviour on "being Australian" is what this country is all about. That's why we're so special!

If it wasn't for the custodians of this great nation of ours - some of whom adorn themselves with our national colours and display the flag outside of their houses on days other than Australia Day - this country would be screwed. Someone has to take charge and let everyone know what country this is ;).

Even the word "bogan" sounds bogan-ish. It's like only bogans should use the word itself.

If you don't love this country, then you can just geeeert out!

bartender.tif

Now, calm down, Skeeter...

It's nice to try and judge people based on appearances and label them based on weak assumptions, but the world is not black and white - indeed the world is not pink, blue, red, orange, green and white... People cannot be defined so simply.

Spoken like a true "flouro".

Spoken like someone who just exists. I don't seek to be part of any social clique. I don't think that anyone could place me into any particular social group. I am an individual and I exist... If you feel the need to bring me down or make yourself feel better by classifying me then you have issues. Seeking to classify people into a small number of social groupings indicates a weak mind unable to comphrehend the infinite shades of grey that exist when attempting to classify something so unique as personality.

But yeh, I get your joke. :)

If people want to label me a bogan, I can live with that. BUt do not label me a metrosexual, and do not question my intelligence. I love the country (both Australia and rural areas), love the flag, but do not use that to justify being a knob-end. What shits me more is the people who look down their nose at others, just because they're 'from the country'.

Members of 'The Fanatics' sporting group tours would surely qualify as new age bogan.

Plenty of money to go on a 3 month sporting trip but once they do they generally embarass their country and themselves with thier bogan antics.

Members of 'The Fanatics' sporting group tours would surely qualify as new age bogan.

Plenty of money to go on a 3 month sporting trip but once they do they generally embarass their country and themselves with thier bogan antics.

There isn't enough bandwith on the internet for me to fully convey my hate for these people.

I wish sterility upon all of them.

Let's go somewhere exotic and get pissed!

Entry coming in the next 72 hours: Contiki tours. It was written yesterday, and is currently being fine-tuned by the other authors of the blog. It was a lot of fun to write. :)

We're going to be posting one new entry per day until it gets to a decent number. We've got a list of ones we're planning to write, but new ideas from you guys are most welcome!

Pit Bulls

Alcohol merchandise (like Jim Beam clocks, shirts etc)

Falcodores

Singlets (fluoro or otherwise)

Yep, I reckon pit bulls can make an appearance in a future entry called "animals who kill things".
Mainly we're trying to write about the 21st century bogan rather than the 1980s bogan, but some factors have definitely remained constant.

In 200 words or less, do you reckon you could explain the key features of each type of 'bogan', and highlight the contrasts between the two?

We had a go at it in the first entry on the blog, but we'll probably need to come back to it and be more thorough. I'm just a bit worried that it could sorta cannibalise the other more specific entries if we lay it all down in an all-encompassing definition.
Here's a link to that first entry though
http://thingsboganslike.wordpress.com/2009/10/14/hello-world/

There isn't enough bandwith on the internet for me to fully convey my hate for these people.

I wish sterility upon all of them.

We agree on something.

If you dropped a bomb on the GA section of every big day of the Spring Racing Carnival you'd wipe out half of Victoria's bogans. Drop one at the Clipsal 500 and you'd almost have to put bogan's on the Endangered Species List.

Bogans are a very unique demographic.

Unfortunately, two far uglier newcomers tend to get parcelled up with the mighty bogan.

That is, the "flouro", which is distinguished by hair gel, flourescent T shirts of the Travesty type, bad tattoos and a complete inability to handle alcohol.

The other group is the ethnic group that I term the "fully sik crew", distinguished by powerful cars, ridiculous jewellery, massive egos and those silly cream colored fake snake skin pointed shoes.

A full blooded bogan wouldn't piss on these people.
:thumbsu:

+ lame arse leather wrist straps
+ tight denim shorts above the knee
+ fake tan
+ those stupid ****ing sandle shoes
+ sailor boy singlets

THIS. I can't stand people who dress up using the flag, or generally people who have the flag raised outside their house. w***ers.
ohhhh **** yeah.

The new one is the flag in the aerial of the car.

+ southern cross tattoos.