I didn't make it up. RedmanWasHere came up with it. I liked it because of the food theme we had going... Soup, Sauce, Garlic and the two Spuds... etcWhen a certain poster in the exers thread uses the proper nickname for Jeff Garlett instead of the crap one he made up. That pleases me.
Well something that pleases me in my field of work is finding out our brand has outsold our rival brand last month for the first time in SEVENTEEN years. Both these two famous brands create local products but mainly rely on imported products to get business done. Of course, both brands will only be dealing in imported products in the next couple of years as sadly, they have stopped local manufacturing. They are not our main rival but we've been directly behind them for (as I said) seventeen years. This puts us in fourth place in our field which is one of the most competitive markets out there.
I'm sure if you put two and two together, you can figure out the particular brands I'm talking about.
Right industry but wrong brands...Do you work for Mitsubishi? And is Ford the company you overtook?
Right industry but wrong brands...
Bingo.Ford v Holden..?
Sort of. You're direct competitors with everyone else in the marketplace but a common misconception (mainly due to bogan Aussies who only believe in two brands of cars) think this is the case but to be honest, I don't see Holden as much of a competitor. Their Commodore is superior to our Falcon but a majority of our overseas products are better than theirs (IMO). Also, they have the HSV brand while we have discontinued FPV. Ford has pretty much been out of the country since it was announced they were officially leaving after 2016.I thought you said the brands weren't main rivals? Aren't Ford and Holden direct competitors in the marketplace?
Speaking of growth, Hyundai's improvement from both market share and quality perspectives is nothing short of an economic miracle. It's probably representative of the sheer improvement in manufacturing processes in South Asia over the past two decades (sans Mainland China and India, who are still absolutely shithouse in nearly every statistical measure).
I think it's a trend. Like a rite of passage that car makers need to go through.
Japanese cars were rubbish when they first started making them. Then by the 1980s people were buying them because they were reliable and cheap. Nowadays people equate Japanese cars with quality.
Korean cars were rubbish when they first came out too. Remember the 1990s Hyundai Excels? Cheap and not all that cheerful. Now people wouldn't think twice about buying an i30 which was the fourth highest selling car in the country last year.
China and India are the next cabs off the rank. Geely, Great Wall, Tata etc. Pass. Give them a decade or so to work out how to cheaply build cars that aren't utter shit and they'll start to gain some market share. Etc.
Thailand is the odd one out because no one really associates it with car making. There are no Thai brands for sale here, just cars made in Thailand by already established brands.
Taiwan is a small player in the car industry. Their annual production is decreasing.
Interested as to why you think this is the case?Sort of. You're direct competitors with everyone else in the marketplace but a common misconception (mainly due to bogan Aussies who only believe in two brands of cars) think this is the case but to be honest, I don't see Holden as much of a competitor. Their Commodore is superior to our Falcon but a majority of our overseas products are better than theirs (IMO). Also, they have the HSV brand while we have discontinued FPV. Ford has pretty much been out of the country since it was announced they were officially leaving after 2016.
Interested as to why you think this is the case?
I'm a Holden man (you know, without the mullet and flanno) but I'd heard from a few that thought the Falcon was better.
It's people like you that are the problem - expecting a straight swap for their old shitboxes.If you're that desperate to get rid of the Falcon ute, ill trade you my BF XR8 ute for a new FG ute to match my sedan![]()

Wow! Such badassery. Steer clear of you.When no one's in the staff room, I go in and grab a complimentary muffin when I've already had one.
Mischief to the max.
Getting paid to take a shit whilst at work.
We have a courier who comes in here all the time and takes a shit in our customer's toilets. One day, our sales manager just told him "mate, if you have to shit, do it out the back" - fair enough - he always stinks our the toilets. All of us know that the customer toilets are not to be shit in and go out the back.I miss this