Mega Thread Things that Shit me part XII - The Twelfth One!

To be fair most servos now have the cameras and will think you are doing a runner.

Eh there was a bay of empty parks literally 5 metres directly ahead - the guy bought himself a whole lotta food while he paid and there was a passenger smoking a cigarette in the car sitting on their ass too -

I always move the car if it is busy and lots of others waiting

Can you pay at the pump in Australia yet?

I've seen a few here where you can but it's not very common.

One servo I go to they sometimes ask you to pay before you start filling up, they must have had some people do runners there without paying.

I always move the car if it is busy and lots of others waiting

I used to this (also drive a badged vehicle so no hiding!), however just after Coles took over my local, I got petrol and moved into a parking bay, and then went into the store and paid as normal. Nothing was said, nor anything untoward.

About a month later I received a "final demand" payment letter, including advice that I was now going to be prosecuted for a crime (theft by deception IIRC). As I had already paid (and checked the invoice/receipt to make certain), I contacted the number to advise I had already paid, however was told there was nothing they could do now, and to turn up in court when I received my summons.

They took me to court, where I provided a copy of the receipt, and an extract from my bank statement showing the payment, the case dismissed in a matter of minutes. Sitting in the waiting room, there were at least a dozen I recognised from the same station - all of whom probably in the same situation. What a waste of time.

I used to this (also drive a badged vehicle so no hiding!), however just after Coles took over my local, I got petrol and moved into a parking bay, and then went into the store and paid as normal. Nothing was said, nor anything untoward.

About a month later I received a "final demand" payment letter, including advice that I was now going to be prosecuted for a crime (theft by deception IIRC). As I had already paid (and checked the invoice/receipt to make certain), I contacted the number to advise I had already paid, however was told there was nothing they could do now, and to turn up in court when I received my summons.

They took me to court, where I provided a copy of the receipt, and an extract from my bank statement showing the payment, the case dismissed in a matter of minutes. Sitting in the waiting room, there were at least a dozen I recognised from the same station - all of whom probably in the same situation. What a waste of time.
No money for damages or unfair prosecution?

Australia's rapid yet seemingly inevitable descent in to All Things American
Huh? We've had (at least) 20 years now of kids growing with American things as staples of their childhoods: Mighty Ducks, The Simpsons, 'the rap music', Jordan/basketball, Nickelodeon shows, Pixar... and that whole time people have been worried about us becoming too Americanized*.

If after all that, we're still sticking things in the boot, saying g'day when we see our mates, and affectionately calling people campaigners (which are mostly British things anyway), then I think we'll be fine.

Huh? We've had (at least) 20 years now of kids growing with American things as staples of their childhoods: Mighty Ducks, The Simpsons, 'the rap music', Jordan/basketball, Nickelodeon shows, Pixar... and that whole time people have been worried about us becoming too Americanized*.

If after all that, we're still sticking things in the boot, saying g'day when we see our mates, and affectionately calling people campaigners (which are mostly British things anyway), then I think we'll be fine.
People stick things in their boots even nowadays?

Servo I worked at only filmed the staff inside the cameras outside were fake and they just docked the pay of whoever was working when someone did a runner with a tank if we didn't get their rego

They we're campaigners they would just rewrite the hours and pretend the till wasn't out, everyone was casual so if you complained you just got told not to come back.

Isn't it easier just to go pay after filling up? I've never heard of anyone going off the drive to park and back in to pay, and never heard of someone getting the shits with those who don't.

Sent from mTalk

Agree, not sure why it's an issue. It makes even less sense to go park when it's busy, considering servos have only a handful of parking bays.

Just found out that the only other guy in my staffroom, a really top bloke, isn't coming back next year, meaning I will be the only guy in a staffroom of mostly post menstrual women. FMD.