Things wrong with Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Hobgoblin

I didn't check Mr Nobodies (or anyone else's) profile when I picked Saul Goodman for my avatar

You'd actually quite like him. He's racked up nearly 30,000 posts on the SR&P and Australian Politics boards baiting greenies, lefties and other assorted riff raff.

I reckon people are getting bored of me!

The one thing I'll say about Adelaide and I've said it to a lot of people.

The only people who get bored here are boring people.

The one thing I'll say about Adelaide and I've said it to a lot of people.

The only people who get bored here are boring people.
Been called alot of things but never boring! :)

Yeah but you said bored, that's just something I say here when I hear bored. Not calling you boring.

One tram doesn't make a system..

It travels in both directions.

318075_10151190246380846_1274244219_n.jpg

Not sure where you're driving that you think Victoria has good roads. They have the worst in the entire country! Even NT roads are better

Ever tried driving on top of the ground?

Don't forget, the second you cross the border into Souf Oz, the roads go from smooth, well laid tarmac to pot hole ridden lumpy ruins.

That stretch from near before Bordertown to Tallem Bend is one of the most god forsaken bits of road in the world.
I do this trip 3 to 4 times a year...now you're just making it up.

How original ....

anyways

our Mall has balls:thumbsu: ... does yours?
Thought not :rolleyes:
Not for much longer the genius' at Adelaide City Council have scheduled the castration of the mall

Adeladie the only place in the world where the people who are meant to be selling the praises of the place have to be photo shopped into images of the place because they can't be arsed going there

I've got 2 friends who have lived in Adelaide for 30 years, they have been to the Barossa maybe 4 times, usually when they have visitors. What attractions are there there to keep a person coming back? As I said, go once or twice and that's it, you've done it. It really isnt such a big deal anymore, there are so many amazing wine regions in Australia, I now live on the Mornington Peninsula..I wouldnt swap it for the Barossa for the world, you could come here every weekend for a year and find something new to do or somewhere new to go or drink or eat. Surrounded by 2 magnificent bays awesome for fishing, boating swimming and theres markets and health spas etc and its beautiful and green! And you've got the seaside town of Mornington itself which is just gorgeous and worth a weekend just there..then theres the Yarra Valley, in winter its on the way to Mt Buller, in summer its on the way to Lake Eildon to boat and fish and swim..so you stop, do a cellar door or 2 and continue on..its magnificent. Then theres the Alpine Valley, Strathbogie Valley and Macedon Ranges wine regions and the gorgeous towns surrounding them..the Alpine Valley in Autumn is like something out of a picture book. Thats just some of them in Victoria, there's a dozen more..NSW has a dozen superb wine regions too.
Sorry I have been to many wine regions around Australia and the Barossa is really not so special anymore, there are so so many now. It might have the most famous name and a long reputation but a name is just a name.

Just sayin'

You can visit 118 wineries in a few days, not to mention the dozen+ towns?

You'd actually quite like him. He's racked up nearly 30,000 posts on the SR&P and Australian Politics boards baiting greenies, lefties and other assorted riff raff.

I think you'd be right. But I never post there anymore, it's pointless, everyone just soapboxes and pushes their partisan perspective

You'd have thought, man, that promoting a Facebook page celebrating Taylor Walker's mullet is hardly doing much to help refute that old Adelaide-is-full-of-bogans stereotype.

Yet it has more followers than the cyril rioli page, roughhead page, sam mitchell page or any other Hawthorn players page apart from Lance Franklins page, and that has been open for 3.5 years longer, The Taylor Walkers Mullet page has only been open for 8 months

And what might that be telling you?
I love living in Adelaide by the way, it's a great town.

Don't forget, the second you cross the border into Souf Oz, the roads go from smooth, well laid tarmac to pot hole ridden lumpy ruins.

That stretch from near before Bordertown to Tallem Bend is one of the most god forsaken bits of road in the world.
I'm sorry dude but I just can't agree with this comment. I drive over 2 or 3 times a year back to Vic, so in the last 8 years that I've lived in Adelaide I have probably travelled on that road 25 times. I've travelled morning, noon and night both directions, in all conditions. The Vic side has less than half as many cat-eye's and reflector posts as the SA side, and that's a significant when you're driving at night in poor weather. The road itself is also better on the SA side, not what I'd call significantly better, but nonetheless still noticeably better. But it doesn't matter if the Vic side is shit because they make sure it is safe in other ways, you know, by dropping the speed 10 km and having half a dozen plods waiting to nab people, and that's all before you even get to Kaniva! Oh, and if they aren't nabbing motorists for speeding 3 km over the speed limit, they'll be fining the SA drivers for not displaying rego stickers which have now been made redundant by the SA government.

Difference is I've lived in Perth and loved it, I've only visited Adelaide and always found it hard to fill in a week or 2 there. You can fill in weeks over there just going down south through Margaret river, Bussellton, Pemberton, theres wine, food, world famous surfing, huge forests, some of the most amazing forests in the world with tree tops walks, trout fishing etc. Or you can Stay in Perth do Freo, go have a picninc in Kings Park looking down at the Swan River and city, just spectacular, take a cruise down the river from the city to Freo going through all the wealthy suburbs and beautiful scenery, I mean everyone does the harbour cruise in Sydney but Perths harbour and river is also superb and worth cruising...then stop at the Leftbank pub in Freo and have a meal or go down to the famous Fremantle Fishing Harbour and gorge on the best sefood ever and drop in for some cold ones at the Little Creatures Brewery...awesome stuff. Once the new stadium and casino and sports precinct are finished it will be world class facilities around the city too, already the new tennis centre has gotten rave reviews.
Hillarys Boat Harbour (Sorrento Quay) and the aquarium if you have kids or even if you dont its one of the best aquaruims in the world, 100 times better than Melbournes or Sydneys, and again the resturants and pubs there are fantastic, from there you can go whale watching or deep sea fishing, my hubby and I go DSF every time we go over, the water over there is just incredible. The fishing is amazing too, take a boat over to rotto..again some of the best beaches and bays you will ever see. I worked in pubs in WA for years, the pub scene is fantastic..footy season is full on, LOVE their footy in Perth, WA beaches are the best I've seen in the world and that includea Tahiti and Fiji and Hawaii the South Pacific and def anything in QLD..go down to Esperance, its the closest thing to talcum powder you'll ever walk on. Then lets go inland a few hours to Kalgoorlie, what a party place..its all trendy and stupid on tv now but 20 years ago it really was still the wild wild west and so incredibly unique. Still worth going, lived there for 3 years and never had a single boring day. Then go up North..never mind Broome, the incredible Kimberleys..

anyhoo, Perth itself is not New York no, but I was in WA for a very long time and never bored..last time I was in Adelaide and I was rather happy to leave once the time came..nice place to visit for a week if the Clipsal is on or something but thats it.
Again its your town not mine and obviously when you live somewhere you know all the ins and outs of where to go and what to do, so its just my opinion but you asked me to to to sell you something and thats just a slice..I reckon people are getting bored of me! ;)
I've lived in Geelong (born and bred), Adelaide for 8 years and spent significant time in Sydney (a lot of family there) as well as having driven the south and central coast a few times and spent some time in SE QLD. From the Sunshine Coast to the Head of the Bight and most places in between I am quite familiar with, but I've never been to Perth. It sounds like I'm missing out big time! But since this isn't about Perth and since I'm also not qualified to comment about Perth, I won't make any comparisons between Perth and Adelaide. All I will say is that Adelaide and its surrounds have a lot to offer, and I dare say that if you didn't enjoy your time here then you didn't have the right people showing you around. If you were looking for a Vegas type atmosphere then you definitely went in with the wrong expectations, as of course Adelaide is a stark contrast to that place, and the Adelaide Casino couldn't be any further away from being the Bellagio.

You talk about Perth's beaches being great, but did you go to any beaches in Adelaide? You reckon that Barossa Valley is boring? I don't really know what to say to that other than opinions are like something else that everyone has. But you know, there's actually more wineries in Adelaide and SA than just Barossa Valley, and a lot of them are set in even more picturesque settings too. Adelaide Hills and Mclaren Vale wine regions are spectacular, with the Adelaide Hills offering some amazing scenic drives. Clare Valley and Fleurieu Peninsula also offer some world class wineries and are located fairly close to Barossa Valley and Mclaren Vale respectively.

I've driven to Mt Buller/Falls Creek etc many times and the Great Alpine Rd would have to be one of my favourites, but there's some roads in the Adelaide Hills which are more than comparable in Autumn to the scenery which the Victorian high country offers. I'd be more than happy to offer you some advice as to some of the great things that SA offers if you were inclined to come back and visit again.

Did you create the Walkers mullet page? This isn't a troll question as i know the pages creator and wouldn't be surprised if he posted on here.

Or you can Stay in Perth do Freo, go have a picninc in Kings Park looking down at the Swan River and city, just spectacular, take a cruise down the river from the city to Freo going through all the wealthy suburbs and beautiful scenery, I mean everyone does the harbour cruise in Sydney but Perths harbour and river is also superb and worth cruising...then stop at the Leftbank pub in Freo and have a meal or go down to the famous Fremantle Fishing Harbour and gorge on the best sefood ever and drop in for some cold ones at the Little Creatures Brewery...awesome stuff. Once the new stadium and casino and sports precinct are finished it will be world class facilities around the city too, already the new tennis centre has gotten rave reviews.
Hillarys Boat Harbour (Sorrento Quay) and the aquarium if you have kids or even if you dont its one of the best aquaruims in the world, 100 times better than Melbournes or Sydneys, and again the resturants and pubs there are fantastic, from there you can go whale watching or deep sea fishing, my hubby and I go DSF every time we go over, the water over there is just incredible. The fishing is amazing too, take a boat over to rotto..again some of the best beaches and bays you will ever see. I worked in pubs in WA for years, the pub scene is fantastic..footy season is full on, LOVE their footy in Perth, WA beaches are the best I've seen in the world and that includea Tahiti and Fiji and Hawaii the South Pacific and def ;)

phwoar, in Perth you can have picnics, travel through wealthy suburbs, visit a harbour and eat seafood, drop into a pub, visit beaches, gosh Perth sounds just soooo coool and soooooo much to do. If only other cities would catch onto what Perth has.

Some people from work had to stay in Perth for a week last year and came back saying they were bored out of their brains by the 4th day. They should have read PureEagles travel guide.

Gee I wish Adelaide had some pubs, nice beaches, boat harbours, seafood resturants and a casino. If only we had a coastline to fish king george whiting. Actually if anyone else from Adelaide can help me out, I think I noticed a pub in the city the other day, or maybe about 100 of them in the square mile alone.

PureEagles, you talk just a load of complete shit