Things wrong with Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Hobgoblin

image.png
I believe this is Dale Thomas' twin brother Fail Thomas.

Read a recent article in the Telegraph (UK) which kind of sums it up really:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/d...ght-at-home-in-Australias-invisible-city.html
Yes Adelaide has all those things, but so does every other city..in spades! Wood fires..cycling in the hills..swilling shiraz at wineries.. hardly makes Adelaide stand out. Don't get me wrong I dont hate the place and I have lived all over Australia but Adelaide truly is one of the only places its really difficult to find things to do..once you've done them once or twice. I mean, I can cycle or light a fire or drink wine and all that stuff anywhere. I lived in Perth for many years too and Adelaide makes Perth look like New York!

Justin Westhoff's long lost twin?

WESTHOFF_JUSTIN_246%5B1%5D.jpg

Here is a little reality for these insecure Victorians

Adelaide is the safest city to live
Adelaide is the most liveable
Adelaide residents nations happiest
Adelaide is more family friendly than Melbourne

Melbourne is Australia's crime riddled cesspool

but by all mean continue your little whinge fest. It seams the only way Victorians can fell good about themselves is to talk down others. Some might even call this thread therapy...

Geez, get a grip ... :rolleyes:

Back when the film Trainspotting was first released and screened in Melbourne, an exit survey concluded that 87% of viewers would prefer to live in Edinburgh rather than Melbourne. They stated Edinburgh felt safer and had better drugs.
I keep on reminding myself of snowtown, the Truro murders, the young men killings and the Beaumonts.

Every 4 or 5 years someone along comes to entrench Adelaide to the annals of the world's best place for serial killiers.

So how can it be called dull??;)
On a serious level always struck me how a state with some beautiful areas can concentrate these nutters. Is it the Australian version of going postal.

Don't forget, the second you cross the border into Souf Oz, the roads go from smooth, well laid tarmac to pot hole ridden lumpy ruins.

That stretch from near before Bordertown to Tallem Bend is one of the most god forsaken bits of road in the world.

Adelaide - home of Melbourne's superiority complex

Sydney - home of Melbourne's inferiority complex

Yep, it's always amusing to hear Melbournites try to bignote themselves by "proving" they're better than Adelaide. It's well known that Sydney(*) shits over Melbourne in all ways.

Regarding Adelaide, the best that can be said of it is that's it's better than Brisbane.

(*) Where Sydney as defined as the bit that's east of Drummoyne, south of the harbour and north of Malabar. The rest, especially anywhere out west, rates highly on the Lovelace scale of suckability.

Yes Adelaide has all those things, but so does every other city..in spades! Wood fires..cycling in the hills..swilling shiraz at wineries.. hardly makes Adelaide stand out. Don't get me wrong I dont hate the place and I have lived all over Australia but Adelaide truly is one of the only places its really difficult to find things to do..once you've done them once or twice. I mean, I can cycle or light a fire or drink wine and all that stuff anywhere. I lived in Perth for many years too and Adelaide makes Perth look like New York!

I'm not really into that 'my state is better than yours' crud as I generally try to find the best parts and enjoy everwhere I go. Instead of going on about how boring SA is please sell the points which are better in WA for my next trip.

Yep, it's always amusing to hear Melbournites try to bignote themselves by "proving" they're better than Adelaide. It's well known that Sydney(*) shits over Melbourne in all ways.

Regarding Adelaide, the best that can be said of it is that's it's better than Brisbane.

(*) Where Sydney as defined as the bit that's east of Drummoyne, south of the harbour and north of Malabar. The rest, especially anywhere out west, rates highly on the Lovelace scale of suckability.

You mean like StAlbans or Broadmeadows kind of suckability?

I don't know why Sydney has been dragged into this. Most mature Melbournians regard Sydney as the most beautiful city in Australia. The harbour is just majestic. The place isn't without it's problems though, Satan designed the road lay out, travelling anywhere by car is a ****ing nightmare.

Of course it is if your 12 and the only red you can drink is Ribena.
I've got 2 friends who have lived in Adelaide for 30 years, they have been to the Barossa maybe 4 times, usually when they have visitors. What attractions are there there to keep a person coming back? As I said, go once or twice and that's it, you've done it. It really isnt such a big deal anymore, there are so many amazing wine regions in Australia, I now live on the Mornington Peninsula..I wouldnt swap it for the Barossa for the world, you could come here every weekend for a year and find something new to do or somewhere new to go or drink or eat. Surrounded by 2 magnificent bays awesome for fishing, boating swimming and theres markets and health spas etc and its beautiful and green! And you've got the seaside town of Mornington itself which is just gorgeous and worth a weekend just there..then theres the Yarra Valley, in winter its on the way to Mt Buller, in summer its on the way to Lake Eildon to boat and fish and swim..so you stop, do a cellar door or 2 and continue on..its magnificent. Then theres the Alpine Valley, Strathbogie Valley and Macedon Ranges wine regions and the gorgeous towns surrounding them..the Alpine Valley in Autumn is like something out of a picture book. Thats just some of them in Victoria, there's a dozen more..NSW has a dozen superb wine regions too.
Sorry I have been to many wine regions around Australia and the Barossa is really not so special anymore, there are so so many now. It might have the most famous name and a long reputation but a name is just a name.

Just sayin'

I'm not really into that 'my state is better than yours' crud as I generally try to find the best parts and enjoy everwhere I go. Instead of going on about how boring SA is please sell the points which are better in WA for my next trip.
I'm not saying my state is better than anyones, I love all of Australia, I'm just saying that bringing up the Barossa Valley as some sort of major attraction or draw card is overrated once you have been there a couple of times. There are so many amazing wine regions all over Australia now and the Barossa did not impress me personally as much as many of the others. Yea, I think its boring and less picturesque compared to others I've been to but thats just my opinion, I don't live there so I can be honest without feeling like a traitor. I actually like Adelaide, its very clean and friendly..there just aint alot to go there for!

That's all fine but I really wanted you to sell to me how Adelaide makes Perth look like New York?

Difference is I've lived in Perth and loved it, I've only visited Adelaide and always found it hard to fill in a week or 2 there. You can fill in weeks over there just going down south through Margaret river, Bussellton, Pemberton, theres wine, food, world famous surfing, huge forests, some of the most amazing forests in the world with tree tops walks, trout fishing etc. Or you can Stay in Perth do Freo, go have a picninc in Kings Park looking down at the Swan River and city, just spectacular, take a cruise down the river from the city to Freo going through all the wealthy suburbs and beautiful scenery, I mean everyone does the harbour cruise in Sydney but Perths harbour and river is also superb and worth cruising...then stop at the Leftbank pub in Freo and have a meal or go down to the famous Fremantle Fishing Harbour and gorge on the best sefood ever and drop in for some cold ones at the Little Creatures Brewery...awesome stuff. Once the new stadium and casino and sports precinct are finished it will be world class facilities around the city too, already the new tennis centre has gotten rave reviews.
Hillarys Boat Harbour (Sorrento Quay) and the aquarium if you have kids or even if you dont its one of the best aquaruims in the world, 100 times better than Melbournes or Sydneys, and again the resturants and pubs there are fantastic, from there you can go whale watching or deep sea fishing, my hubby and I go DSF every time we go over, the water over there is just incredible. The fishing is amazing too, take a boat over to rotto..again some of the best beaches and bays you will ever see. I worked in pubs in WA for years, the pub scene is fantastic..footy season is full on, LOVE their footy in Perth, WA beaches are the best I've seen in the world and that includea Tahiti and Fiji and Hawaii the South Pacific and def anything in QLD..go down to Esperance, its the closest thing to talcum powder you'll ever walk on. Then lets go inland a few hours to Kalgoorlie, what a party place..its all trendy and stupid on tv now but 20 years ago it really was still the wild wild west and so incredibly unique. Still worth going, lived there for 3 years and never had a single boring day. Then go up North..never mind Broome, the incredible Kimberleys..

anyhoo, Perth itself is not New York no, but I was in WA for a very long time and never bored..last time I was in Adelaide and I was rather happy to leave once the time came..nice place to visit for a week if the Clipsal is on or something but thats it.
Again its your town not mine and obviously when you live somewhere you know all the ins and outs of where to go and what to do, so its just my opinion but you asked me to to to sell you something and thats just a slice..I reckon people are getting bored of me! ;)

I don't know why Sydney has been dragged into this. Most mature Melbournians regard Sydney as the most beautiful city in Australia. The harbour is just majestic. The place isn't without it's problems though, Satan designed the road lay out, travelling anywhere by car is a ******* nightmare.
I lived near the harbour and quite enjoyed Sydney, although truth be told I wasn't a massive fan of the nightlife - mostly giant bogan beer barns or huge nightclubs. Didn't mind a couple of the smaller places though.
Melbourne definately has the best nightlife of any Australian capital and a much better live music scene.

Don't forget, the second you cross the border into Souf Oz, the roads go from smooth, well laid tarmac to pot hole ridden lumpy ruins.

That stretch from near before Bordertown to Tallem Bend is one of the most god forsaken bits of road in the world.

Not sure where you're driving that you think Victoria has good roads. They have the worst in the entire country! Even NT roads are better

I wasn't talking about suburban Melbourne where pinko money wasting arseh*le councils are responsible for roads upkeep, I'm talking about intercity freeways. Oh and you might want to analyse the death trap that is the Pacific Hwy north of Newcastle before you start slagging Vic roads.

There is an absolute discernible difference in road quality once you pass over from Vic into SA.