Expansion Third WA-Based AFL Club ??

There are, but I am not being club specific, just wondering if WA parochialism would stymie such a move.

I'll tell you this much, if my beloved North had to go under I would sooner see her go to the footy loving public of WA rather than a bunch of corporate pimps on the Gold Coast or Western Sydney.

I figured that much.

You did want to sell a home game to Westcoast so go figure.

This would be quite possibly the most hilariously badass name in organised sport anywhere in the world. (sorry Kolkata Knight Riders)

Grace, power, and devilry all in one- I'd support them. Suggested mascot, a rabid, red eyed swan wearing a tiara?

:eek: Now that would be so awsome.

I figured that much.

You did want to sell a home game to Westcoast so go figure.

Hey, I don't want to sell home games anywhere, but if we have to find more money under the current structure, then I would sooner go to the highest bidder and where we actually have a supporter base.

A relocated club would need to walk the extremely fine line of keeping the Victorian supporters happy while still becoming local enough to attract new supporters here.

The only way you could keep any sizable percentage of the Victorian supporter base happy is to enshrine it's culture as part of the new entity (colors, jumper design, song, club awards etc). Diluting these things in any way would have the Victorian supporters walk away in droves. The new entity would also have to garauntee 11 home games in Melbourne, and not the shizen deal that Roys supporters currently get from the AFL.

It's damn hard, as Brisbane know, and Fitzroy have comparatively **** all supporters compared to any current Victorian club.

Brisbane has also crapped all over those supporters.

If any Victorian club was the become the 'Perth XXXX', then assuming it isn't Collingwood or Essendon they're only going to have a couple of thousand local fans here at most, and it is hard to see where the new supporters are going to come from. It's not like there is this huge undercurrent of footy fans that don't support an AFL club. Might get a few thousand neutrals that join up because they can get a premium seat on the wing.

I agree. A relocated club is fairly pointless from the aspect of both parties.

The only way you could keep any sizable percentage of the Victorian supporter base happy is to enshrine it's culture as part of the new entity (colors, jumper design, song, club awards etc). Diluting these things in any way would have the Victorian supporters walk away in droves. The new entity would also have to garauntee 11 home games in Melbourne, and not the shizen deal that Roys supporters currently get from the AFL.

I guess that's my point. Such a new entity would be seen as just a Victorian plant and be about as popular as cancer over here. I assume you mean 11 games in Melbourne (not home games) and that would mean only 6 or 7 home games in Perth, which is really just a partial relocation that would be even less popular.

The whole point of relocation is to attract a larger support base. Whilst that doesn't mean drop the heritage, you do need to strongly embrace a local identity, otherwise locals won't have a bar of it and you may as well have stayed put. That's particularly the case where there are already a couple of existing local clubs that enjoy the bulk of support, as no Victorian club has even remotely close to enough fans over here to build a sustainable membership base from.

The problem I see with Joondalup is that the area is heartland for the Eagles already. How many of them are going to convert? You would need the bulk of them to do that to be a viable AFL club. I doubt many will at all.

Just the population increase alone would justify it i think. People have no idea whats happening here, Perth grew by over 50k this year. (that alone is a potential great membership tally lol) those figures are expected to continue. Thats an extra 200k in 4 years! Cities like Adelaide have grown just over 100k over the past 10 years.

Plenty of extra people that probably dont support either team really that could adopt a new team as their own. Also many Brits arriving that wouldnt have a team but would like to support a third team that joined. The whole northern corridor around and up past joondalup is experiencing huge growth.

I don't think a third team out of Perth would work.

Given what everyone is saying about population growth I don't think Perth can handle too many more people anyway, it is time we started building up our regional centres. Perhaps Geraldton or Bunbury could have population of around half a million in 15-20 years time, and could host a new team.

As far as relocations go, forget it, wont work. Needs to be a completely new team from scratch to get local support.

Edit: Maybe the strip between Margaret River and Bunbury will have a pop of half a million. A team based somewhere down there might be the go.

Just the population increase alone would justify it i think. People have no idea whats happening here, Perth grew by over 50k this year. (that alone is a potential great membership tally lol) those figures are expected to continue. Thats an extra 200k in 4 years! Cities like Adelaide have grown just over 100k over the past 10 years.

That doesn't mean shit if no-one is going to follow a new team.

Plenty of extra people that probably dont support either team really that could adopt a new team as their own.

Haven't seen any evidence of this, or at least that if these people do exist that they would have any inclination to follow a Joondalup side.
Joondalup doesn't exactly have much of an identity, it's just a suburb of Perth.

Joondalup's got an identity. Not a marketable identity, but an identity nonetheless.

At present there seems little hope of restoring the Bogan population to its previous levels. Recent attempts included the development of a new artificial habitat named 'Joondalup', but is seems this area may be too close to Perth to attract large numbers of the species. More successful is an enclosed breeding program called 'V8 Supercars', which takes place annually at the Barbagallo Raceway complex in Wanneroo. The program has proven highly effective, combining motor vehicles and bourbon with rampant displays of female sexuality.

http://www.ozjokes.com/jokes/26-pure-aussie/515-save-the-bogan

I reckon plenty of people who've spent up to a decade on the West Coast waiting list would be inclined to throw in the towel and join the new club.

I reckon the Eagles would aslo think so and would do what they could to stop a third team happening, at least until a new stadium is built and the waiting list gone.

I don't think a third team out of Perth would work.

Given what everyone is saying about population growth I don't think Perth can handle too many more people anyway, it is time we started building up our regional centres. Perhaps Geraldton or Bunbury could have population of around half a million in 15-20 years time, and could host a new team.

huh? Given what everyone is saying about population growth (what, that perth is the fastest growing capital city in Australia? lol) ....you have decided Perth cant handle anymore people? good one bud.

anyway...Whether or not Perth can handle a bigger population or not is beside the point and also beside your opinion, as the population IS currently growing and is going to grow regardless. You can argue Sydney cant handle its current population as it is with worse traffic, pollution etc. But thats not saying it wont continue to grow also. weak argument. On a world scale our cities are very small, including Melbourne ans Sydney. We can only expect them to get bigger.

Geraldton or Bunbury at 500k+ well sorry man its not a reality in 15-20 years. Mandurah yes possible for sure. But to write off Joondalup isnt smart as it is a major population corridor in Perth. This is speculation about possible locations in Perth/WA... you cant write off major growth areas, cos 'joondalup doesnt have an identity'? (which it does and which will have developed further within 20 years).

Joondalup doesn't exactly have much of an identity, it's just a suburb of Perth.

That's exactly why the City of Joodalup will be so keen on this - makes them a nationally recognised name.

After all, how many of us who don't live in Melbourne would ever have heard of the suburbs Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton, Richmond, Footscray etc if not for footy?

huh? Given what everyone is saying about population growth (what, that perth is the fastest growing capital city in Australia? lol) ....you have decided Perth cant handle anymore people? good one bud.

anyway...Whether or not Perth can handle a bigger population or not is beside the point and also beside your opinion, as the population IS currently growing and is going to grow regardless. You can argue Sydney cant handle its current population as it is with worse traffic, pollution etc. But thats not saying it wont continue to grow also. weak argument. On a world scale our cities are very small, including Melbourne ans Sydney. We can only expect them to get bigger.

Geraldton or Bunbury at 500k+ well sorry man its not a reality in 15-20 years. Mandurah yes possible for sure. But to write off Joondalup isnt smart as it is a major population corridor in Perth. This is speculation about possible locations in Perth/WA... you cant write off major growth areas, cos 'joondalup doesnt have an identity'? (which it does and which will have developed further within 20 years).

According to today's paper by 2025 our population will comprise a larger percentage of people migrating here from elsewhere than were actually born here.

Let's not assume those migrants will take to AFL in the same numbers as second or third generation Australians do.

Not to get political - but this population debate is a ticking time bomb. Expect talk of population caps to become more and more common. If we are to expand we need more than 6 capital cities.

Not disputing it would be good for Joondalup. Just asking where the supporters will come from given it's deep in Eagles heartland.

theyll come from other states, countries, people yet to be born! :D

you realise you dont need to live around freo to support fremantle right? i grew up in port hedland. many neutral areas in WA that people can choose to support a 3rd team in northern perth. Of course its just a scenario, but its more than saying 'well nobody will support it, next...'

you seem to point out the worst possible scenario (nobody will support a 3rd team based in perth) and go with that. If Western Sydney have been given the opportunity for a team to support, this is -if anything- just as viable.

According to today's paper by 2025 our population will comprise a larger percentage of people migrating here from elsewhere than were actually born here.

Let's not assume those migrants will take to AFL in the same numbers as second or third generation Australians do.

Not to get political - but this population debate is a ticking time bomb. Expect talk of population caps to become more and more common. If we are to expand we need more than 6 capital cities.

The vast MAJORITY of our immigrants are from Europe.

Not disputing it would be good for Joondalup.

no but you were disputing that joondalup wouldnt be good for a team, no identity, supporter base etc.

what the person was saying is with a team based around there it would enhance joondalup further, become recognised more nationally, more money potentially coming in etc. and both aspects would work together to benefit each other.

:thumbsu:

Plenty of extra people that probably dont support either team really that could adopt a new team as their own. Also many Brits arriving that wouldnt have a team but would like to support a third team that joined. The whole northern corridor around and up past joondalup is experiencing huge growth.

Perth has the lowest density of all the major capital cities. Not only does Perth have room between and around the outersuburbs but can also increase in density by allot to come up inline with Melbourne and Sydney. Perth also being a more modern city has larger reserves for future transport needs making urban and regional planning allot simpler.

Id certainly like to see a boarder to Perths Suburn growth where the city can't grow beyond. But that boundry would have to include Yanchep and Mandurah meaning all that land wont be filled till Perth is 3.5 million people!

Once that is filled land prices in the metro area would increase forcing more high density development and bringing trips on Public Transport up considerably more.

This would also make living in centres like Geralton more attractive with more land and lower prices.

theyll come from other states, countries, people yet to be born! :D

you realise you dont need to live around freo to support fremantle right? i grew up in port hedland. many neutral areas in WA that people can choose to support a 3rd team in northern perth. Of course its just a scenario, but its more than saying 'well nobody will support it, next...'

you seem to point out the worst possible scenario (nobody will support a 3rd team based in perth) and go with that. If Western Sydney have been given the opportunity for a team to support, this is -if anything- just as viable.

Very different situation. Western Sydney have a clear market where the vast bulk of people don't follow the game or at best have a passing interest. Their job is to target those people.

Joondalup come in and target the middle of Eagles heartland. There are very few people that don't follow the game, and those that do follow another club.

I'm not trying to be pessimistic, just trying to understand who the hell is going to follow them. The Royal Falcons isn't the worst idea i've heard, but the bulk of the old East and West Perth supporters i'd imagine are now Weagles.

IMO a team based in the Eastern suburbs is more likely to be a success. At least they've got an identity that people can relate to, even if it is a flannel shirt wearing bogan with his 17 year old girlfriend and their 4 kids.

I reckon plenty of people who've spent up to a decade on the West Coast waiting list would be inclined to throw in the towel and join the new club.

I reckon the Eagles would aslo think so and would do what they could to stop a third team happening, at least until a new stadium is built and the waiting list gone.

Why would you pay to be on a membership waiting list for West Coast then chuck in the towel to join a new club?

If you were dedicated enough to be on the waiting list then I doubt you'd jump off to join a new team given you could do that now and join Freo.

good idea but i would probably just make them the perth falcons. branding is important and joondalup royal falcons just doesnt seem to work.

i reckon that if they are going to bring in 2 more teams they probably need to do it before 2020 so they can get the expansion done and get the league disruption out of the way. i wouldnt be against them bringing them in earlier, although obviously the draft concessions would have to be toned down i think.

with 20 teams they can play each team once, home one year then away the next. this leaves room for maybe 2-3 nominated rivaly based replays to bring the season up to 22 or so. or even bring in SoO.

Expansion Third WA-Based AFL Club ??

Write your reply...