This Is Where We've Always Gone Wrong...

The saints have traded for rejects and are in another GF. Not all trades are bad. This year we have that dude from Port Adelaide who has been specifically employed to look at talent from other sides. Let him earn his keep.
Saints had a good core though. So did the Swans.
Ourt core is kids (Cotch, Jack, Dustin, Lids to an extent).
I think we need more youth.

And also Sydney. For some reason people think its the end of the world. Im all for it if we do it right and go after quality and not so called cheap rejects.

again i agree whats going on.
if you look at syd and saints they have not paid over the odds but have targeted proven players in the main or say in farren rays case a player who was an exceptional young talent who could perform a role.

stkilda gardiner an aa ruckman who nearly gave it away because of an inability to overcome injury. no questions about his talent.
steven king a similar story to gardiner an aa ruckman who at his best as good as any in the league the only question, keeping him healthy.

farren ray an exceptional extremely skinny kid was asked to go get it at wb and he was not not up to it physically. stkilda gave him more of an outside role and hes flourished.
gram was another who as a junior was highly rated struggled at brisbane but a clear case of more patience required as he had few glaring weaknesses.
dawson geez im with most given a choice to take him i wouldnt. in saying this i was one who said hawthorn ran out of patience one yr early is ound by foot and at 195 they dont grow on trees.
schnieder well a premiership player he is now what he was at sydney not polished enough for me but he does a job for stkilda.
in the main they have not taken any major risk with any of their recruits especially when one looks at what they paid. with a lot they were sure things.

Saints had a good core though. So did the Swans.
Ourt core is kids (Cotch, Jack, Dustin, Lids to an extent).
I think we need more youth.

Although I agree that recruiting good youth is best, you could hardly say we need more youth with the youngest list in the league!
What we need is guys with a good work ethic both on and off the field and good character. If they come from other clubs, the VFL, the TAC cup, or local leagues, I don't care. Obviously they have to have some talent as well.....

Although I agree that recruiting good youth is best, you could hardly say we need more youth with the youngest list in the league!
What we need is guys with a good work ethic both on and off the field and good character. If they come from other clubs, the VFL, the TAC cup, or local leagues, I don't care. Obviously they have to have some talent as well.....
no argument here.
What we need is talent.
That should be our mantra, but always with both eyes looking forward.:thumbsu:

I have 3 Tradies and 1 apprentice working for me. I would hate to think how I could survive with just 4 apprentices. Doesn’t matter what the business, whether Trade, Commerce or Footy, youth alone will get you nowhere.
I have no doubt you know what you are doing in the tradies world. You seem like an intelligent guy.
But work and professional footy are different.
Bazaar, in some respects the football world is a different world than the commercial world.

In many respects, there is no more transparent environment than playing footy
Ditto.

I have 3 Tradies and 1 apprentice working for me. I would hate to think how I could survive with just 4 apprentices. Doesn’t matter what the business, whether Trade, Commerce or Footy, youth alone will get you nowhere.

Would you employ a qualified tradie if his boss told you, or you had seen he was no good , or employ a good young 3rd year apprentice whose employer raves about him and who you have seen and rate highly ?
Experienced players don't have to be recruited from within the AFL where they have been given every opportunity to perform at their maximum !!
Or would you employ a qualified tradesperson to do apprentice duties or would you employ a qualified bookkeeper if you needed a tradesperson , because that's what receuiting Sherman and Houli would be like !!
Recruiting them for the role they play , they would be solely depth, which could be easily filled by someone untried whom has more scope .
Whilst they in absolutely in no way fill deficiencies !

Compare apples with apples mate.

Sherman's first few games were nowhere near as promising as Taylor's. With the right development, Taylor will be a gun.
Hey Taylor might well be a gun, but that is not the point. Comparing apples with apples is no good if both apples are moldy and worm invested, sheesh learn how to construct an argument.

no argument here.
What we need is talent.
That should be our mantra, but always with both eyes looking forward.:thumbsu:

here here well said and the argument in a nut shell.

there is only two ways to grow your list sometimes on rare occasions all clubs no matter the position they are in have to take a short term step and take the odd older player. the real trick is to continue to have youth as a focus our early picks have to be aimed at the quality youth in drafts but we also have to ensure the list grows and there is enough decent experienced players about the place to lead the way.

Must be a full moon approaching because now im even agreeing with you.

I'm gonna have to agree with MadTiger. Sherman has played some pretty good footy, and while he is an outside player, he's not soft. He will slot into our best 22. Houli i believe had a 90% efficiency in his disposal against the pies this year. The kid has pace and skill (and i'm not basing it on that one game). Both players can add to what talent we already have. And when you look at their age, they are still young guys. I have to laugh at the get rid of Nahas calls. Only last year were all pulling our puds over him, and now we want him gone, but we are gonna defend Tambling etc, etc. Tambling has had one good season, so has Nahas, why should one stay and one go??

Hey Taylor might well be a gun, but that is not the point. Comparing apples with apples is no good if both apples are moldy and worm invested, sheesh learn how to construct an argument.

I thought my argument was well constructed. Why don't you learn how to construct a sentence and spell properly?:eek: