Thomas and Keeffey had a successful first day back

So, do they get the same good will if one or both suffer a serious injury? (touch wood it doesn't happen) How safe is their list spot in that scenario?
Not very

Hence, why we're one of the worst centre clearance sides in the AFL.

Because our Suppose best one is just about the last player on our Depth Chart?

Still a Very Long Way Back for them.

No Sure I am big Fan on how Welcomed they where welcomed back after Missing a Season because of Drugs

Not about you, their team mates looked pretty stoked to have them back, that's all that matters at this stage.

Sent from my warped mind

Only to those who choose to believe the lie, eeerrrrr sorry, the story that they were innocent parties in the performance enhancing scenario.

Even if they took PEDs knowingly they have served their time. I get that this is a moral question for you but perhaps the time has come for you to accept that other people don't share your beliefs. In other words, move on!

Only to those who choose to believe the lie, eeerrrrr sorry, the story that they were innocent parties in the performance enhancing scenario.

Leave it alone mate - this was 2 years ago.
The reality is they both copped a 2 year suspension for having a PED in their system... how it got there is irrelevant as far as ASADA is concerned (except for rare cases) and should be irrelevent for us. One way or another they did the wrong thing. What matters next is how they have, and continue to, respond to that... and we will only be able to judge that over the coming months-to-years.
---

Personally I'm not convinced either has a future as a regular best 22 player.
Keefe is more likely to get there as he is guaranteed to get opportunities this year. Hopefully by mid-late 2017 he has either cemented himself as a best 22 FB, or is good enough (along with Dunn) to hold the spot until McClarty is ready.

Thomas has a lot of competition & I reckon odds are against him forcing his way into the rotation in the next 12 months.

Who cares. In the end they were found guilty of having something in the off season and served 2 yrs given to them. Still a lot better then the Essendope that got away with 1 season with deliberately misleading authorities.

Even if they took PEDs knowingly they have served their time. I get that this is a moral question for you but perhaps the time has come for you to accept that other people don't share your beliefs. In other words, move on!
Yeah, it's in the past, and the club has stuck by them. Hopefully time away from the game has them keen to atone for their sins. They provide instant experience in a young team. Keeffe is a vital addition given our lack of talls down back. Good luck to them.

l do not like any one taking performance enhancing drugs no matter how it is taken, but l also
believe in second chances. they have done the time for what they did so its time to let go
so l wish then all the best and hope they repay the faith shown in them, and play great footy
for us

Leave it alone mate - this was 2 years ago.
The reality is they both copped a 2 year suspension for having a PED in their system... how it got there is irrelevant as far as ASADA is concerned (except for rare cases) and should be irrelevent for us. One way or another they did the wrong thing. What matters next is how they have, and continue to, respond to that... and we will only be able to judge that over the coming months-to-years.
---

Personally I'm not convinced either has a future as a regular best 22 player.
Keefe is more likely to get there as he is guaranteed to get opportunities this year. Hopefully by mid-late 2017 he has either cemented himself as a best 22 FB, or is good enough (along with Dunn) to hold the spot until McClarty is ready.

Thomas has a lot of competition & I reckon odds are against him forcing his way into the rotation in the next 12 months.
You make a fair point.
But as I've said, and supported by my no longer paying a membership, I believe CFC is no better than Essendon in this matter.
And the fact that Keefe is being talked as best 22 shows just how desperate we are. And that desperation is an indictment on the coaching/recruiting staff.
We are not a destination club for genuine talent anymore. Unless you are a talent looking for a superannuation plan.
As far as the two convicted drug cheats are concerned, I'm happy for them to have tried their chances in the open draft. I'm still confused as to why we "swooped" to retain players who had to stay out of the elite system for two years.

You make a fair point.
But as I've said, and supported by my no longer paying a membership, I believe CFC is no better than Essendon in this matter.

And this is where I couldn't disagree more strongly.

The Essendon football club had systematic cheating in place (or at best, crossing into a very clear grey area where they knew it was questionable enough that things were covered up every step of the way), and when found out they did not put their hands up and cop the punishment (see Cronulla) instead fought it at every level and drew the whole saga out for much longer than it needed to - at huge detriment to its players and club. Those actions show absolutely no remorse or even acceptance that they had broken any rules.

Our club and our boys put their hands up straight away. They accepted they had done the wrong thing (whether PED or Illicit - it was a PED they tested positive for, and were banned for) and copped the punishment- and did so quietly and with no fanfare. Hopefully they have used these last 2 years to develop themselves as individuals, and time will tell how they perform on the football field.
No doubt there was a lot of "spin" in how our club responded to the positive test, but I think our club (/PR dept) couldn't have handled it any better.

Well, yeah.

You missed the last couple of season (and even before that) where we've been one of the worst sides in the AFL in centre clearances? What, you think Thomas has been maintained on our list through 2 coaches, injuries and drug use because of his personality and kicking skills?

I'm a huge Thomas Fan but if you think that our centre square clearance rates over the last 2 seasons have been poor purely because Thomas wasn't playing or available for selection, and that turning that around is as simple as playing him then I want some of whatever you're smoking. I remain optimistic he can return to senior footy but that is far from guaranteed, let alone the panacea to our midfield issues.

Well, yeah.

You missed the last couple of season (and even before that) where we've been one of the worst sides in the AFL in centre clearances? What, you think Thomas has been maintained on our list through 2 coaches, injuries and drug use because of his personality and kicking skills?

I think if this incident had not have occurred Thomas would have been gone by now. About same as Kennedy and Seedsman in standard.

Not arguing either.
Just wanted to point out the performance enhancer in pure form costs more than the illicit drug.
So which one was the "cut"?

But it is also used in trace amounts in other medications for treatment of bronchitis among other things which could easily be added to the manufacture of illicit drugs. Unless I'm mistaken it's also a salt formula. It may well be that they were both taking it as a performance enhancer but what confuses me is that people assume that is the truth rather than the version they've provided. What is the benefit? Are they less of a drug cheat? Would there be a greater/lesser penalty? Is it worth all the consternation either way?

As I see, they're guilty, they've served their penalty, welcome back. It doesn't need to be any more complicated than that.

You make a fair point.
And the fact that Keefe is being talked as best 22 shows just how desperate we are. And that desperation is an indictment on the coaching/recruiting staff.
We are not a destination club for genuine talent anymore. Unless you are a talent looking for a superannuation plan.
As far as the two convicted drug cheats are concerned, I'm happy for them to have tried their chances in the open draft. I'm still confused as to why we "swooped" to retain players who had to stay out of the elite system for two years.
Superannuation plans for 22 year olds like Treloar, Aish and Adams. Ok mate :drunk:

I'm glad they're both back and think they both have a bit to offer. I reckon Keeffe will find it easier and get back ito speed quicker, just because his position - assuming he gets played as a KPD - requires less nous and game awareness than a midfielder needs. Thomas will need more VFL games to get back up to speed.

People need to stop thinking top 22, the Bulldogs showed you have to run deep, at least 35 players that won't embarrass themselves on any given day so stop talking about if these players are in our best team, we don't live in that world anymore.

Keeffe has all the tools be a really good full back. It's really encouraging that he is so fit. Hopefully more hungry and mature from his time away also.

He has the tools physically not so sure mentally.

Also needs to get a harder edge to his game physicality wise.

if you think that our centre square clearance rates over the last 2 seasons have been poor purely because Thomas wasn't playing or available for selection, and that turning that around is as simple as playing him then I want some of whatever you're smoking.

Where in god's name did I imply that? Let alone say it?

All I ever said or even implied, was that Thomas was our best centre clearance player. That's it. I never even said he was a good or great one. Just OUR best one. That could still make him a terrible footballer.

I never even said getting Thomas back would improve our centre clearance rate. I simply said that given he's our best centre clearance player, I'd be worried if he had too many in front of him given how deplorable we are with centre clearances.

Seriously, Dave is rubbing off on far too many of you methinks.

Poster 1: "Player X is good at this one aspect of football"

BigFooty Collingwood board: "ZOMG are you saying he's BROWNLOW MEDAL MATERIAL NOW??! OMG you know ntohing omg !!!1!11!!"

I mean jesus christ folks.

I think if this incident had not have occurred Thomas would have been gone by now. About same as Kennedy and Seedsman in standard.

You may very well be right. I still believe he's our best centre clearance option as it stands right now. Now, before you misconstrue my words as saying Thomas is the greatest footballer in the AFL, allow me to point out that all I'm saying, is that Thomas is arguably OUR best centre clearance player. That means nothing more than that. The other aspects of his game are merely ok as far as I"m concerned.

But given we are an atrocious centre clearance team, I'd be surprised if we decided to move on a player that costs us very little, has senior experience and whose strength is the one area of the game where our team is weakest.