Thornton Solution

Man City Blues!

Suspended
Richmond are prepared to offload pick 8 for polak and pick 13. why don't we jump in and offer Thornton and pick 19 for richmond's pick 8.

pick 8 would give us an opportunity to draft one of the following

Gibbs, Luenberger, Sellar, Hansen, Gumbleton, Thorp, Selwood, and Jetta

Sounds like a decent idea - we'd need to throw in a bit more than pick 19 though.

Possibly try something like
Thornton, pick 19 and pick 23 to Richmond
Russell and pick 35 to Port
Pick 8, pick 26 and pick 42 to Carlton

Richmond give up pick 8, 26, 42 for Thornton, 19 and 23
Port give up 23 for Russell and pick 35
Carlton give up Thornton, Russell, 19 and 35 for pick 8, 26 and 42

Seems pretty fair from all sides to me, and solves our Thornton and Russell problems all in one go

Man City Blues! said:
Richmond are prepared to offload pick 8 for polak and pick 13. why don't we jump in and offer Thornton and pick 19 for richmond's pick 8.

i dont see a reason why not. i believe both teams will benefit from this deal and t-bird doesnt deserve to have a say where he goes if he doesnt like richmond he can stay at carlton.

wonder what will happen if he gets picked up by another club i;m hoping he gose to a club he dosn;t want to got to i'll be laughing
be similar to Nick Stevens did he go to the club he wanted which was Collingwood No ;) so could be alal stevens and end up at a club he didn;t want :)

Man City Blues! said:

The problem is that Thornton only want to play for the dawks he is really homesick and needs to be in the eastern suburbs. Richmond is way to close to town.

murph#3 said:
i dont see a reason why not. i believe both teams will benefit from this deal and t-bird doesnt deserve to have a say where he goes if he doesnt like richmond he can stay at carlton.

We can't just trade him without him agreeing to go there. On the other hand if he ends up in the PSD he has no say.

bluey blue said:
The problem is that Thornton only want to play for the dawks he is really homesick and needs to be in the eastern suburbs. Richmond is way to close to town.

Nothing wrong with the Eastern Suburbs mate

Does anyone know what the AFL rules are in trading him to an Uzbhekistahni human trafficker so he can work in the sex trade ?

I was all for teaching this bloke a lesson, but I reckon a better lesson would be trading him for an empty sauce packet, a half eaten snot sandwhich and used pass to teh STD clinic. Just to let him know what hes worth. Imagine reading in the paper, "Thornton traded to Tigers for pot of beer".

kolchak said:
I think all DAWK supporters should start referring to blues supporters as FARTons.

Is Thornton originally from Tassie, perhaps that's why he is so keen on going there with the pending relocation of the club :)