Those few matches in 1989

• Thread starter Thread starter Mobbs

Fitzroy FC
Remember we got off to a flying start in '89, winning a number of matches.

Then there was a dark patch, where we lost about five in a row, including that shocker in the wet at PP against North.

Following that, though, there were big wins, against Richmond, North (can't remember what order), then my favourite match, against Melbourne.

We beat WCE by about five goals, but then it went awry, especially with the injury to Ossie against Collingwood.

Those wins against the Tiges on so on were awesome, with Osborne virtually unstoppable.

Anyone else remember those matches with glee?

We put in some terrific performances in '89 (along with some not-so-terrific ones).

Some of my memorable moments...
Rd.1 - The last gasp loss to Melbourne at the G with Ossie kickin' 8. Tingay on debut snapped the winner for Melbourne...a kick that, had it have missed completely, would have put us in the finals instead of Melbourne!

Rd.3 - Brilliant game of football v. St. Kilda at Waverley. Plugger boots 8.2 and Ossie snags 7.8. Roys win by 10 pts

Rd.5 - Came from 32pts down at 3qt to beat Geelong by the narrowest of margins at PP, thanks to Kevin "She drives Me Crazy" Caton's 60 metre poster.

Rd.12 - Ran over the top of the Bears at Carrara with the Doctor kicking 7 (goals, that is) and Conlan getting 5.

Rd.16 - Walloping North at the G to avenge the 1 goal game from rd.11. Lynchy took the mark o' the year.

Rd.17 - More vengeance, this time against Richmond to make up for the rd. 22 embarrassment of the previous season.

Rd.18 - Now known as 'The Mobbenfuhrer Memorial Match'. 11 to Ossie; 17.8 to 5.5 after half time...'nuff said.

Rd.20 - That shocker against the Pies. :(

Rd.21 - The ignomony of losing to the Bears in Melbourne in front of two men and no dogs.

But of course, the best was saved 'til last when the ressies won the cup!

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Rd.21 - The ignomony of losing to the Bears in Melbourne in front of two men and no dogs.

I was there, on the outer at VFL Park ... were you the other bloke? I didn't bring the dog, either. Sheeze the crowd was low.

1989 was also the year I got married.

The Cannibal Caton match was the perfect start for my Buck's Night. The same day saw Doc Wheildon debut in the Magoos, kicking about 8 goals from the forward pocket. A mate & I took great delight in shouting "DOCTAAAAAH!" every time he went near the ball. I don't think he was ever called Darren again, after that day.

Footscray beat us by about a point on my wedding day (12th Anniversary tomorrow), starting a slump that lasted for my entire honeymoon, until I dragged Mrs Pizza along to Carrara on the last day of the honeymoon, to see the match Mr Ripper referred to earlier. We may have been in Qld, but we were "back in town".

The wins towards the end of that year were sensational. The atmosphere around the club was electric & the theme song was sung with much gusto. Then came Collingwood & the Bears.

That Reserves Grand Final was a classic though.