Those who where at the 97/98 Grand Finals?

drakeyv2 said:
After running amock all night after the win we went back to our accomodation & conceived our son, so it was a big weekend all round.

:eek:

And how is young Darren Andrew Andrew Shaun Nigel Mark Mark Mark Shane Matthew Matthew Ben Ben David Peter Peter Simon Kane James Brett Tyson Kym Malcolm Drakey going these days ? :D

marvin said:
Trust me Kirky - I was about 8 rows from the back in the Ponsford bottom tier, and you couldn't see Jars from there either (other than on the big screen). We were basically going up on the roar from the other end. However, I can still picture Shane Ellen drifting in all alone on the goal line to mark virtually unopposed as if it happened 5 minutes ago - and I guess the fans down the other end didn't get to see that one. :D .

Tell me about it. We were couldn't have been further from the action in that last quarter. We were right at the top of the city end stand. Couldn't wait to get home to see the tape so I could see what I missed.

marvin said:
I spent the night outside the MCG on Brunton Avenue - and thanking the nice 3AW announcer (well, I'm told it was 3AW) who kept reminding all the drivers going along the road that there was a bunch of Crows fans attempting to get a bit of rest, resulting in us being serenaded by horns all night. It was all worth it 5 nights later.

Yeah it was 3AW (the Herald Sun for people that can't read). We ended up taking down phone numbers off the side of the trucks that were doing it and prank calling their business all week!:D

dyertribe said:
I don't know whether it was the cockiness of youth or blind faith, but even at halftime I thought we were never in doubt while all the older fans around me (probably Glenelg supporters) wailed and bemoaned the imminent loss.

Ease up DT! :p

Never in doubt, even at half time? You must be one optimistic individual.

I was there and will be there again this year when the mighty crows win again!

were the pride of south australiaaaa...

I was there in 98 in the Great southern stand and what i remember is just how quiet and totally shell shocked the north supporters were after the game. It was as if they could not comprehend they had lost and consequently were too shattered to say anything. Remember seeing thousands of them shuffling out and the looks on their faces was something different to supporters of other losing GF teams. It Stuck in my mind.

crows97.jpg

Absolutely awesome. Sat in the back row of the GSS which was a problem for the Fudd show in the last quarter - we didn't get to see all his shots for goal, just the ball going through the top of the sticks.

Just a big heaving mass of Crows fans is all I remember, with the ticketing placing Adelaide and Saints fans bay by bay the goading was immense depending on the state of play.

When Aussie scored his wundergoal in the first quarter they went nuts believing that a second flag was their destiny. When we began to storm home off the back of Jarman, McLeod and Caven - and then put it beyond doubt - we just let loose.

The "we hate you because you're Victorian" chant was immense. It felt as though the entire stand was shaking - and the only retort received was tears.

The C-Grade Australian celebrity spotting on the way to and from the tennis centre afterwards was pretty decent too - Ron Barassi, Brent Williams (a native Melbournite, yet asked me - decked out in Crows beanie and guernsey - how to get to such and such a train station), Matthew Collins, Tasma Walton, Tony Ronaldson, Andrew Startin.

crows98.jpg

Sat in the front row of the GSS this time. I didn't think this one had as good an atmosphere either - what with both clubs supporters' now well used to the MCG in September, rather than the sheer hope and expectation of both sets of supporters the year before.

Apart from the onfield action, the highlights for me were the bluecoats who threatened to chuck us out for throwing streamers, "they cause fights"; and the Kangas skinhead who tried his hardest to break his chair with his bare hands while threatening me after I pointed to the scoreboard.

I don't know whether it was the cockiness of youth or blind faith, but even at halftime I thought we were never in doubt while all the older fans around me (probably Glenelg supporters) wailed and bemoaned the imminent loss.

Did you go to our losing grand final, what was it like as a crow supporter dealing with richmond fans?

I was there as a 15 year old in 1997. Was an amazing experience for a 15 year old. We were sitting behind goals. Was right behind Ellen where he took the mark in the goal square in the third. 1998 we were not so lucky. In 1997 my brother stayed in Melbourne and got our tickets on Monday morning. 1998 he came back home and even slept the night before in the line for tickets. Unfortunately no Gold back then and tickets sold out before he got to the front

Did you go to our losing grand final, what was it like as a crow supporter dealing with richmond fans?

5B51C463-7F4D-410A-9F15-623726A029C7.jpeg

In the AFL members surrounded by Tiger fans and a lone Crow fan behind me (who left at some point in the 3rd quarter). In the last quarter told the Richmond fan, “you’ve got this and enjoy it”, and all I got was abuse and foul language. Hope the mother *ers never win another one as far as I’m concerned.

97- nose bleed behind one of the goals. Group of about 6 of us. We asked the two people on the aisle if they wanted to move down as we would be drinking heavily. No, well big mistake. We were up and down all day. Spilt a beer on myself pretty early, stuffed toilet paper down my jeans to soak up the beer. By the end of the game the paper was gone, so must have been dropping it all over the G. How embarrassing.
Spilt some beer on the person in front and gave them $20 for the pleasure.
Stressed out until the last 5 mins.
Got into the tennis centre after so was sweet.

98- missed out on tickets after family members lined up all weekend, only a few from the front. Lying in bed on the Friday and MMM announce they are releasing standing room tickets, race down there but huge line. Luckily my brother in law who didn’t even have a membership ticket was driving past and got a spot in the line. Bought enough tickets for 2 car loads and we were off in an hour.

Originally standing room was packed so we moved more to the pocket, partial blocked view but we had heaps of room. Toilets, food and bar behind us, sweet. Only knobs were Collingwood supporters who were behind us previously who told us to get out of their ground. I advised them this was our ground as we were going back to back and they were no where. The pile ons in the last qtr were huge. Again got into the tennis centre.

Also went to 17 which sucked after the first qtr. Sat numb after half time. Lost a lot of money at the casino the next day so apart from Friday night the weekend sucked!

17 Richmond had nothing on 02 Collingwood for sheer numbers of inbred campaigners.

Had zero issues in 17 actually. Even had a yarn to a few in the city on Sunday and they commented on how they’d only met nice crows supporters.

97 was in standing room in the GSS, lined up directly with fudds shanahan “in the context of the game you don’t want to see those paid, no * off biased Victorian campaigners this flag is ours” free.

98 went to the McLeod and Robran show the week before, no luck with GF tix.

Oh and I went to 119. That was interesting.

I was at the 97 QF against West Coast if that counts?

We were behind the goals and everyone was giving Sumich a heap of stick - The old classic 'if it was a hamburger you'd have taken that mark'
He had a stinker - I think it was his last game?

I was at the 97 QF against West Coast if that counts?

We were behind the goals and everyone was giving Sumich a heap of stick - The old classic 'if it was a hamburger you'd have taken that mark'
He had a stinker - I think it was his last game?
Not sure that counts as it was at footy park. Don’t think there was s member not there

97- nose bleed behind one of the goals. Group of about 6 of us. We asked the two people on the aisle if they wanted to move down as we would be drinking heavily. No, well big mistake. We were up and down all day. Spilt a beer on myself pretty early, stuffed toilet paper down my jeans to soak up the beer. By the end of the game the paper was gone, so must have been dropping it all over the G. How embarrassing.

As were we - the end we kicked to in the last quarter. I would have been about 20, and did my share of drinking. There were a lot of crows fans around up there as i remember it.

Same end, I think you owe me a beer.

I paid a scalper $500 to go in 97 when I was 19 (after spending 3 hrs trying to get through to Ticketmaster on the phone), sat behind the left point post at the Ponsford Stand end. There is a close up of me chanting 'Adelaide' half way through the 3rd qtr after we kicked a goal. A mate who also paid a scalper and I got there when the gates open, drank heeeeaps before pre match entertainment, then nothing till after the game. Saw Nikki Visser while we were there. Remember the pre match entertainment as being pretty good, Marina Prior still the best version of Advance Australia Fair at the GF imo. Remember us being a point up early and saying 'at least we were in front in a GF' as there were no real expectations. Felt the Saints were all over us in the 2nd, but as the 3rd went on we were playing some good footy and the crowd was liiiiifting. Then the Jarman show, it was high 5s all round and noone could believe it. Sang the Crows song about 20 times after the game, went to the Tennis Centre for the post match function but it was boring and the players were taking too long. Stumbled around the CBD after that bar hopping, the Vics were pretty good saying 'well done' to us. Probably helped that not many really care about St Kilda

98 I went to the prelim which was awesome, McLeods game that day was the best I've seen from a Crows player. Drove back and slept overnight at the Myer Centre, right in front of an ATM which had a bright light. Was almost back at the start (they were selling them from Rebel Sport), and had to go the whole way round the block. Was about 20m from the front when they sold out, was filthy as they only had about 3 computers. Apparently if we'd stayed in Melb could've walked straight in in the morning and got them in 5 mins. Went to BBQ at a mates place to watch the game with the lads, Crows were getting pumped in the first half and we went to the park at half time for a kick. Everyone else had given up, but I went back for the start of the 3rd qtr and watched it with my mates parents, by the time everyone else got back we were in front!

Went in 17 as well, was pretty confident. Night before went to the Duke of Wellington, heaps of Crows fans and ex players including Roo there, was awesome. Had some beers in the village outside the next morning. Didn't eat enough but the atmosphere was amazing. Really enjoyed The Killers, and our seats were great in the top tier of the Olympic Stand on the flank. Crows started well, but you could tell we were off even when we were in front. Were very lucky to be as close as we were at half time, I said to a Richmond bloke in the loos that we were close enough, and we could blow them away if we play like we can in the 2nd half. The 3rd was worse, and the 4th was just party time for Tigers fans, we just didn't give a yelp after the first part of the match really. I would've left early but CBF giving the Tiger fans an excuse to have a go. Although generally I think the people we came across were alright. Was pumped for a massive night out, but went to the Duke again only because I needed food. Then back to the hotel straight away before scurrying home the next morning. I think part of it was that the players were a bit like me, expecting it to happen because it had been happening. Hope we can get back there.

17 Richmond had nothing on 02 Collingwood for sheer numbers of inbred campaigners.

Had zero issues in 17 actually. Even had a yarn to a few in the city on Sunday and they commented on how they’d only met nice crows supporters.

97 was in standing room in the GSS, lined up directly with fudds shanahan “in the context of the game you don’t want to see those paid, no **** off biased Victorian campaigners this flag is ours” free.

98 went to the McLeod and Robran show the week before, no luck with GF tix.

Oh and I went to 119. That was interesting.
I was next to the port cheer squad for 119. it was amazing