Thoughts from Crows V Swans game

• Thread starter Thread starter macca23

macca23 said:
I am concerned though, whatever the reason be. On what I had seen in the U'18's I was ecstatic when we got him, and watching pre-season last year, he was oustanding at training. He's certainly below the level he was at last year whatever the reason, and that's a worry.

I also expected him to have built up his chest area in the off season, but that's not the case either.

This is my concern Macca.......I was wrapped when we got him...and followed his SANFL form very closely last year..

From what I've seen he has gone backwards this year.....I've been using the OP excuse til now but I fear it is something more fundamental than that...I reckon there could be a grey matter issue....

Mad Dog said:
This is my concern Macca.......I was wrapped when we got him...and followed his SANFL form very closely last year..

From what I've seen he has gone backwards this year.....I've been using the OP excuse til now but I fear it is something more fundamental than that...I reckon there could be a grey matter issue....
That's my point lets not use too many excuses.

It could be as simple as 2nd year blues - having OP may have had some affect on his attitude and work effort - more likely in a 19 year old.

Give him some real games in SANFL then lets judge him a month into the season.

Mad Dog said:
Fantastic post mate.......I couldn't agree more.......I'll take that ham sandwich anyday.....

If I was the selectors and had to pick between Burton and Mattner, it would be Mattner everytime, Burton is becoming and idiot, he has been around awhile yet he still dont get it, I say trade him to some farmer, with a big paddock of saltbush and let the moron loose in there.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Unfortunately, I cannot see Bode ever improving his disposal. Given Shirley is just as good as an in & under player, & more useful as a tagger, & better disposal, wouldn't we play him ahead of Bode against the Weagles?
No I still think Bode has a big part to play in the side. I think he is still in the best 22 if not best 18. Its not a matter of him improving his disposal. He has been a damaging player in the past and his disposal hasn't been better than it is now. He needs to be a bit more efficient in where he kicks the ball not neccessarily if he kicks the target.

As I said, I still think Bode is in our best line up.

maccas_no1 said:
I have always rated Mattner and think he is a terrific tough player, shows no fear and gets in a gives a contest everytime.

Now dont you guys shoot me down as this is hypothetical:

Burton obviously doesnt have alot of footy smarts about him and from the sounds of things had a shocker last night, if Burton shows no further improvement during 2005 and continues to play dumb football, do we look at Mattner and try to develop him to play more on the wing??? What would Burton be worth on the trade market?? I know all I would give the AFC for him is a ham sandwich.
Marty, I think we will play Mattner on one wing and Burton on the other. I have absolutely no problem with playing Marty on the wing based on the 3 games I have watched so far this year. Despite a couple of his brain explosions I still think he was among our best players in each of the 3 games. He is a good player but he is frustrating because you know he could be a LOT better if he could improve his thinking a bit.

Burton is a very good player when on song but the problem is that he takes ages to get into form and then he gets injured. I would be looking to trade Burton but I would be VERY susprised if AFC go down that path.

macca23 said:
I'm sure they were playing to instructions from the coach, but didn't have the common sense to modify it for the weather conditions. After half time they did - once again obviously on coach's instructions.

Rucci was trying to suggest the panic theory in his pathetic article in the 'tiser today, whereas common sense tells you that they are trying to introduce a heap of changes into their style of play and aren't quite there yet.

Ruccci's 3 articles on the 3 pre-season games so far have been quite disgraceful and smell of trying to inflict psychological doubt in the minds of everyone associated with the Crows, rather than report it in an impartial manner. Fkwit!!
I tuned in this morning and I was just shocked that he said Mattner had a shocker against the Swans. I mean WTF?????? What game was he watching??????:confused:

Wayne's-World said:
Big call, but maybe right given Wiseby's opinion (I'm not saying he's right OK) was that he lacked footy smarts and intensity.

I'll see him next week at Optus and make a judgement.

Again like Bulk = Agression, I do not believe Skills = Footy Smarts ;)
I am not sure that you will see him at Optus Oval because Craig said he will pick his best 22 available to play against Melbourne at OO. He will take one emergency with the team but he will not play and will come back and play with his SANFL side on saturday. Going purely on his game against the Swans, Schuey won't get a game.

PerthCrow said:
Actually I did forget one question

Did they seem to kick to the top of the square? Or were conditions once again not ideal to see that?

Against Port I saw a lot of kicks deliberately kicked to the top of the square and wondered if this continued.

Cheers in advance

Oh and Kane good looking side that one apart from S Stevens for Begley for mine.
Yes we did mate. We are going deep into the forward line. If there is not a clear option in the 30-40 meter region we just go long to the top of the square on most occasions.

Stiffy_18 said:
Burton is a very good player when on song but the problem is that he takes ages to get into form and then he gets injured. I would be looking to trade Burton but I would be VERY susprised if AFC go down that path.

Burton ********s me like no other player, he is like a kid at an empty footy ground just kicking it and then chasing it and kicking it again, we can do alot better than Burton, I lay my ham sandwich on the table..............any takers?????

Stiffy_18 said:
I tuned in this morning and I was just shocked that he said Mattner had a shocker against the Swans. I mean WTF?????? What game was he watching??????:confused:

Rucci is a fkg disgrace this year. IMO, he appears to be using his position to try and play mind games with anyone connected with the Adelaide Football Club. Reluctant with any credit, over the top with any criticism, and continually trying to discredit the thought of any miniscule degree of success at all this year, virtually all his articles are put downs.

I read his review of last night's game and you would think that we were thrashed with the way his usual put down article is written.

On the opposite page was a slightly bigger article which was a preview of the Port trial match. On the tone of that article the other 15 teams combined couldn't beat Port, let alone poor old Collingwood. :rolleyes:

I didn't listen to 5AA this morning because of that w*nker and fortunately I didn't hear that ridiculous comment. Mattner could be criticized for 3 bad errors of judgement he made in the first half of the game, but deserves enormous praise for the balance of it. If Rucci could write as well as Mattner played last night, he might actually write a fair, balanced informative article rather than the tripe he has been serving up this year. The coach of the Crows, Neil Craig, publicly praised Mattner for his game, and I think he would have just a wee smidgeon more of football naus than ferrethead.

Lift your game, Rucci. Journalistically speaking, you've lost all objectivity, and deteriorated into an absolute tosser with the rubbish you've served up this year. :mad:

maccas_no1 said:
Burton ********s me like no other player, he is like a kid at an empty footy ground just kicking it and then chasing it and kicking it again, we can do alot better than Burton, I lay my ham sandwich on the table..............any takers?????

No offence, But you can stick your ham sandwhich up your ass! I think Burton deserves to stay around for at least a little bit longer! Go the Bird Man!

macca23 said:
Rucci is a fkg disgrace this year. IMO, he appears to be using his position to try and play mind games with anyone connected with the Adelaide Football Club. Reluctant with any credit, over the top with any criticism, and continually trying to discredit the thought of any miniscule degree of success at all this year, virtually all his articles are put downs.

I read his review of last night's game and you would think that we were thrashed with the way his usual put down article is written.

On the opposite page was a slightly bigger article which was a preview of the Port trial match. On the tone of that article the other 15 teams combined couldn't beat Port, let alone poor old Collingwood. :rolleyes:

I didn't listen to 5AA this morning because of that w*nker and fortunately I didn't hear that ridiculous comment. Mattner could be criticized for 3 bad errors of judgement he made in the first half of the game, but deserves enormous praise for the balance of it. If Rucci could write as well as Mattner played last night, he might actually write a fair, balanced informative article rather than the tripe he has been serving up this year. The coach of the Crows, Neil Craig, publicly praised Mattner for his game, and I think he would have just a wee smidgeon more of football naus than ferrethead.

Lift your game, Rucci. Journalistically speaking, you've lost all objectivity, and deteriorated into an absolute tosser with the rubbish you've served up this year. :mad:

Im really surprised you people even read what he writes, he's a Port man, they won the flag and the AFC are the cellar dwellar's he aint going to praise us, give the tosser any opportunity what-so-ever and he will slam the AFC, typical Port supporter really, simple dont read his tripe. When I lived in SA or even when I come to SA for footy or whatever I dont even buy the 'tiser' unless Im going bush and need something to start a camp fire with ;)

Now I have been as critical of Mattner as anyone, probably more but as you said he made about 3 errors fro the entire game and one of those really frustrated me BUT Marty's overall game last night was VERY VERY good. His 3rd quarter was a match winning performance. Seriously, he single handedly lifted the team in that 3rd quarter. He just led the way with his attack on the ball and his tackling and just him breaking the lines and kicking it long. For anyone to say he was ordinary is really taking the ******** out of us. Despite his 3 errors Marty still played one of his best games for the club.

Jericho_Rox said:
No offence, But you can stick your ham sandwhich up your ass! I think Burton deserves to stay around for at least a little bit longer! Go the Bird Man!

Burton is entering his 7th season of AFL football yet runs around like a 10yr kid every week, he wont ever learn he burns the ball, he has no footy brain and goes for every mark to try and take a speccy and ends up getting the back and free against him, he plays one position remotely well and that is FF, he is useless on the wing but yet the AFC persist, WHY????? :mad:

Ham Sandwich take it or leave it????

Stiffy_18 said:
Now I have been as critical of Mattner as anyone, probably more but as you said he made about 3 errors fro the entire game and one of those really frustrated me BUT Marty's overall game last night was VERY VERY good. His 3rd quarter was a match winning performance. Seriously, he single handedly lifted the team in that 3rd quarter. He just led the way with his attack on the ball and his tackling and just him breaking the lines and kicking it long. For anyone to say he was ordinary is really taking the ******** out of us. Despite his 3 errors Marty still played one of his best games for the club.

How old is he stiffy???? I reakon a bit more bulk and a settling a bit more and really thinking about the way he plays, the kid could seriously be a gun, I have always admired Mattner and love his attack on the footy.

Mattner > Burton ;)

spindoctor said:
I'm talking in general about your defense of Schuback.

And Watts isn't completely different. These days, with the preparation they receive, even tall draftees, particularly first-round ones, are able to at least make some sort of impact in their first few seasons, that they need years before they are unveiled is a complete fallacy and no longer relevant. Watts seems to be going further BACKWARDS with every senior game...he slid off with the Eagles, he slid off ciwth the Crows after a somewhat promising opening game against the Bulldogs. I'm worried he's losing his focus on the game, and that he may not have the right body type - or the right atittude to developing it - to play a role in our forward line.

Kenny took 3 years, Perrie about the same...Watts needs time. Simple as that. Thing is Watts has to keep on the straight and narrow and not go off the rails like Jonathon Ross and Fernee did.

maccas_no1 said:
How old is he stiffy???? I reakon a bit more bulk and a settling a bit more and really thinking about the way he plays, the kid could seriously be a gun, I have always admired Mattner and love his attack on the footy.

Mattner > Burton ;)
Turns 23 this year.

maccas_no1 said:
Burton is entering his 7th season of AFL football yet runs around like a 10yr kid every week, he wont ever learn he burns the ball, he has no footy brain and goes for every mark to try and take a speccy and ends up getting the back and free against him, he plays one position remotely well and that is FF, he is useless on the wing but yet the AFC persist, WHY????? :mad:

Ham Sandwich take it or leave it????

I still reckon he has his good points... Take it or Leave it? Wait until I get REALLY hungry ;)

Ozzie said:
Kenny took 3 years, Perrie about the same...Watts needs time. Simple as that. Thing is Watts has to keep on the straight and narrow and not go off the rails like Jonathon Ross and Fernee did.
Thats a fair comment too. I am not aware of his love for the love night but that could be a big concern. Lets hope he has his head screwed on the right way.

People say he hasn't put on any kgs but he is 2kg heavier than last year but he looks trimmer. He got rid of the puppy fat and thats harder to do than to put on muscle from now on. He will bulk up and when he does he will be better for it. Give the kid some time. Talls generally take 3 years. He might take a bit longer but I think he will make it IF his attitude is right. This time last year everyone was rubbishing Hentschel and he came good in the end :)

Jericho_Rox said:
I still reckon he has his good points... Take it or Leave it? Wait until I get REALLY hungry ;)

I'm with you on this one. Burton is very frustrating with his brain fades, but we simply don't have better at this stage. If we didn't play any players who have brain fades, we'd only field half a team. :eek:

macca23 said:
I'm with you on this one. Burton is very frustrating with his brain fades, but we simply don't have better at this stage. If we didn't play any players who have brain fades, we'd only field half a team. :eek:
:D

Unfortunately thats very true. Birdbrain is a good player but we just have to use him right and he needs to be given a couple of team rules that he really needs to stick to. Rule 1: Don't spoil your team-mates.

Mad Dog said:
:(

I'd like to officially put myself on the record as being concerned about Watts as a long term prospect for our club.

Evidence:

He loves the nightlife
He loves to lairise on the field
Given his body shape...he may be injury prone
His old man will devote his career to getting him to the Saints
He is bored with Adelaide

I hope I am wrong...I will be happy to incur the wrath of all and sundry if I am.........I've been a big fan of the young fella since he was drafted - but I'm starting to get this horrible feeling.......... :(

*waits for others to present convincing arguments detailing the good signs so far*

Mad dog,
where I tend to agree with you is this:
notwithstanding the player he may or may not become, if he were playing for the saints and their supporters were going on like pork chops about what a great prospect he is, what would we say?

I suspect we wouldn't be too receptive to the idea, and would point out all the obvious shortcomings. Our optimism is purely one of need, and that he plays for our club.
Note I am not saying we should be pessimistic either, time will tell, however he has not shown too many signs yet of being the answer for us.

Crow-mosone said:
Mad dog,
where I tend to agree with you is this:
notwithstanding the player he may or may not become, if he were playing for the saints and their supporters were going on like pork chops about what a great prospect he is, what would we say?

I suspect we wouldn't be too receptive to the idea, and would point out all the obvious shortcomings. Our optimism is purely one of need, and that he plays for our club.
Note I am not saying we should be pessimistic either, time will tell, however he has not shown too many signs yet of being the answer for us.
Think what the reservations are based upon is the comments of him being The champion CHF we have never had and building our whole forward line around him for the next 10 years.

Big statements and little to support the hypothesis ATS.