Thoughts on Kelly Underwood?

You're a dick head mate. Its a miracle you can actually hit the keyboard with those fatass fingers of yours..

Big Col Grogson...have another beer pal... I think you need to settle the nerves down a bit. Take off those granny glasses , put the feet up , take a stress pill...and relax ole boy.

Its only a game.

I doubt she supports Geelong, I think she was probably just jumping on something she could comment about that wouldn't be wrong. (Gee this Cats player is good, Gary Ablett = superstar, etc)

Hate her voice and sounds like a radio commentator just giving a play by play and falling behind what is happening on the field.

Radio commentator, well rex is the best radio commentator imo, and he seems to do just fine on tv (well did before 7 lost the rights originally).

If she is just simply jumping on geelong players, unfortunately it shows a lack of knowledge, blind person who doesnt follow footy can see that ablett is a good footy player.

I was rapt when Terry Wallace got a coaching job, because it meant he was no longer commentating on Fox. His shrill voice was horrible to listen to and made the game unbearable to watch, especially when hungover.

Underwood sounds much the same; a high-pitched voice is not fun to listen to for extended periods. There's a bunch of horrible commentators out there now and she has to be at the bottom of the pile.

I found it strange to hear a woman commentating, and her voice was a bit draining after a quarter or so. But beyond that, the thing that annoyed me the most was the Bruce-style congratulatory comments every time a Cat made a good pass/tackle/mark. I couldn't care less if all the commentators were chicks, I hardly think there are any decent male ones around these days. At least she wasn't trying to be all matey and chummy and Brayshaw-y and make up dumb nicknames like the other boys-club morons who commentate...

and seriously, if KB says 'trips the light fantastic' one more time on an SEN call, I'll smash the other three speakers that do work in my car. Honestly, what the ***** does that mean?

It honestly seemed to me like i was watching the netball. Im trying not to mean that in a sexist way but all she did was retell names and plays without adding any insight or opinion beyond the constant hindesight praise of geelong.

She didnt appear to have any real depth of knowledge of either the game or the players and she struck me as a very average choice.

Call me sexist or cynical but i cannot see any reason why she would be chosen to commentate. Could it be simply that she got a gig because she is female?

Whoa, I thought she was bad when I watched 'The Winners'; watching the replay now on Fox, it sounds like I'm watching Ch31 or the VFA when she's commentating. Absolutely putrid.

and seriously, if KB says 'trips the light fantastic' one more time on an SEN call, I'll smash the other three speakers that do work in my car. Honestly, what the ***** does that mean?

To "trip the light fantastic" is to dance nimbly or lightly, or to move in a pattern to musical accompaniment.

...but I hate KB too mate.

Tokenism at its best.

If Kelli was a Kel the position would not have been offered. Simple as that.

Worst caller I have heard on the TV, of any sport. (even Eastlake, Liz Smythe)

1. Barracked for Geelong, Took pot shots at Dees. Impartial (even attempted) much?
2. Did not understand, or was unable to relay, anything beyond basics
3. Did not know the majority of the players
4. Was well behind the ball in her call
5. Put on a voice (notice it change from the play to the breaks)
6. Cliche after cliche after cliche after ...

Sure, others are bad. Shizen even.

Adding Kelli just lowered the caller AVERAGE below shizen. Thanks very much.

We have enough crap callers already without tokenism gifting us another.

BTW.

Kelli has 2 more games to call. Both happen to be Geelong games.

You would think, if she wanted an ongoing gig, that learning a bit
about the three teams OTHER than Geelong would be a good idea.

You would think.

Bloody annoying voice. Not appropriate for a commentator, sounds like a pub bogan. Better female options exist.

The last 5 minutes of today's game after I got home from the G were the first that I've ever heard of her.

I hope that they are also the last.

Disgusting effort.

Her commentary is exactly like listening to a mixture of someone strangling a cat, an East German teenage woman athlete on steroids, a Chatty Cathy doll, and some irritating bugger relentlessly playing the kazoo, over and over again...

she was a bit better today, granted though, that could be becaue I'm usd to it after last week and 10 may have given her a nudge to be less biased to her boys. BUT, her clapping when Bartel took the mark at the end was disgraceful

Good point. It seems to me that Underwood is to bias what fish are to water - at least, that is her underlying position... :rolleyes: