Thoughts On The Geelong Game

Wayne's-World said:
This is the crux of my perspective on Kenny.....not a good enough forward who rarely leaps for balls (generally takes makes flat footed) and IMO will not go back to CHB (unless there's an injury) because he doesn't produce enough rebound from CHB.....Bock and Stevens are ATS preferred options, Bock the #1 option because he does set up great attacking moves where Kenny is stay at home.

how did he go in his one game at CHB this year ? We were playing Freo from memory...:confused:

The Crows Truth said:
how did he go in his one game at CHB this year ? We were playing Freo from memory...:confused:
No doubt Kenny can do a job on his day.....has played successfully at CHB for a few years now....but Craig has said Bock is his first choice to play CHB, why?....because of Craigs gameplan where they run and attack of HB - Kenny doesn't fit in as first choice just a filler now.

They would probably opt at a pinch for Hentschell B4 Kenny.

Congratulations Crows, that was the most amazing blitzkrieg of a display I've seen (that I can remember anyway). I'll be very, but not unpleasantly, surprised if you don't win the flag. IMO, this is the most truly professional side I've ever seen. It's almost robotic. However, what's with Burton? There's something seriously strange about that guy - is he known as having a violent streak?

Wayne's-World said:
No doubt Kenny can do a job on his day.....has played successfully at CHB for a few years now....but Craig has said Bock is his first choice to play CHB, why?....because of Craigs gameplan where they run and attack of HB - Kenny doesn't fit in as first choice just a filler now.

They would probably opt at a pinch for Hentschell B4 Kenny.

actually i think you will find Craig mentioned that it freed Kenny up to go forward as a major rationale for Bocks inclusion last yr....

The Crows Truth said:
actually i think you will find Craig mentioned that it freed Kenny up to go forward as a major rationale for Bocks inclusion last yr....
Cmon what do you think he is going to say ....of course he's going to put a positive spin.

Fact is his marking and reduced mobility is more of an asset as a forward...IMO he actually performs better as the other forward when Perrie is playing.

Wayne's-World said:
Cmon what do you think he is going to say ....of course he's going to put a positive spin.

Fact is his marking and reduced mobility is more of an asset as a forward...IMO he actually performs better as the other forward when Perrie is playing.

Geez, not this one again.

Craig did move Kenny forward for the sake of structure. Very much like the old days of Blight with Robran at CHF.

It's not about what they end up doing personally, it's what the team does because it has a forward structure - and I think we're doing pretty well with that structure.

macca23 said:

Craig did move Kenny forward for the sake of structure. Very much like the old days of Blight with Robran at CHF.

It's not about what they end up doing personally, it's what the team does because it has a forward structure - and I think we're doing pretty well with that structure.

Concur!

macca23 said:

Results would vindicate that point of view ...

And it's pretty hard to have accepted any player objectivity when your first with 171% ....

You have to remember Macca that your term of structure is correct but what other tall KPP options does Craig have anyway .....not as if he has a lot of competition for the role :(

Mooney_d'King said:
However, what's with Burton? There's something seriously strange about that guy - is he known as having a violent streak?
Hes what we refer to as our redheaded stepchild.

You know you dont like him but sometimes he does some amazing things and you forgive him ...till the next time.

Be patient with the first post from a new pom who's recently arrived to find that you've been keeping the best ball game in world quiet down here...

But, a question... I didn't go to the game, I had to watch it on TV. Does the mockery that I witnessed on on Channel 9 represent their usual standard of football coverage? Even as a 'newbie' to the sport who's finding it difficult to keep up with detail here, I was awestruck by that game - but the commentators were clearly bored, either that or they're so up themselves that they believe their asinine chatter is more important than the job they're being paid to do.

Is this an Australian thing that I've yet to understand? If not, why is it tolerated?

PeeWee

Yeah that's a pretty 'Australian' thing for the commentators to drift away with the fairies if the contest isn't very close. Usually, the same four commentators work with each other so they get used to it and like to take the p*** out of each other.

Why is it tolerated? Coz there's nowt we can do about it.

Anyroad, welcome to Oz and welcome to the best game in the world!

First up, welcome to Oz!

There's also a trend with our commentators in that most of them think they're trying out for a career in comedy. So if the game gets to be a blowout, you start to hear some routines coming out.

PeeWee said:
Be patient with the first post from a new pom who's recently arrived to find that you've been keeping the best ball game in world quiet down here...

But, a question... I didn't go to the game, I had to watch it on TV. Does the mockery that I witnessed on on Channel 9 represent their usual standard of football coverage? Even as a 'newbie' to the sport who's finding it difficult to keep up with detail here, I was awestruck by that game - but the commentators were clearly bored, either that or they're so up themselves that they believe their asinine chatter is more important than the job they're being paid to do.

Is this an Australian thing that I've yet to understand? If not, why is it tolerated?

PeeWee
Nice observation there PeeWee..........I guess if we have to suffer another Pom in this country - at least you have the brains to choose to support the greatest Football Club on the Planet........welcome aboard.....:p :D

There are a number of factors that contribute to the innane dribble that is the Channel 9 commentary team. Generally you find that during the Friday night games they are on the ball and take it very seriously because it is generally the showcase game for the round. But by the time Sunday rolls around - most of the commentators have been working solidly on TV or Radio since Friday night - and are just hanging out for the game to finish so they can return home to Melbourne, or Perth in Denis Cometti's case.......so particularly when the game is a blow out like it was on Sunday....they generally get board and indulge each other with their mind-snapping wit and paint peeling banter. Add to this ....the fact that Dermott Brereton is a bona fide tool anyway whose highlight of the week is goading Denis C into sprouting some of his famous Commettisms ........ it all makes for a substandard and innappropriately blase presentation.

Welcome to the duller side of AFL footy....;)

....and about the Pom comment.....no offense bud - only joking.......both my parents are Poms and I give them a hard time about it as well ....:D :thumbsu:..

PeeWee said:

PeeWee

Welcome aboard PeeWee!

Sadly, there are a number of commentators (particularly at one network somewhere between 8.5 and 9.5) who IMHO seem to believe that we tune in to listen to them, not to watch the footy.

As pointed out elsewhere, when the game is a blowout one way or another, they then amuse themselves. That means one commentator works on his puns, the second talks about himself or use a string of nicknames to show how he is mates with all the players and they are "ripping blokes", and the third, being a former Port Adelaide and Geelong player, gets grumpier by the Adelaide goal.

marvin said:
That means one commentator works on his puns, the second talks about himself or use a string of nicknames to show how he is mates with all the players and they are "ripping blokes", and the third, being a former Port Adelaide and Geelong player, gets grumpier by the Adelaide goal.
classic.:D .:thumbsu: ...and spot on I might add..:cool:

Brilliant, Thanks folks.

It's not just me then...

Actually - I can't claim to be a complete newbie - I've been following the Crows from a distance since 2003 when we first decided to come over here. I only mention that 'cos I don't like to be thought of as jumping on a successful bandwagon...

It's a shame though that the game was thought of as a blowout (especially by the *commentators*). I enjoyed every minute of it. Even from my limited perspective I could see that the cats (at least, in the first 3 quarters) were far from a bad side. It just annoyed me that with TV coverage already almost unwatchable because of the ads (I'd dearly love to take a baseball bat to that ****** polar bear:) ) the calling team saw the game as something secondary to their sad little ego trip.

PeeWee

Oh, and Thanks for the welcome - Even the pom jokes. I may as well get this out of the way now.... Did I mention that I'm also a Sturt supporter :eek:

Welcome Aboard mate. Good to see that you managed to avoid John James' scouts at the International Arrivals terminal. Apparently they were pre-occupied with an "incident" over at domestic so you picked a good day to fly in. If you need to visit a funeral parlour or Adult Book store in the next few months make sure you don't take your passport. He can be very pesuasive.

Your right, the Commentary is appalling. I can't wait until they give it back to Bruce and the other professionals on 7. Apart from Gary Lyon, I can't listen to them anymore. It's embarrassing. Enough of the now boring and obvious Commettisms Dennis. Enough of the "I was the toughest player ever to grace a football field" Dermott. As for Dwayne Russell, I don't really want to know that his old man was having trouble with his lawnmower on the very same day that lil Jimmy Hird kicked his first left foot goal.

PeeWee turn the sound on the tv down and listen to the radio..5AA would be a start if you want to hear good balanced opinions , I'm sorry I cant do it , I tried to keep a straight face . Get Foxtel and select background noise only and enjoy your own thoughts and observations

SpringChoke said:
As for Dwayne Russell, I don't really want to know that his old man was having trouble with his lawnmower on the very same day that lil Jimmy Hird kicked his first left foot goal.

I know Dwayne's dad very well Springy, and he'd be more at home knocking off a stubby or 3 rather than dealing with the ins and outs of a lawnmower - such as using it!! :p

PerthCrow said:
PeeWee turn the sound on the tv down and listen to the radio..5AA would be a start if you want to hear good balanced opinions , I'm sorry I cant do it , I tried to keep a straight face . Get Foxtel and select background noise only and enjoy your own thoughts and observations

That's even worse. Stephen Rowe is appalling.