Thoughts On The Port Adelaide Game

Wasn't sure last week was a true indicator or not to where we are .....now iam convinced that Craig's gameplan and footy philosophies are excellent.

I went and watched the Collingwood v Richmond game last night .....the difference is enormous, partly IMO due to the fact we have ex VFL coaches who still adopt many of the old VFL playing philosphies.

Kicking skills by both teams were abysmal ...particulary Collingwood.....and the had no run from the back preferring to kick over the mark to a forward player.
Adelaide run rugby fashion linking across the ground which is carving up most defences who are trying to bottle up the midfield area (Collingwood/Richmond last night) ....their kicking and reflex handball is just at another level to these teams.

Even when things went wrong, turnovers occurred ....the Crows ability to recover the ball and then importnatly launch goal scoring attacks was super impressive.

After a third qtr when the Power really went to another level of applying pressure and some of our players eased up ...the ability to recover in the forth qtr ...to vary the speed of the game, ensured we maintained control

Edwards and Goodwin were very quiet and it was the second tier players that really are showing a level of maturity and importantly composure when the real heat is on.

Against Essendon many times we had key forwards jumping/leading for the same ball .....it's now back to last year where forwards are spreading, blocking for each other and not competing against each other ...the result is a more potent forward line with greater options.

Hudson: Lad is playing poorly at present ...got few effective taps and struggled ....maybe after a few games he's a bit sore after 12 months out ...maybe the expectation is too great.

Griffin: Raw, underweight ...but he was getting cleaner hands to the ball and more difinitive taps ......IMO he has to ruck a little more and be given a bit more gametime than at present. He is developing nicely and again he did some really good things today.

Perrie: WE saw the very best and the very worse of Perrie today .....but he was for 4 qtrs our most consistent forwd and gave 100% all day. Craig in an after game was very very pleased with Perries efforts and I can't disagree.:thumbsu:

Macleod /Bassett / Torney / Rutten: So reliable ....we know what we'll get each game. As hard as teams try and take Macleod out of the game he just is too smart, too good a reader of the game. Could this be his year for a Brownlow?

Knights: Though he came of age last week ....today proved that thought to be correct .....our best and most consistent midfielder today.
Yes still has a long way to go, needs to hurt opposition more with his possessions, but today he looked the most assured, the most comfortable, and the most reliable with his possessions in his very short career.

Burton: so frustrating today ....his tackling attempts were horrible

Vince: Much better in his forth game ....better feel for the pace ....but still along way to go on todays effort and I would expect he'll make way for Bode next week.

Porplyzia: OK game ....but not as influential as he can be ...will be better for the run

Thompson: Edwards regularly got caught holding the ball several years ago ....now it seems Thompson is regularly getting caught. A very good game though particularly at stoppages

Reilly: Really is now becoming a very important midfielder in our setup. His ability to kick long and direct regularly is setting up our forwards. His defensive pressure, tackling and smothering just adds a dimension to his game that Iam sorry folks you just do not see in Dal Santos game.

Douglas: The injury to Stiffy could be a blessing in disguise for Douglas as it's proving a great opportunity for him to learn and see the game unfolding from defence.

Bock: WOW has this guy improved ....a great PS campaign has flowed over into the season proper. A good size now he's using that bulk, hasn't lost his great speed for a 193cm player and is working fantastically in the air and off the deck. A very very important player to us.

Stevens: Craig commented after the game about Stevens great footy brain ....how posters didn't give him votes last week when he was so influential when the game was on the line :confused:
May not have had a lot himself ...he is mobile, taking a tall defender and creating space for team mates

Great work WW, excellent post :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Gotta agree with Burton, it was Burton of a few years back, where his decisions were 50/50ish between brilliant and woeful, but in the last few years he stepped it up considerably to 75/25. Not sure if he looked completely upto it today, that said even a burton at 80% is better than the other options we had for the game.

Did anyone else see Douglas fronting up to Tredrea? My dad told me that Tredrea gave Dougie a bit of a smack in the chops and Dougie didn't take a step back and in fact was verbally dishing it back :eek: If anyone else saw it can they remember which quarter as I would love to check it out :D

They showed it in slow motion at half time, so probably in the second quarter methinks. Dougie is starting to look a lot more comfortable over longer periods. He, Porplzyia and Vince are all part of a little rotation of kids atm which makes it a little tough for them to really settle in their positions, but the potential is there for sure.

Once again some good things on display from Douglas, and some poor things. I still have huge concerns over his decision making under pressure as he seems to panic with the ball and put teammates under pressure. However he made some great spoils today and took a couple of nice marks in defence. He’s developing nicely but still has a long way to go.

Chris Knights was great once again; not sure how he does it but he just seems to find a ton of space. He got quite a few clearances, and he spoilt a few marks which was pleasing to see. Great game from Knighta, terrific start to the season.

McLeod was unbelievable as was everyone else in defence. Torney set the standard with an inspiring first quarter, and Bassett and Rutten comprehensively defeated their opponents. Our defence was rock solid today.

Once again some good things on display from Douglas, and some poor things. I still have huge concerns over his decision making under pressure as he seems to panic with the ball and put teammates under pressure. However he made some great spoils today and took a couple of nice marks in defence. He’s developing nicely but still has a long way to go.

Chris Knights was great once again; not sure how he does it but he just seems to find a ton of space. He got quite a few clearances, and he spoilt a few marks which was pleasing to see. Great game from Knighta, terrific start to the season.

McLeod was unbelievable as was everyone else in defence. Torney set the standard with an inspiring first quarter, and Bassett and Rutten comprehensively defeated their opponents. Our defence was rock solid today.

And now the 32 billion dollar question: how did you see Bernie's game today? :cool:

He impressed me today. Had a few clangers but he more than made up for it with some great use of the ball. He took one of the marks of the day when he was running back into a pack and came away with the mark. He then played on and delivered to Stevens, and the play eventually resulted in a goal. Some good signs from X-Factor.

I'm loving the clean hands under pressure that Douglas, VB, Vince and Porps have under pressure.

well played Drummond :thumbsu:

Once again some good things on display from Douglas, and some poor things. I still have huge concerns over his decision making under pressure as he seems to panic with the ball and put teammates under pressure.

His skills are fine, he'll be a fine player for our club for many years to come.

He looks a bit shaky early in games, but works his way into them nicely (The shaky periods become shorter each game). He's improving each week, and at this stage it's all we can ask.

He did some really key things, 1%'s, especially when Port were challenging us.

Reilly: His defensive pressure, tackling and smothering just adds a dimension to his game that I am sorry folks you just do not see in Dal Santos game.

Radar was fantastic today, but can we leave the fiction out of it, Dean Koontz?

In the past 3 full seasons (04, 05, 06) Dal Santo has averaged 3.54 tackles per game as well as being a proven Rolls Royce in midfield traffic.

In the same period Reilly has averaged 2.5 tackles - despite spending a lot of time in defence.

I know you desperately want to prove your thesis that we made the right decision on Draft Day 2001, but gee whiz.

Once again some good things on display from Douglas, and some poor things. I still have huge concerns over his decision making under pressure as he seems to panic with the ball and put teammates under pressure.

I think the answer to these concerns on Douglas are very easily solved though Drummond.

Just get him to ask for a clearance to Norwood. ;) :p

Can I just say that Reilly is taking his game to another level. He was our best player in the first quarter. LOVE the work he is doing in the guts.

On Bock, one thing that used to annoy the proverbial out of me was that he was capable of dropping the undroppable. Now he is holding onto marks that you wouldn't give a chance to many players out there.

His overhead marking has improved out of sight IMHO. His hands are the best they have ever been.

Knights has played 2 fantastic games in a row now. This kid is taking the next step and aren't we loving it.

And Douglas is getting better and better and seems to be realy enjoying his role in defence.

The most pleasing thing today, other than the win, was that our younger players stepped up and played some great footy when our old guard was just going or struggling today.

Great signs :thumbsu:

Oh, and Ian Perrie is a GUN!!!! How about that snap goal after ducking and weaving :D

Typical hard working game by the Sarge today and he was our most consistent forward for the entire game today.

I think the answer to these concerns on Douglas are very easily solved though Drummond.

Just get him to ask for a clearance to Norwood. ;) :p
Perhaps. ;) But I believe I have a valid point.

Can I just say that Reilly is taking his game to another level. He was our best player in the first quarter. LOVE the work he is doing in the guts.

Oh, and Ian Perrie is a GUN!!!! How about that snap goal after ducking and weaving :D
I must admit I stood up and went nuts after that goal. Quality stuff. :D

And I agree about Reilly, his first quarter set up the win. He had about 8 possies and a goal in the first term. Love you work Radar. :thumbsu:

LOL, the ammount of

- Oh no's

and

- ##$%^!! KICK IT

in my house, was hilarious.

Lacked some confidence today, but he did do quite well. I think his ability to outbody opponents has really improved.

Vince: Much better in his forth game ....better feel for the pace ....but still along way to go on todays effort and I would expect he'll make way for Bode next week.

It was his fifth game ;) :thumbsu:

He must have been nervous at the start, giving away a couple of free kicks. I was happy that he played nearly the whole game, certainly the most time he's had on the ground in any of his games. At the Crows Shed after the game, David Noble (forward line coach) said he thought Bernie's game was excellent :D Hopefully he's done enough to retain is spot for next weeks game, but then Bode is more likely to come back.

Good result.

Not one to generally harp on the bad points, but some areas I think that need improvement...
  • Stoppages. Some of the tap ruck work by Lade & Brogan was first class. Now generally we are very good in tight, but we did'nt block their players on occasions and they just ran through uncontested (Burgoynes). On the other hand so did Thompson a couple of times. I dont know the stats but I woudl of thought they had it over us in the centre clearances?
  • Another fade out that was caused by simple and stupid skill errors in the 3rd.
  • Chipping out of defence we made some terrible skill errors under no pressure.
Overall I am very happy, good signs from the yound ones and a good coaching performance. The forward line players are all working together beautifully. We played the game on our terms and if we continue to do that we will win alot more games.

Cant believe the crowd figues - but that is another thread!

Did anyone else notice a really interesting strategy by Craigy and his assistants today in the way the were negating Chad in the forst half?!

Usually when the opposition is kicking in or moving from deep in defence we zone up and everyone defends their little area. There was one distinct difference today. We would still zone up but as soon as we zoned up Stevens would pick up Chad and stick to him. This didn't allow Port to use Chad as their launch pad from defence to attack because he always had Stevens on him in those situations. Stevens was primarily a forward but once port had possesions deep in their defensive 50, Stevens practically became a tagger who followed Chad so he wouldn't be thank link man.

I thought it worked well since Chad didn't have a big impact in the first half. He was thrown into the middle a bit more in the second half and his game picked up as a result but it will be interesting to look at B&F votes for this games at the end of the year and see how Stevens polls in this one.

The one pleasing thing for me was if we coughed it up, we won it back 8 times out of 10 by putting pressure on the opposition whether it took one or three times but we persisted:thumbsu: .

After spending a Summer hearing about how Port Power have some of the best youngsters in the game, where do the Crows young guys sit?

Knights was excellent again and is going to be one hell of a player.

VB was very good again.

Douglas looks like a natural backman, and while he still isn't perfect, for a guy who hasn't played a lot of games he has well and truly earned his spot.

Porplyzia was quite good again.

Radar is stringing some decent games together.

Big Griff looks not bad - one thing very evident is his mobility and his passion. You can tell the boy has played a fair bit of footy up forward, as he loves getting his hands on the ball and running with it.

I have to admit, our youngsters are starting to inspire a fair bit of confidence.

After spending a Summer hearing about how Port Power have some of the best youngsters in the game, where do the Crows young guys sit?

Knights was excellent again and is going to be one hell of a player.

VB was very good again.

Douglas looks like a natural backman, and while he still isn't perfect, for a guy who hasn't played a lot of games he has well and truly earned his spot.

Porplyzia was quite good again.

Radar is stringing some decent games together.

Big Griff looks not bad - one thing very evident is his mobility and his passion. You can tell the boy has played a fair bit of footy up forward, as he loves getting his hands on the ball and running with it.

I have to admit, our youngsters are starting to inspire a fair bit of confidence.

agree 100%. The Port propaganda about their youngsters was relentless, but the reality is only Pearce is really going forward. Some others show signs, but...

Troy Chaplin, being talked about as next captain. Dropped for Thurstans

Brett Ebert 5 goals vs North made him a superstar. 100 goals in a year. Has Dean Brogan ever said or done anything stupider? Ebert ordinary today, hands arent that great, excellent vertical leap, if he got to 40 goals would be great year

Tredders might have been first game back, but simply Rutten is his daddy. Treders has dropped the head repeatedly vs Rutten and whilst I'm sure he will improve was a liability out there today. Hasnt played a winning showdown for 3 years

Crows terrific today, Mcleod, Rutten and Bassett superb

I'd back our youngsters over theirs any day.

Radar was fantastic today, but can we leave the fiction out of it, Dean Koontz?

In the past 3 full seasons (04, 05, 06) Dal Santo has averaged 3.54 tackles per game as well as being a proven Rolls Royce in midfield traffic.

In the same period Reilly has averaged 2.5 tackles - despite spending a lot of time in defence.

I know you desperately want to prove your thesis that we made the right decision on Draft Day 2001, but gee whiz.
Here's something for you ........there are many who thought a few years ago that collecting heaps of stats would tell you everything about a team and players performance.........WRONG! ......... you still can't replay a game by looking at stats sheets particularly with cheap possessions in todays game, when the stats were accumulated, and where on the ground ....watching the game and the player tells much more...

Should try and listen to SEN's radio broadcasts of games, better still watch a few Saints games .....I see a lot of Saints games live because a mate barracks for them.

Thomas was saying the other night (special comments man on SEN) that Dal Santo has a lot to learn, cannot shake a tag, and only knows how to play the game one way ......and when required to change his approach in a game situation has not learn't to do it YET.

I'd suggest Reilly is a better package .....but of course you and I have disagreed on Reilly's worth since the day he was recruited ;)

Where do our youngsters stand:

Knights: A natural ball winner, a natural football brain. He has definately taken his game to another level. Not only does he find the ball but he now works harder on the 1%ers. The best youngster, for either side, up until half time. Bona Fide match winner when he gains more confidence to back himself in and break more tackles.

VB: Brilliant in close. Really starting to come of age as a genuine attacking midfielder and not just a tagger. Courage and abit of cheek about him. Going to enjoy watching this kid develop.

Douglas: Natural midfielder. Good in close. Brilliant under pressure for someone so young and inexperienced. If we were offered a straight swap for Gibbs now would people take it? I would seriously have second thoughts. Even last year when he first started he showed none of the hesitation that I have seen from Gibbs to date. Not bagging Gibbs, he will be a very good player but I think we have a Mark Bickley type lack of fear player in young Douglas. Jesus, I can't believe he has only played a handful of games.

Griffen: Given a bath today by the best ruck combination in the business but he will learn alot from it. Loved the way he got *****ed off when beaten by late in Ports pocket. Good signs.

Porplysia: With his hands, I just hope he spends more time in the midfielder. It would be a shame to see his sublime talent wasted in what is the wasteland of the life of a small forward.

Vince: Smaller Scott Welsh clone but with more courage. Good signs today but lack of pace is still a worry.

Reilly: Has been briliant so far this year. His disposal, in space and under pressure, has improved dramatically. Very important player in our midfield rotations. Has tekn his game to another level. After the first 3 rounds, he would be in our top 10 B&F-I never thought I would say.

One aspect of our small/midsized youngsters that really excites me is not one of them hessiates when it is their turn to put their body on the line and head over the ball. With supposed hardnuts in Pfeiifer and Campbell still to come in, the future is going to be exciting.:thumbsu: