Thoughts On The Richmond Game

In reality - he has only got an opportunity because there's no-one else.

There have been some better and worse players over the years who have been delisted.

My maiin concern is that nver at any stage has he dominated consistently at SANFL level.

I reckon Craigy & Co. will be keeping a close eye on his progress at Norwood....but if nothing changes - he'll be gone.

Was impressed the way Stevens kept hitting blokes on the chest, shame it was usually a Richmond player.

Seriously though, overall it was an ok but not great performance from us. ONe of those when I'm just happy to get the points.

Was impressed the way Stevens kept hitting blokes on the chest, shame it was usually a Richmond player.

Seriously though, overall it was an ok but not great performance from us. ONe of those when I'm just happy to get the points.

I reckon Stevo had a shocker tonight......

missed marks, missed targets, lost his player in traffic.....etc..etc.

I reckon Stevo had a shocker tonight......

missed marks, missed targets, lost his player in traffic.....etc..etc.

Rex and crew ( what knobs :rolleyes: ) said on radio his and Adelaides night was highlighted by an early grab kick and lope by Stevo...as if he figured he only needed to be at 3/4 pace

I'm sure the club has a good idea of what it wants to do with these kids. I must ask you though, if say, Pfeiffer came into the side and struggled to get his hands on the footy and so on, would you be skeptical of him too? Or would you continue to back him, having seen his talent in the SANFL and knowing there is at least something there? He only grabbed a handful of possessions in the SANFL last week though, etc etc...I guess what I'm saying is all the club can do is persist with these guys long enough for us to know whether they're keepers or not. We aren't at the point where we know with either Douglas or Vince (or Porplyzia even).
I wouldn’t be overly skeptical, but what you’re asking isn’t really fair. The same doubts that I have over Vince continue to be raised seemingly every week. He isn’t winning a lot of the ball, in fact in his 10 AFL games his career high is 14 and he’s averaging a mere 8.7 possessions per game. So not only is he struggling to have an impact, but there are many question marks surrounding his game. He doesn’t have much pace, which position is he suited to; can he handle the pace of AFL football? All are major concerns.

He’s played 6 games this year and has given away 11 free kicks; this is a major worry to me, mainly because the majority have been holding the ball. He’s a slow decision maker and he reacts too slowly.

He’s kicked 2 goals in 10 AFL games, and most of these games he’s been playing as a small forward. He’s not delivering.

They should change Richmond to Richardson.

being manned by Truck and still put in an excellent game. Looked dangerous just about everytime they had the ball.

Firstly can a Norwood supporter fill us in on the weekend how Jerihco went for Norwood????

As much as he's the biggest liabilty we've had since Goldspink any more injuries and we are gonna really need him.

And who got took off tonight on the blood rule and had to change there jumper because of blood stains to number 30?

Commontators missed it.

:rolleyes:

Whilst I need to watch the game on video and analyse it more closely, viewing it at the game.

POSITIVES
Bassett's defensive work was outstanding for most of the game

Knights at times can be brilliant, his ability to find the footy is exceptional though he could certainly be under negatives for a couple of errors he made.

Griffin in the forward line. Absolutely outstanding, I'd love to see him as a permanent fixture down there. His pace off the mark is exceptional, and with his height makes him a great target. The first person in the #6 since Modra that we can really get excited about.

NEGATIVES
Whilst not a big one, Richardson lowered Rutten's colours for the first time this year. No big surprise as this has happened previously.

Our lack of a crumber in the forward line was frustrating at times. So many times the ball went to ground and Richmond mopped up. The times that there was someone on the ground at least provided some competitiveness.

The Crows are still giving away too many soft and stupid free kicks (Richmond were just as bad as us tonight). The umpires were fine tonight apart from the centre bouncing.

I'm not sure what Jericho ended up with, but his disposal was frustrating. His decision making is very slow and at least 2 of the times I saw him he chose the player under far more pressure than he was.

Thought the umpires made a statement tonight from the first bounce and the next one.

same interpretations for both teams.

Highly content with tonight.

We played a team desperate and they had a sniff big time.

We lost all momentum in the second quarter but we limited the damage when required.

In the last quarter with a starving Richmond smelling pizza hut we made a stand collectivly.

Composure got us three goals up late.

We stubbonly stood up to Richmond .

Some players had shockers. few break into the 90 point mark against us.

Our disposal out of defence at times was shocking, Burton a complete passenger.

We got murdered of our half forward line.

Rutten conceed about 33% of all goals he's conceeded this year.

As said Richmond tasting blood, they levelled late.

Composure won tonight.

All good teams rely on that at some point in games like this.

I listened to the game at work on the radio and like most was fuming. I actually think the great 1st quarter was the reason we relaxed... a lot would have been saying at 1/4 time '' how far'' and then relaxed
That's exactly how I saw it .....we came out and played great footy ...got 18 points up and then it seemed all the intensity left the Crows game ........and it was the non chasing of Welsh and Doughty and co that started it all IMO

Crows avoid upset

Ashley Porter, Adelaide | May 19, 2007

RICHMOND'S woes deepened after it lost to Adelaide by nine points at AAMI Stadium last night, with news that Matthew Richardson is expected to miss at least six games with a serious eye injury.

Richardson was taken to hospital with a suspected left-eye-socket fracture, after being accidentally kicked by teammate Andrew Krakouer. The Tigers are also concerned with Dean Polo, who dislocated his right shoulder but went back on to the field.

Both injuries happened during a tense last quarter, shortly before Richmond levelled the scores at the 13-minute mark, only for Adelaide to recover.

It had been expected to be a walk in the Football Park. Adelaide was at the prohibitive odds of 200-1-on, paying $1.05, but it was given the scare of its life.

The Tigers have won four of their past six quarters at AAMI Stadium after producing a solid second half against Port Adelaide six days earlier — but no wins have resulted.

Normally, this statistic is nothing to rave about, but for a side that had not won a game in seven rounds, and had been beaten by 157 points only 17 days earlier, this was a fine effort. There were only 15 players in this side from the team humiliated by Geelong, and the mix was better, with some fresh kids not worrying about anything else but having a go.

Adelaide was forced to work hard, and after a brilliant start, was made to treat its opponent with greater respect. Adding gloss to Richmond's second-term effort, and Adelaide's win, was the fact that, generally, it was quality football.

There was a lot of rebound. For the most part, Adelaide couldn't take a contested mark in its 50-metre zone to save itself, and when its early centre-square dominance evaporated, the situation heightened.

At times, the Tigers' intensity came unstuck. They did try to swerve around one too many opponents, and the skills may not have been quite there, but this young side had a real go. It took the contest up to the Crows, who generally responded well.

Given the Crows' aggressive mood, it was no surprise they led at quarter-time, 7.1 to 3.3. In their infamously dull contest last year, Adelaide had kicked 4.8 to three-quarter-time.

The third quarter possibly presented the biggest challenge for both sides this season. For Adelaide, it became a matter of whether it could respond, and there seemed doubts with key players down, including Brett Burton, with one kick and a handball, seemingly troubled by knee soreness and perhaps the gastro that flattened him on Thursday. For Richmond, it was a case of maintaining the belief that impossible matches can be won, no matter the odds.
Surely with Griffin showing heaps as a forward it would be better to bring Pfieffer in ......Iam confident he'd get more disposals tha Burton did last night.

Sadly though with Maric coming back soon .... Ia cannot see McGregor getting back in ....particularly on the back of his SANFL form currently

Crap!!

I go to a lot of Port games and believe me, they invented the boo!! :p

Hoot and holler like stuck pigs for no reason!! :D

Nah.
There would be only one way to solve this.
Tape all games in a season (not replays as they are condensed versions) and then let someone that doesn't follow any teams decide.
I'd easily wager a carton or three on it.

All teams boo and occasionally get into booing frenzies for a period of time during games etc but at Crows home games that is the only form of "cheering" one gets to hear on TV from start to finish.

He was solid. First half he played on the wing and across HBF mainly coming on to give others a breather.

I thought he really gave us a bit of spark in the forward line in that 3rd quarter. Missed a shot on goal but set up another couple.

Overall a solid showing by Jericho.

As for the game, if there is such a thing as a disappointing win, then this was it. It was all in the mind and the work rate. We went into it cocky as some of the supporters on this board and nearly went home empty handed.

He lost me forever with that one. Could have passed it off to two others in a better position but decided to try and be the hero and went for one over his shoulder. What you saw must have been on the members side because he did nothing over on the east. I have never been one to bag him before but I thought last night he was soft. Sure got a lot of uncontested free balls but tried to be too pretty and waited for the second option when the first available turned out to be the only one.

He's gone.

Nah.
Tape all games in a season (not replays as they are condensed versions) and then let someone that doesn't follow any teams decide.

All teams boo and occasionally get into booing frenzies for a period of time during games etc but at Crows home games that is the only form of "cheering" one gets to hear on TV from start to finish.

Your confusing the boo to the Roooo because they constantly showed the great man on the big screen. ;)

Surely with Griffin showing heaps as a forward it would be better to bring Pfieffer in ......Iam confident he'd get more disposals tha Burton did last night.

Sadly though with Maric coming back soon .... Ia cannot see McGregor getting back in ....particularly on the back of his SANFL form currently

Couln't agree more WW. He wouldn't have racked up double figure statistics in the last three games he's played. It's time to give him a rest and bring in someone who can compete, is fit and surely would be biting at the bit to get a gig.

We are not getting it with the Birdy at the minute.

I thought the umpiring was better.
I was impressed with Doggas game - thats 3 in a row
Hudson showed tap work Ive never seen b4!
Welsh is not injured and looked real dangerous.
Douglas will be stiff if he gets dropped - ever.
We lairised a bit midway through the first quarter.

I thought Doughty was quite good last night he seemed to be more confident, that and the fact that Dennis Cometti loves him and when he calls the game he always talks him up. Griffin was excellent and showed some very encouraging signs. I thought Van Berlo was down on his usual standard I don't think he was as damaging as he can be. Burton had the worst game of his AFL career, he can't jump or run at any pace at the moment, give him a rest and bring in Kenny Rogers or one of Drummond's boys. I disagree about Vince [he is my love child!] I think he will make a position his own he has that freakish ability to make things happen and when he is 100% fit and finally realises he belongs out there I think he will become a very welcome member of the Adelaide Crows side. I don't think he is slow but is in that group of players that appear to take their time, think Paul Bagshaw, James Hird. Perhaps he could benefit with a few games back in the Eagles line up but that is always a hard call as to which is more beneficial.
Overall I am very pleased as to where we are sitting at the moment considering the number of quality players we have to return and the experience the young guys are getting and the quiet way in which we are clawing away at the points board. Get on them for September currently on offer at $7.00 for the big one, someone tell Goody.

Nah.

LOL jeez mate how many port games have you been to?? ever??

Their supporters just about call for blood everytime a bloke is pinged, holding it or not! And when it goes against them... let's just say the hole in the ozone layer is stretched a little further from a simultaneous release of 25,000 different toxic fumes :eek:

Almost everytime there is an opportunity for a free kick, whether it be theirs or the opposition's, a majority of the crowd are EXPECTING it to be theirs.. then BOO when it's not and LOOK DIRECTLY AT THE SCOREBOARD.

I'm not saying it doesn't happen at Crows games, but I can guarantee you having been to MANY Port games that this is a regular occurrence.

I keep hearing about how Jericho has plenty of pace but I have failed to see it. Ever.

Is it a myth? I didnt think he was too bad tonight. (did anyone else hear on 5aa a caller say he is possible captain material? WTF?) However there were a few occasions when it was a free ball on the wing or something, it was a foot race and he lost every time.

And what you didn't see on TV was Jericho wandering aimlessly in the middle of the park while the rest of his teammates were zoning off, reading the play and getting into a position where the ball was going to come to, I watched him walking around like a chook with his head cut off at one point and started screaming out for him to move to the members wing - sure enough richmond brought the ball down and went through a man that should have been closed down by Jericho in the zone before the ball even got there.

I thought some of his work was okay but I just think he has alot to learn. He is not quite up to AFL standard yet in terms of smarts, decisions and body strength. The problem is he has been around far too long for us to continue to persevere. :thumbsd: