catman2006

Sunderland & Penrith
If the unthinkable happens and Geelong lose to Richmond, the media scrutiny will become unbearable for the board to handle and for them not to act.
The board would find the money to pay Thompson out
Problem still remains who and what is the best option for the cats

I would think it would be out of Dennis Pagan and Guy Mckenna for the next coach but both may be unavailable until next year, so do we continue with Thompson until end of the year or hand over the reigns to an assistant for the remainder of the season or look at a coach who is not contracted to any body.

your thoughts.

I'm more resigned to a loss this weekend, than confident of a win.

However, we will probably then come out and beat WC.

Thompson will stay, but if something crazy happens they should bring in M.Voss as caretaker coach.

If we lose to Richmond then the season is GAAAAAAWN. Yes I know it's only round 6 but we have lost games against teams we would have pencilled in for wins leaving the better teams to win all our games against.

If we lost to Richmond then I think Thompson should step aside, one of our assistants should move into the role temporarily, this will give them time to prove themselves while the board look for another coach, if the assistant proves worthy (I can only think of Sanderson) then great otherwise we entice the best possible candidate for the job and beat any other clubs looking at the same time.

How is doing the above going to hurt when the season is pretty well shot anyway?

If the unthinkable happens and Geelong lose to Richmond, the media scrutiny will become unbearable for the board to handle and for them not to act.

I would think it would be out of Dennis Pagan and Guy Mckenna for the next coach but both may be unavailable until next year, so do we continue with Thompson until end of the year or hand over the reigns to an assistant for the remainder of the season or look at a coach who is not contracted to any body.

your thoughts.

If the twenty guys who call themselves Geelong footballers have any guts, and pride they will come out and smash Richmond. Perhaps the loss to the Kangaroos will sting the Cats enough to inspire a win. But then again, pigs might fly...

If we lost to Richmond then I think Thompson should step aside, one of our assistants should move into the role temporarily, this will give them time to prove themselves while the board look for another coach, if the assistant proves worthy (I can only think of Sanderson) then great otherwise we entice the best possible candidate for the job and beat any other clubs looking at the same time.

Yep, that's pretty much the way it has to happen. I doubt we'd get anyone mid season for a permanent gig (unless it is someone not already contracted, which pretty much leaves noone), so a caretaker would be the only option, we start searching straight away and sign at the end of the season.

your thoughts.

what do you mean if the unthinkable happens and you lose to Richmond. We are playing good enough footy to be challenging last years two Grand Final sides so what makes you think this is going to be a walk over. Thats the problem with all you Geelong supporters year in year out you get ahead of yourselves and when it comes to the crunch your dud side never does anything. I was down there for the pre season game against you bogans and already you were talking premierships because your full strength side beat a half strength Richmond side. I dont care if we dont win another game all year as long as we kick your arse like we did last year if your f****d up heads can think back that far. Dont go blaming thompson for your team being soft if they had a heart he wouldnt be under the pump all the the time. Let me guess, your supporters sitting in the Go Cats stand still clapped them off the ground after the match thats your problem your all PATHETIC .

If we're pathetic, then Richmond must be...? I can't think of a word strong enough.

You just reminded me why I hate Richmond supporters

your thoughts.
Right now I think my 79 year old Nanna would be a better coach than Thompson.....he has to go, no F***ing idea!

Truth hurts doesnt it
I don't see how you can suggest Richmond has a better culture. Three finals appearances in about thirty years does not speak of a winning attitude. Geelong is terrible, for sure, but Richmond is no better, or worse. At least we have some chance of success in '08 and beyond, once we get rid of Bomber. You're stuck waiting 'til 2011, aren't you?

Our season is shot, I fear we are worse off than last year, Thompson doesn't care about Geelong and that becomes more apparent after each listless performance, his spray this week had more ham than a Christmas dinner, he could care less how we are going, the board has shown him enormous loyalty yet what has Thompson given back to the club.........NOTHING, nothing at all.

If we could throw a million at Voss or Carey (I hated him as a player but you can't question his playing credentials) we would have a guy who could demand respect of the player and cut anyone they didn't think was worth it. We should have traded Kelly when we had the chance! King needs to be in Cracker's Croc file tomorrow or he is kidding himself!

Truth hurts doesnt it

Edited for Richmond supporters:

what do you mean if the unthinkable happens and Richmond lose. We are playing good enough footy to be challenging last years two Grand Final sides so what makes you think we won't make finals? Thats the problem with all you other supporters year in year out your team gets lucky against us and then you think we're crap. I was down there for the pre season game against you bogans and already everyone thought we were crap because your full strength side (minus some key players) beat a half strength Richmond side (which we will play for most of the year). I dont care if we dont win another game all year I'll still believe we're one of the best teams going around, we're much better than you: we kicked your arse last year if your f****d up heads can think back that far. Dont go blaming thompson for your team being soft if they had a heart he wouldnt be under the pump all the the time. We don't blame Terry for our teams deficiencies. Let me guess, your supporters sitting in the Go Cats stand still clapped them off the ground after the match thats your problem, you didn't spit on them. PATHETIC.

Yup Geelong have no excuses against richmond. I thought geelong were a top 4 certainty this year, but if you cant beat kangas at skilled, there are obviously some issues that werent resolved from 2006.

Having said that I think Geelong will account for the tigers quite comfortably next sunday by about 40 points.

Yup Geelong have no excuses against richmond. I thought geelong were a top 4 certainty this year, but if you cant beat kangas at skilled, there are obviously some issues that werent resolved from 2006.

Having said that I think Geelong will account for the tigers quite comfortably next sunday by about 40 points.

We would have no excuses losing to Richmond at the moment, but that doesn't mean that we won't lose. I concur with a lot of supporters on this board, the demons of 2006 haven't been exorcised. We glossed over the problems with reports of a great pre-season but we're being found out now.

If the twenty guys who call themselves Geelong footballers have any guts, and pride they will come out and smash Richmond. Perhaps the loss to the Kangaroos will sting the Cats enough to inspire a win. But then again, pigs might fly...

You mean like after last week when we lost to Hawthorn? Or after round 1 when we lost to the Bulldogs? Or after round 3 last year against Hawthorn? Or after round 10, 2005 against Fremantle?

I remember Thompson at the start of last season telling us how focused and determined the playing group were..........more hot air from the league's greatest charlatan.

Resign on your sword you hack. It will be your one good deed in 8 years of hell.

Thompson's record as coach has been abysmal, Geelong hasn't "officially" sacked a coach since John Devine in 1988, I think to celebrate the 19th year anniversary of this occasion that the board see's fit to remove this cancerous growth from our club, he is doing nothing but look disinterested and has about as much passion as Pete Sampras!

I don't see how you can suggest Richmond has a better culture. Three finals appearances in about thirty years does not speak of a winning attitude. Geelong is terrible, for sure, but Richmond is no better, or worse. At least we have some chance of success in '08 and beyond, once we get rid of Bomber. You're stuck waiting 'til 2011, aren't you?
I never said that we were any better, yes i agree that we are struggling and as a one eyed supportor its very frustrating it just annoys me so much that supportors of other clubs that are struggling like Geelong seem to just pencil in wins against us when only last year we were able to beat you on your home turf. I believe you guys have got a list that should be playing semi finals minimum each year but for some reason your not and I dont think Thompson should be always getting the blame for it.
Richmond is a club that was at rock bottom when Frawley was around that bloke ruined us and its taking Terry alot of balls to come out in the media and say what he did about 2011. Having seen the way our kids performed against the best in the buissness on the weekend and knowing who else we have either injured or running around for coburg I dont think we are as far away as people are saying. For your own sake if you beat us this week dont go talking finals as you would only have beaten the bottom 3 sides.

could not agree more with the tigers supporter about frawley ruining their club , i had mates playing there at the time and couple still are , and they were in utter dis belief that he could be in charge of an afl club , some comments went like our ol under 16s coach had better ideas and methods than frawley .......he came from a culutre of losing (saints) and he installed it at richmond ....................... with the exception of coming from a losing club i cant help but think thompson will be remembered for the same at geelong ........he too might get a special comments gig on radio .......fair ****ing dinkum ....

I never said that we were any better, yes i agree that we are struggling and as a one eyed supportor its very frustrating it just annoys me so much that supportors of other clubs that are struggling like Geelong seem to just pencil in wins against us when only last year we were able to beat you on your home turf. I believe you guys have got a list that should be playing semi finals minimum each year but for some reason your not and I dont think Thompson should be always getting the blame for it.
Richmond is a club that was at rock bottom when Frawley was around that bloke ruined us and its taking Terry alot of balls to come out in the media and say what he did about 2011. Having seen the way our kids performed against the best in the buissness on the weekend and knowing who else we have either injured or running around for coburg I dont think we are as far away as people are saying. For your own sake if you beat us this week dont go talking finals as you would only have beaten the bottom 3 sides.
stfu6.jpg