Thoughts?

I thought our senior players actually had a dip this time around, newman really stood out to me as having embraced the leadership role and stepped up as a result of it. Our youngsters on the other hand were a complete mess, doing doughnuts, looking at the ball instead of up field when they had it, not chasing, not reading the play. Here's hoping it was a shock to the system and rattles them into gear.
JON, while I have been a supporter thus far was attrocious tonight, every time he got the ball it was as if he didn't understand that opposition players were going to tackle him, he got the ball and 'oh shit, now what?' was written all over his face. His attempts to take them on, by the looks of it, aren't because he feels he can dart away and deliver at full pace, more that he he is unable to ever spot a target and failing that decides to play on.
I'm not shocked or devastated by the result by I expected better in the footy brains department from many of our players, way too many dinky handballs in tight to disadvantage and blind bombs.

..and that was our best. We do not have much coming into the side.

St Kilda have Riewoldt, Hayes, Ball and about 7 other guns to come in.

to be fair (a bit kind aswell) where st. kilda sat out stars and brought in their best youngsters, we sat out a fair whack of our best youngsters and brought in our lower tier youngsters, rejects and untried players. Even topline teams would struggle to carry some of the blokes we had out there tonight. Swap in edwards, connors, thursfield etc. for a few of those blokes and the result would have been a bit better I reckon.

For F**k sake get kane Johnson on some performance enhancing drugs he was slower than my old aunty and she;s been dead 5 years

how is this guy captain??? how is this guy getting a game?? Wayne Campbell was maligned (perhaps unfairly), but this KJ hits new lows with every game. Having a slow captain as a tagger wtf :eek:

It's time to drop him to vfl, and make Newman captain now...lets get it over and done with.

how is this guy captain??? how is this guy getting a game?? Wayne Campbell was maligned (perhaps unfairly), but this KJ hits new lows with every game. Having a slow captain as a tagger wtf :eek:

It's time to drop him to vfl, and make Newman captain now...lets get it over and done with.
\\

seconded

What were the players doing all summer? It certainly wasn't training.

I go as far to say that we have gone backwards. Remember that we lost a close game in the last game against the Saints last year and now we can't even win against them with a close to full strengh side against their undermanned side. I know it is the NAB cup, but I was expecting to see some improvement.

I have always said the the development of our younger players should determine if Wallace gets an extension of his contract. With the display last night, Wallace has a lot of work to do over the next two years if he wants to get that extension.

new jumper
I liked it more than last years, but I think the tiger logo just makes things look unprofessional.

It looks good when its small, but when they make it a big logo on the side of a jumper, it just does not flow.

Saying that and keeping in mind my opinion of the whole dick smith logo topic, I don't really care that much :P

to be fair (a bit kind aswell) where st. kilda sat out stars and brought in their best youngsters, we sat out a fair whack of our best youngsters and brought in our lower tier youngsters, rejects and untried players. Even topline teams would struggle to carry some of the blokes we had out there tonight. Swap in edwards, connors, thursfield etc. for a few of those blokes and the result would have been a bit better I reckon.

Not as silly as it sounds DW, its easy to forget we have a decent group of youngsters under that lot on the aprk last night...The mix will change heaps between now and R1 ..:thumbsu:

Don't worry. It is all part of Wallace's 5 year plan.And it is just the NAB cup. We won 2 of them recently so don't read too much into it.

Polo is certainly in our best team. McGuane, Coughlan, Cotchin all missing, too.

Maybe Schulz to CHB as well.

Thats a good 6-7 players into the side come round one.

If the game was a serious one Polak would have been pushed back to stop their talls and he wasnt. Other moves would have been made also.

Just a praccy match where the coach tried some things and gave some 'possibles' a run.

I think we are getting carried away with the media and their claims this was a full strength Richmond Vs St Kilda reserves.

Dissapointing yes, but there were positives and we will come out in round one with a better team.

Connors Cotchin Coglahn Edwards Hughes Graham Mcguane Meyer Polo Rance Thursfield

Carlton played a full side minus judd and walker and scrapped in against the weakest side fielded in the nab cup so far in the power
and they are celebrating on their board
their coach has said they have "definately improved"

We lost a nab cup game to St Kilda
with kelvin moore and sylvester as our two KPD
No polo coglahn edwards mcguane thursfield who are unquestionably all
in our starting 18
and our board is talking
SACK THE COACH
KILL THE CAPTAIN

how ridiculous

Connors Cotchin Coglahn Edwards Hughes Graham Mcguane Meyer Polo Rance Thursfield

Carlton played a full side minus judd and walker and scrapped in against the weakest side fielded in the nab cup so far in the power
and they are celebrating on their board
their coach has said they have "definately improved"
You forgot to mention Setanta O'hAilpin, Richard Hadley, and Adam Bentick. We played a full side that wasn't our full side, while Fevola and Stevens barely played half a game. :rolleyes: But yeah we played a full side. Keep telling yourself that if it makes you feel better.

We lost a nab cup game to St Kilda
with kelvin moore and sylvester as our two KPD
No polo coglahn edwards mcguane thursfield who are unquestionably all
in our starting 18
and our board is talking
SACK THE COACH
KILL THE CAPTAIN

how ridiculous
I tend to agree but I still doubt your coach will survive the year, and Johnson is a joke of a player let alone as a captain of a AFL club.

You forgot to mention Setanta O'hAilpin, Richard Hadley, and Adam Bentick. We played a full side that wasn't our full side, while Fevola and Stevens barely played half a game. :rolleyes: But yeah we played a full side. Keep telling yourself that if it makes you feel better.

I tend to agree but I still doubt your coach will survive the year, and Johnson is a joke of a player let alone as a captain of a AFL club.

O'hailpin wouldnt have made one iota of difference. You have far more impressive tall players coming up, and at his age he has no improvement left really. He wont have a spot by the end of next year imo. As for Hadley...hes never played a game for you guys so his inclusion could mean diddly squat, or it could have made a huge difference, in any case my read on things is that he will only be a fringe player for you guys (thats a compliment believe it or not). And bentick...ugh.

I agree that johnson is a joke and im not trying to excuse our abysmal performance (i watched maybe 20 minutes and felt physically ill at how easily we were being pushed off the ball and had to turn off) but we did have some reasonable players missing from our best 22 (specifically thursfield, connors, edwards, polo, coughlan and mcguane) and our backline was totally useless because of that (2 of our best tall defenders in mcguane and thursfield out and polak up forward wtf?!?!). Sylvester and moore wont be on our lists come next year.

O'hailpin wouldnt have made one iota of difference. You have far more impressive tall players coming up, and at his age he has no improvement left really. He wont have a spot by the end of next year imo. As for Hadley...hes never played a game for you guys so his inclusion could mean diddly squat, or it could have made a huge difference, in any case my read on things is that he will only be a fringe player for you guys (thats a compliment believe it or not). And bentick...ugh.

I agree that johnson is a joke and im not trying to excuse our abysmal performance (i watched maybe 20 minutes and felt physically ill at how easily we were being pushed off the ball and had to turn off) but we did have some reasonable players missing from our best 22 (specifically thursfield, connors, edwards, polo, coughlan and mcguane) and our backline was totally useless because of that (2 of our best tall defenders in mcguane and thursfield out and polak up forward wtf?!?!). Sylvester and moore wont be on our lists come next year.

why didnt we play polak in defence...? this is why we shudnt play polak forward we have emerging tall forwards like riewoldt in our team but have no emerging backmen {sylvester, moore}

time for newman to lead us into the right direction cause johnsons clapsing down and he's bringing the whole team down with him