parano1a

Mar 2, 2003
Melbourne Storm
One of the ideas the AFL is considering is isolating groups of 6 teams in three different hubs for up to one month, in areas least exposed to the pandemic.

The proposed hubs would be in Adelaide, Perth and Tasmania. All teams in each hub would play each other once over a 3-4 week period.

For example:

PERTH HUB
Brisbane Lions

ADELAIDE HUB
Port Adelaide
GWS
Gold Coast

TASMANIA HUB (3 teams based in Launceston, 3 in Hobart)

Source??

It's strange that the AFL would consider to place hubs in South Australia (23.4 confirmed cases per 100,000 people) & Western Australia (17.49 confirmed cases per 100,000 people) when Victoria has less cases than both states (17.47 confirmed cases per 100,000 people) and already is the home for 10 teams and sufficient facilitates to hold all 18 teams.

Source: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03...ls-how-covid-19-spreads-in-australia/12060704 (last updated 10:10am 5th April 2020)

Are you serious

Yeah—- believe it or not; according to the ABC data from yesterday Victoria had less cases per 100,000 than Western Australia.

I know it’s not significantly different between the two states— but definitely doesn’t align with this mentality that ‘Western Australia is safer than the rest of the country’.

IMO it would make more sense to bring everyone to Victoria than to fly teams to WA, have them go through compulsory 14 day self-isolations and still be in a community that isn’t necessarily safer than Victoria.

Herald Sun article posted this afternoon.
Does Tassie hold key to AFL’s return?

Ahhh—- “Eddie McGuire says....” a new controversial concept about Footy the same day as an episode of Footy Classified.

So it’s not a real news story or confirmation by the AFL; just Eddie McGuire creating something for Footy Classified to talk about tonight.

I’m starting to feel that the ‘argument’ between Eddie & TJ on nine news last Wednesday was just a media stunt (like this article) so that people will keep watching a TV show that McGuire is producing.

Yeah—- believe it or not; according to the ABC data from yesterday Victoria had less cases per 100,000 than Western Australia.

I know it’s not significantly different between the two states— but definitely doesn’t align with this mentality that ‘Western Australia is safer than the rest of the country’.

IMO it would make more sense to bring everyone to Victoria than to fly teams to WA, have them go through compulsory 14 day self-isolations and still be in a community that isn’t necessarily safer than Victoria.
VicO Bias m8 wotch owt or eye’ll chuk onme bintang singlet n biff ya. #Bali’n’KutA #PerthPride

Gee Whiz, new lows today, mate. You're scratching the bottom of the barrel now with your inferiority complex.

If you are concerned about catching Coronavirus you would look at the total confirmed cases as that is the amount of people who are potential sources for the virus as opposed to per 100,000.

Approx 400 cases in WA v 1100 cases in Victoria - there are 700 extra cases in Victoria, meaning you are more likely to come in to contact with someone who has Coronavirus in Victoria.

IN terms of the source for the Hubs, it comes from Hocking himself

Source: https://www.smh.com.au/sport/afl/af...-bid-to-get-ball-rolling-20200405-p54h9c.html

Don't worry about the rent this month, it's free!

Eddie hosts the Wednesday edition, Monday is Hutchy.

I said 'producing'--- not hosting :rolleyes:

Both editions of Footy Classified are produced by JAM TV Australia; a company which Eddie McGuire is the chairman. JAM TV is a wholly owned subsidiary of McGuire Media-- which ironically enough has only two directors--- Eddie McGuire & his wife Carla.

Source: https://www.smh.com.au/sport/afl/af...-bid-to-get-ball-rolling-20200405-p54h9c.html

I've read the above article and it says in literally the second line:

"The league is looking at the idea of one or two central places, but has not nominated an area or areas in which to relocate"

No mention to having a hub in South Australia or Western Australia according to Hocking there.

Gee Whiz, new lows today, mate. You're scratching the bottom of the barrel now with your inferiority complex.

If you are concerned about catching Coronavirus you would look at the total confirmed cases as that is the amount of people who are potential sources for the virus as opposed to per 100,000.

Approx 400 cases in WA v 1100 cases in Victoria - there are 700 extra cases in Victoria, meaning you are more likely to come in to contact with someone who has Coronavirus in Victoria.

This is quite possibly the dumbest and least logical thing I've ever read. Just because there's 'more cases in Victoria' means you're more likely to come into contact with someone who has COVID-19. The numbers are higher in Victoria because it's got a bigger population; not because the disease is any further widely spread.

If I encounter 100,00 people in Western Australia there will be 17.5 (rounded up) people who have COVID-19; If I encounter 100,000 people in Victoria there will be 17.5 (once again rounded up) people who have COVID-19.

No way should the Lions be in WA hub !!

East based on GC

GC ☀
Brisbane 🦁
Swans
Giants
Hawks
Saints

Vic

Nth Melb

West based in Perth

Eagles🦅
Port Adelaide
Geelong 🐱
Bulldogs
Nah.

All in SE Qld.Stay at Tangalooma.
Play 8 games in 5 weeks.
Play Metricon and Gabba.

Return home, self isolate for two weeks.

Return to Qld to play remaining games.

Return home. Self isolate for two weeks.

Play finals.......

Don't worry about the rent this month, it's free!
lol no.