Apr 25, 2001
-
Tiger culture must go: Brown
By Marc Moncrief
October 11, 2004

New Richmond coach Terry Wallace has already set to work shaking up the club and ridding it of a deep-seated losing culture, his old friend Nathan Brown says.

Wallace, who arrived at Punt Road last month, has started working players hard on the training track and will accept no excuses as the Tigers work to get off the bottom of the ladder, says the former Bulldog who played under Wallace at Whitten Oval.

"He's come in and said, 'You turn up day one pre-season and make sure you're in tip-top condition or you won't play in my side'," Brown said yesterday. "He's going to be very hard on the boys, which will be good.

"I just think that things have got to change. The culture of the club has got to change and there's no time like the present to do it. Terry thinks he's the man to do it and we'll follow him.

"We've fallen into a losing culture and everyone kicks us when we're down and it's hard to get out of that, so we've got to break that losing culture and, once we start winning, we've got to keep winning."

Brown said an influx of new blood over summer would hopefully help invigorate the club.

"We've got a good list of young players, we've got a couple of first-round draft picks and we've got Troy Simmonds, who we're very excited about having at the club. I think he's a fantastic player and the sort of tall, mobile player that we need," he said.

But Brown checked his enthusiasm, conceding that it would be folly for the Tigers to aspire to the AFL's highest prize next year.

"We're not going to kid ourselves, we're probably not good enough to win the premiership," he said. "But if we can take some steps and try and make the finals and then set something up like St Kilda have, then that's where we're heading. Dreams are possible, I guess . . . but our aim is to make the eight."

Brown also gave his blessing to former teammate Brad Ottens' move to Geelong. Brown said he had spoken to some of his former teammates about his own move from the Bulldogs and he was in no position to throw stones.

"He felt like he needed a change - like me last year," Brown said.

"I can't sit here and bag Brad or anything, so I wish him all the best."

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2004/10/10/1097406424123.html

Certainly a key thing is to improve our fitness, great to see him taking a hard line on it, shows that it clearly wasn't a high enough priority in the past.

Heres a question for the masses.

WTF would either of them know about a winning culture ?

LMAOOOOO@Here we go again.

oxx said:
Heres a question for the masses.

WTF would either of them know about a winning culture ?

LMAOOOOO@Here we go again.

Money Money
Must be funny
In Wallet's and Browny's world.

That is the only cultural exchange they will provide.....

well i would imagine that wallace knows about a winning culture from his hawthorn seasons, so you would imagine he would know what is required.

this a time positive talk not the continual comments we have way a head of us but most supporters can see light at the end of the tunnel, its time to get out and support the club.

at the same time its probably the best opportunity these young guys are gonna have to create something over the next five years, so its up to them to grab the chance and create their own culture.

EAT EM ALIVE IN 05

itsintheblood said:
Don't start Oxx. A bit of positive talk from you for a change woudnt go astray.

No worries.

Im there mate.

Just couldn't resist !

Is Terry Wallacec a walking cliche or what.

'Turn Up in Tip Top condition or you wont play in my team' - Gee, what coach hasnt said that.Is he saying that Danny Frawley was happy for the boys to wander in with a beer gut after Xmas festivities?

There is more to a winning culture than espousing cliches. Its actually called winning. Start doing that and the culture will grow from there. But to bring out all the coaching cliches is just a waste of time.

Ihope the Tiges go well under Wallace - God knows you guys have been patient. But seriously someone just tell him and Brown to shut up and let actions speak louder than words.

Napier_Street said:

'Turn Up in Tip Top condition or you wont play in my team' - Gee, what coach hasnt said that.Is he saying that Danny Frawley was happy for the boys to wander in with a beer gut after Xmas festivities?

There is more to a winning culture than espousing cliches. Its actually called winning. Start doing that and the culture will grow from there. But to bring out all the coaching cliches is just a waste of time.

Ihope the Tiges go well under Wallace - God knows you guys have been patient. But seriously someone just tell him and Brown to shut up and let actions speak louder than words.

I doubt very much TW would have used the words Tip-Top. FFS, not everything Browny said would have been word for word.

If that is all the ammo you have collected against Wallace, better start firing somewhere else buddy! ;)

Napier_Street said:

That's exactly what he's saying. Did you see how many times Richmond faded badly in the second half of a match this year? A clear indication that fitness wasn't the priority that it should have been.

Napier_Street said:

I think he's already showing that it's actions and not talk, he's had the boys out running already, and is threatening their place in the team if they are not doing the right thing. Sounds like more than cliches, it's actions in practice and hopefully having an effect on the list.

Ipaidmy200in89 said:
Money Money
Must be funny
In Wallet's and Browny's world.

That is the only cultural exchange they will provide.....
bitterness
hangs around such a long time does'nt it! :rolleyes:

im glad tw is here. look at what he did with the doggies when he took over, bottom 8 side straight into premiership contenders, the future is bright for the richmond footy club.
GO TIGES!

Tiger culture must go: Brown