Tigers Draft 2006

• Thread starter Thread starter Jamdonut5

pantsdown said:
Guys go to the draft night, was excellent last year Greg and Frank gave very good assessments of potential recruits, their pro's and con's and what we as a club would be looking out for.

Their video footage of young Travis Casserly was great and you could see why we drafted him, great intiative for the club that will be become a must on the tigers calender.

Can you give a brief overview of what they said bout JON, Cleve and Travis??

Calcium Man said:
Is that Mitch Mortons little brother??? I though he wasnt available until next year because WC wont be able to get him F/S
Yes he is Mitch's younger brother, then there is Cale who is younger.

Weaver said:
Rubbish. The JON selection was obvious.

This year is looking much tougher. The guys we would want Hansen, Gumbelton, Thorp, Gibbs will be gone.

Jetta is rubbish. Not nearly as quick or as skilled as claimed. Hardly need a soft forward pocket. Selwood is like Pettifer - not overly tough, doesn't win his own footy, lacks genuine pace and skills are good not great. Selwood would be a safe pick but we may look elsewhere. Reiwoldt dosen't look a genuine KP player to me - more a Pat Bowden or Andy Kellaway and we'd prefer to give those jobs to tall midfielders like JON.

The player we need is Tom Hislop but he isn't the sort that Wallace normally recruits. With Coughlan struggling to play enough games we need another extractor.

I think we are probably still looking at a batch of players.

Leunberger, Selwood, Sellar, Proud, O'Keefe, Pettard, Hawksley. Tough call this year but Daniel O'Keefe and James Hawksley would be the sort of gutsy calls that Miller and Wallace like to make.

My thoughts exactly. I have watched him with Tassie and saw his U18 champs and I think I raised it then in a thread. Looks like a Tuck type in the making to me but with silky skills. Build is ready but needs a bit of endurance in the tank and been used to playing against men for a whole season almost. Lots of upside but as you say..is he Plough's type?

tomthetiger said:
Not attitude wise, thats for sure.

Whats that like Tom? I havent heard anything in that area? Jack Riewoldt is good mates with my son and he seems to be very grounded and has the brain on straight but Thorp and Hislop I dunno. I know my boy and his mates reckon Sherman has the worlds biggest head and now ignores his "old mates" hahahaa but I guess you would when your career is flying.

I think that if Thorp slips we should take him. With the comparisons to Pavlich, i think we wouldn't want to make the same mistake twice (Fiora). I was reading a thread about Selwood which said that he was a good clearance player, which would be a quality that we need, possibly playing him with foley and tuck in at centre bounces would give us some solid clearing power

Richo83 said:
Weaver, do you rate Riewoldt? If not, why?

People say (such as on the drafting board) that he is not good enough to be a KPP, more of a third forward, is that true?

Reminds me of Andy Kellaway. Very good and gutsy overhead mark, particularly going back with the flight. Not overly athletic, no real spring, doesn't have much physical presence. Ryan O'Keefe is a 190cm forward but you wouldn't regard him as a KP player.

I think at Richmond if we are going to recruit a 3rd defender we probably won't go for someone like Kellaway who is 80% defender and 20% attacker. We will go for someone like JON who is 20% defender and 80% attacker. Similarly up forward I think our idea of a 3rd forward will be someone who can take a turn on the wing like Pat Bowden / Danny Meyer.

The talk of jumping on the 5th best KP player with pick 9 is a bit silly. Rarely are there that many good tall players. Hansen and Gumbleton are much better than the others. Reiwoldt is the next group. As we saw with Hughes you can wait for the second-tier forwards.

Weaver said:
Reminds me of Andy Kellaway. Very good and gutsy overhead mark, particularly going back with the flight. Not overly athletic, no real spring, doesn't have much physical presence. Ryan O'Keefe is a 190cm forward but you wouldn't regard him as a KP player.

I think at Richmond if we are going to recruit a 3rd defender we probably won't go for someone like Kellaway who is 80% defender and 20% attacker. We will go for someone like JON who is 20% defender and 80% attacker. Similarly up forward I think our idea of a 3rd forward will be someone who can take a turn on the wing like Pat Bowden / Danny Meyer.

The talk of jumping on the 5th best KP player with pick 9 is a bit silly. Rarely are there that many good tall players. Hansen and Gumbleton are much better than the others. Reiwoldt is the next group. As we saw with Hughes you can wait for the second-tier forwards.

I don't often do it but I gotta disagreee Weav. From the VFL games I've seen here, maybe 6 or so, he has displayed quite the opoosite on all counts you mentioned there. Dunno if its the home town crowd effect or whatever but has taken a few screamers with hang time, has a huge motor without blistering speed and is fearless, althoiugh thinking and typing maybe that is different to physical presence...dunno. Certainly the 2 others are ticks for mine.

Weaver said:

Sp IYHO, who should we go for, someone like Proud a star midfielder? Or another KP prospect like Ried or some othr KPP?

Richo83 said:
Sp IYHO, who should we go for, someone like Proud a star midfielder? Or another KP prospect like Ried or some othr KPP?

Anyone who thinks Reid is a KP prospect hasn't seen him play. He will go early but have everything crossed that he is taken by someone else. Not quite sold on Proud as a star midfielder.

Don't mistake this for fence sitting. I just think we are in a really, really awkward spot at 7-8 where the top five or six will be gone, and none of the next batch quite jumps out as being better than each other. Tough, tough pick for us this year.

Our priority at the draft should be a tall key position player who can play at either end. Someone who can match it with the Jonathon Browns of the comp (in time of course) or at the other end to fill the void Staff leaves as Richo needs help.

Weaver said:
Anyone who thinks Reid is a KP prospect hasn't seen him play. He will go early but have everything crossed that he is taken by someone else. Not quite sold on Proud as a star midfielder.

Don't mistake this for fence sitting. I just think we are in a really, really awkward spot at 7-8 where the top five or six will be gone, and none of the next batch quite jumps out as being better than each other. Tough, tough pick for us this year.

What are the chances of somebody from that top 5 or 6 slipping? It happened with hurn last year. Or are that far above the rest that it is unlikely, like the 2004 draft.

Calcium Man said:
What are the chances of somebody from that top 5 or 6 slipping? It happened with hurn last year. Or are that far above the rest that it is unlikely, like the 2004 draft.

I don't think Hurn dropped that much. Have to be careful of the 'Australian Cricket Team factor'.

If a position in the Oz cricket team becomes available each state insists their guy is the man to fill the spot.

Pre-draft time every state seems to pick out their best big bloke and best midfielder and declare them certain top-10 picks.

SA - James Sellar, Bryce Gibbs
WA - Scott Gumbleton, Leroy Jetta
Vic - Lachlan Hansen, Joel Selwood
Tas - Mitchell Thorp, Tom Hislop
QLD - Kurt Tippett, Albert Proud

It won't work out that way.

Our problem is that the top candidates (Gibbs, Thorp, Gumbleton, Hansen) suit our style of play. Some of the next batch aren't necessarily the type we would draft. Can't see any of those 4 dropping.

With Pattison on the books we may not double up with Sellar who is similar.

Tippett is a tall, contested marking, goal-square FF - which we are unlikely to draft.

Jetta is a HFF and with Tamling, Meyer, Pettifer we may not want him. His kicking and pace are over-estimated as well.

Hislop might suit our needs but can't see us being keen on a top-10 pick on a centreman.

I wouldn't be suprised if we upset the form guide and went for someone out of left field.

Weaver said:
Hislop might suit our needs but can't see us being keen on a top-10 pick on a centreman.

It's a shame we're not looking to bolster that area with some quality as I think we're still light on there. We have plenty of the pacy outside guys now, our midfield rotation needs more depth of ball-winners. Be nice to have another one to help out Tuck, Coughlan and Foley, especially with Cogs coming back from the knee.

If, as you say, it's going to be very hard to pick someone, then might it open the door to trade down our first pick? I've always been keen to hang on to our first round selection, but if we're only going to be getting a player we could be getting with a lower pick, then could we look to perhaps gain another 2nd round selection? Given the recent rule changes to allow trades involving picks only, would a team that finishes high up be interested in trading up if they have a particular player in mind? Does 7 = 14 + 32?

Weaver said:
I don't think Hurn dropped that much. Have to be careful of the 'Australian Cricket Team factor'.

If a position in the Oz cricket team becomes available each state insists their guy is the man to fill the spot.

Pre-draft time every state seems to pick out their best big bloke and best midfielder and declare them certain top-10 picks.

SA - James Sellar, Bryce Gibbs
WA - Scott Gumbleton, Leroy Jetta
Vic - Lachlan Hansen, Joel Selwood
Tas - Mitchell Thorp, Tom Hislop
QLD - Kurt Tippett, Albert Proud

It won't work out that way.

Our problem is that the top candidates (Gibbs, Thorp, Gumbleton, Hansen) suit our style of play. Some of the next batch aren't necessarily the type we would draft. Can't see any of those 4 dropping.

With Pattison on the books we may not double up with Sellar who is similar.

Tippett is a tall, contested marking, goal-square FF - which we are unlikely to draft.

Jetta is a HFF and with Tamling, Meyer, Pettifer we may not want him. His kicking and pace are over-estimated as well.

I wouldn't be suprised if we upset the form guide and went for someone out of left field.

So what we need is to have sheedy have an attack of senility and trade his top pick with us plus a player like hyde so we can get one of the top four! :D

Or we could go for Polak and freo's top pick for there first rd pick if its as even as you say.

jezza said:
It's a shame we're not looking to bolster that area with some quality as I think we're still light on there. We have plenty of the pacy outside guys now, our midfield rotation needs more depth of ball-winners. Be nice to have another one to help out Tuck, Coughlan and Foley, especially with Cogs coming back from the knee.

Agree, and for all I know this might be exactly the type we have targetted. However I think our mantra will be pace, pace, pace.

I read the stuff out of Richmond saying "best available" as a way of trying to soften the blow to all those Richmond-ites who think a KPP is a certainty.

jezza said:
If, as you say, it's going to be very hard to pick someone, then might it open the door to trade down our first pick? I've always been keen to hang on to our first round selection, but if we're only going to be getting a player we could be getting with a lower pick, then could we look to perhaps gain another 2nd round selection? Given the recent rule changes to allow trades involving picks only, would a team that finishes high up be interested in trading up if they have a particular player in mind? Does 7 = 14 + 32?

I genueinely believe we are going to make a headline one way or another with the pick. It is such an awkward pick. As I say, I can see us taking a roughie or definately trading down as you suggest.

Could a Polak (or whichever defender) be -
Out - pick 8 and pick 42.
In - Polak and pick 13.

Keep a first and second round pick and add a risky KD. Freo move up in the first round (and they would be keen on Leuenberger and would be able to get him), a 3rd round pick, rid of a problem, and salary cap relief.

jezza said:

Good idea. Another option - we could we trade up from pick 7/8 to one of picks 3/4/5 by offering an extra pick or two - plus maybe a player?

Yes, I know it's unlikely anyone would want to give up a gun - but clubs like Brisbane, Kanga's or Hawthorn who are so top heavy with young talls already may be willing to drop back to 7 if they get an extra pick or two in the 2nd round.

The problem with that is we have fewer picks in the 2nd and 3rd rounds plus whatever it is we give away for Polak should we head down that path. Worth a thought if we're desperate enough for a Gumbie, Hansen, Thorp or Gibbs.

Rubbish. The JON selection was obvious.

Jetta is rubbish.

Selwood is like Pettifer

Reiwoldt - more a Pat Bowden or Andy Kellaway and we'd prefer to give those jobs to tall midfielders like JON.

The player we need is Tom Hislop

...in hindsight Weaver really wasn't the recruiting expert many thought he was.

Good on him for offering an opinion but I think people just got carried away with his knowledge.

Not attitude wise, thats for sure.

Delisted after 2 years because of attitude - good call :thumbsu:

...in hindsight Weaver really wasn't the recruiting expert many thought he was.

Good on him for offering an opinion but I think people just got carried away with his knowledge.

Delisted after 2 years because of attitude - good call :thumbsu:
He was spot on with Jetta. People overrate him so much. Dud.
He was very wrong on Selwood though.

He was spot on with Jetta. People overrate him so much. Dud.
He was very wrong on Selwood though.

nup, cant buy that dude. You see at the time Selwood might have been another Pettifer, but he developed into a top notch player at AFL level and Pettifer still thinks he is playing junior footy. ;)

Using that rationale, then all gun players are Pettifers who turn themselves into Selwoods?
fact is, Weaver was wrong about Selwood. I also think he was near enough to the mark on Riewoldt as well.

Using that rationale, then all gun players are Pettifers who turn themselves into Selwoods?
fact is, Weaver was wrong about Selwood. I also think he was near enough to the mark on Riewoldt as well.

no, using that rationale then all gun players are Pettifers, who havent got a Spud to turn them into Pettifers. ;)