Universal Love Tim Broomhead

• Thread starter Thread starter PepperFace

No sorry bit of a typo what I am saying is that the 189 midfielder isn,t the norm more the 178-185

well i'm not sure if the smaller player is the norm... if pendles are kennedy are so successful as being big and strong. It might be the norm at the Pies, but personally I dont like it

The 22 disposals came from the stupid ABC stats which are always wrong and seem to miss every second possession.

I reckon there was a 5 minute period in the third where he had it at least 8 times.

He hasd at leat 5-6 touches in the last quarter I thought as well, even though he was tiring.

not sure where on earth the club came up with 22 disposals. He had 17 at half time! and yes he did die out (fitness wise) from about half way through the third quarter but he certainly had more than 5 touches after half time! He was a magnet at the start of the third!
Got it from the afl app which post stats received from champion data I am pretty sure but obviously they aren't 100% correct all the time due to lack of tv vision etc.

where on the afl app are they posted mate? and which afl app do you get them on?
Sorry should have specified... It's the footy live app. Go to game day, scroll up so it opens up the separate competitions (sanfl, vfl, nab cup, etc.) then choose the league, game, lineups...thn find ur player

If he could be as good as Sloane :), I have a man-crush on that man. My most loved non-pies player

I'd be wrapt if he winds up half as good! He just brings so many of the same traits to the game.

Ok it looks like we all are happy with Ben/Tim.

Aside from height/weight "issues" when should we throw him in the firsts? GWS is a few weeks could be good. By then, Martin and Kennedy should either have settled in or will be in need of a rest.

Yeah I noticed they missed a few of his stats during the game. I reckon some of the close in handballs. He prob got around 25+ a good outing.

Do we want balance on Broomy ( if nothing else to avoid jinxing the kid)? I'll try at the risk of spoiling the love. Needs a little more size to avoid getting hurt, his developing fitness after the glandular has him drifting out of quarters at times and if he is to play as a mid he will need to get his average disposals up around that mark consistently.

Having said that I'm obviously excited like everyone and would love to see the kid develop as we hope. The Sloane comparison is encouraging as I'm a big fan of his as well. I can see why some people get frustrated as he obviously has a way to go yet. I like coming on here and speculating and getting excited but prob some people find it annoying and premature.

Interesting discussion on Sydney's mids. They are the top of the tree for mine right now because of their work rate and team system. Interesting to note that they are not all tall mids. I reckon the tall mid is useful in that first contest where the ball is often being flicked around a lot before it comes out, height is a real advantage and someone like Blair hasn't a hope. But outside of that there is still a real place for the Sloane, Sewell, Jack, Hannaberry, Murphy size midfielder

I agree with Blaze, a tall mid like loner gain and a running defender would ice our list beautifully.

It just came to me, but SA watchers in particular. How does Sweeps compare to Chad Wingard in terms of game style? Would they be similar or are they different kinds of players? I feel like Wingard is a closer comparison to say, Sloane or Judd.

As for the larger debate about midfield size, I think while height is important, I do feel like strength, mass and other qualities are also key. You can get away with being a sub 185cm grunt mid if you have very good attributes like core strength that allow you to stand up in tackles, or lay them, or not get shifted off the ball. Obviously, the taller/bigger you are, the easier that becomes. But players can be exceptional in those areas naturally despite the height disadvantage. Luke Ball is 183cm, Joel Duckwood is 182cm, and all those Sydney players I mentioned earlier. Not to mention a guy like Daniel Kerr who's 178cm.

That's where guys like Blair get shown up. He doesn't have those exceptional attributes that transcend his size and although he tries very hard and manages to punch above his weight, it's not at a level where he can comfortably be apart of the centre square group.

That said, I still think having a balance is best. Can't load up on short people forever like what we're doing now), and having a 185cm+ bull learning the ropes in the forward line ala Stringer to end up a player like Dangerfield or Watson is something I sorely want from this draft period.

I see no reason to rush in kids like Broomhead, Grundy, Ramsay, Oxley. Its their first year and the latter three certainly need to gain a bit of muscle and core strength, they will benefit enormously from training and another pre-season and should get their chance in the NAB next season to stake a claim. Kennedy looks more physically ready as he is a nuggety little fella.

That said, if one of them starts bashing the door down with stellar VFL form ala Martin then you are not going to hold them back.

The 22 disposals came from the stupid ABC stats which are always wrong and seem to miss every second possession.

I reckon there was a 5 minute period in the third where he had it at least 8 times.

He hasd at leat 5-6 touches in the last quarter I thought as well, even though he was tiring.
I don't know what to believe- the collingwood website has 22 touches and 0.3. So puzzled

I am disturbed by the writeup by Anthony Rocca on the Collingwood website. Rocca stated he didnt hit the scoreboard (0.3)......clearly he kicked one goal when he ran into an open goal......maybe even another goal early on. But if I and other fans remember seeing him kick a goal (or two) - how does the assistant coach not even remember....
Ghost writer?

yeah pretty amateurish

I wonder if the kid even know his real name is Ben. I can’t believe his family mocked him whole life with the moniker “Tim”. No offence to all the Tim’s out there. He could need some counselling once he finds out everybody has been calling him by the wrong name his whole life.

Oh well, he won’t have to go far to ask someone else what life is like with the name Ben, when he does find out. We have a massive “My name is Ben” support group at the club

TBone I think it's a pretty easy procedural matter these days. The Club just needs to send his parents or guardians a formal letter stating: "Dear Mr and Mrs Broomhead, in the interests of team balance we have decided to change your son's name to 'Ben', Regards, CFC." Sorted. Not like we're asking to pump him full of illegal peptides or anything.

Front page of the HUN today has a sensational article likening Buddy (who could potentially go from Hawthorn for pick 20) to two Freo pick 20's and our own Ben Broomhead (who they incorrectly call 'Tim'). I was a bit vexed by this as I'm not really sure that Buddy and Broomy should be mentioned in the same sentence. Not sure if he's shown enough yet. (Buddy).