Rumour Busted Tim Kelly will be an Eagle next season

A bucket of scraps for Tim Kelly isn't even remotely reasonable. It's a bit audacious if anything.

If you insist on referring to an offer of pick 20, pick 22 and a future second-rounder as "a bucket of scraps" then the conversation isn't worth having. It's more than you gave up for a contracted Brownlow Medalist 12 months ago.

A bucket of scraps is what you got a homesick contracted former pick 6 for.

If you insist on referring to an offer of pick 20, pick 22 and a future second-rounder as "a bucket of scraps" then the conversation isn't worth having. It's more than you gave up for a contracted Brownlow Medalist 12 months ago.

A bucket of scraps is what you got a homesick contracted former pick 6 for.
Didn't realise Kelly was 33 with busted shoulders and was contemplating retirement.

There's no point trading for picks if you don't think the picks will get you what you want.

Geelong obviously had their eye on some elite talent at the pointy end of the draft and wanted picks to access it.

3 2nd rounders* doesn't do that.

*Yes, one was technically a first rounder, but it didn't give access to the first round of talent.

Rubbish, like Gibbs at Carlton in 2017 season, Kelly will be fully there for football for Cats in 2019. He knew all this when he put himself in draft in 2016 that he could be playing on other side of nation. A contract is a contract. He will see it out and end of 2020 see if he can get back to Perth again. Cats chances in 2019 far better with him in it than pick 20 and 21. Eagles will find something suitable to trade at end of 2019 and all three parties will be happy with outcome.
Yes he will be:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...appointment-and-go-again-20181018-p50ag1.html

Didn't realise Kelly was 33 with busted shoulders and was contemplating retirement.

There's no point trading for picks if you don't think the picks will get you what you want.

Geelong obviously had their eye on some elite talent at the pointy end of the draft and wanted picks to access it.

3 2nd rounders* doesn't do that.

*Yes, one was technically a first rounder, but it didn't give access to the first round of talent.

I don't blame Geelong for not accepting it. That's their right.

But it was a very reasonable offer. It was a lot more than I personally would have been comfortable giving up. It's in no way a "bucket of scraps".

I'm fine with the Cats' decision. They had the right to demand an extraordinary deal for their contracted player. Whether it's the best decision, no one will know for at least 12 months.

You're going on about how they've shown him how much they value him and how West Coast haven't. Do you think that'll result in him changing his mind in 12 months time?

I never posted with any context of changing his mind. I was posting with context of him appreciating what Cats have done for him since moment they valued him enough to draft him. They done more than any other club. He wants to get back to Perth for his wife and family. I do not see that changing. He will see out his time at Cats and will forever be grateful they saw more in him to value him more than any other club.

I don't blame Geelong for not accepting it. That's their right.

But it was a very reasonable offer. It was a lot more than I personally would have been comfortable giving up. It's in no way a "bucket of scraps".
It's a subjective viewpoint, though.

Kelly at the Cats and a first rounder next year for him is better than a grouping of second rounders according to Geelong's list management team, who are widely regarded as among the best in the business.

(Fremantle have declared they're still interested and will work with Kelly + management over the next 12 months)

It's a subjective viewpoint, though.

Kelly at the Cats and a first rounder next year for him is better than a grouping of second rounders according to Geelong's list management team, who are widely regarded as among the best in the business.

(Fremantle have declared they're still interested and will work with Kelly + management over the next 12 months)

As I said, I don't blame Geelong for not accepting the offer. He's clearly worth more to them than the picks would have been.

It was still a very reasonable offer though just from an objective standpoint.

I heard today from a source that Kelly had no intentions of going to WCE and wanted to stay with Geelong 1week before the trade period and that it appears that his missus influenced his decision. This is also the reason that the Cats held off on offers coz apparently there is still a good chance that he will stay with the Cats beyond 2019!

I 100% believe that til after the next Geelong f&b

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I wonder when people talk about family support - Clubs are well resourced to provide some of that support while players get enough money to get a nanny or the like if required - Anyway Geelong have another year to convince Kelly to stay at GFC.

Gaff almost certain to come home to Victoria. Kelly's family is home sick, he's a West Aussie and the Eagles are a far stronger, more successful club than the Fremantle Dockers, It makes sense. The Eagles have reportedly offered him 1.5 mil a season.

As much as I want him at Geelong for his outstanding talent, I think he's out the cattery and at the Eagles Nest in 2019. I think this guy could win a brownlow if he remains healthy. Would spew if he leaves but that's the game.

Hey OP! At least you can post this same thread after Round 1 next year. You might even be right.

Who would want a player that makes up a total crock about family reasons for returning to WA.
Cats or Eagles you’re welcome to him.

I never posted with any context of changing his mind. I was posting with context of him appreciating what Cats have done for him since moment they valued him enough to draft him. They done more than any other club. He wants to get back to Perth for his wife and family. I do not see that changing. He will see out his time at Cats and will forever be grateful they saw more in him to value him more than any other club.

The person who needed the most help, with her moving a young family to the other side of the country doesn't seem to agree with your view.

"TIM Kelly’s partner has voiced her disappointment at the lack of support from Geelong in the wake of the midfielder’s failed trade attempt to West Coast. Caitlin Miller told The Geelong Advertiser she faced a range of challenges with her young family, which includes three children under the age of three, away from the couple’s family and friends in their home state of WA. She said the Cats had failed to provide an adequate level of support in their first year associated with the club. “They were aware we had never been to Melbourne, had no family or support and whilst we have had access to the club doctor when the children have been sick, the support we have been given by the Cats is minimal,” she told the Advertiser.""

I was posting with context of him appreciating what Cats have done for him since moment they valued him enough to draft him. They done more than any other club. He wants to get back to Perth for his wife and family. I do not see that changing. He will see out his time at Cats and will forever be grateful they saw more in him to value him more than any other club.
The person who needed the most help, with her moving a young family to the other side of the country doesn't seem to agree with your view.
Wrong. We were talking about him, not her. I am sure his wife is struggling but he appreciates what they been trying to do in circumstances his wife struggles to adjust to. I feel sorry for her but he following his career. Family planning is his family issue. Not a football issue. It is clear enough from him and his manager they appreciate it. They drafted Tim Kelly the footballer. They did not draft his wife.

"TIM Kelly’s partner has voiced her disappointment at the lack of support from Geelong in the wake of the midfielder’s failed trade attempt to West Coast. Caitlin Miller told The Geelong Advertiser she faced a range of challenges with her young family, which includes three children under the age of three, away from the couple’s family and friends in their home state of WA. She said the Cats had failed to provide an adequate level of support in their first year associated with the club. “They were aware we had never been to Melbourne, had no family or support and whilst we have had access to the club doctor when the children have been sick, the support we have been given by the Cats is minimal,” she told the Advertiser.""

Caitlin is having a sook - Kelly is on better wages playing at Geelong ( which will increase big time in year 3 ) then in Perth - Sometimes you need to make the sacrifice to follow your partner for a better long term benefit.

What a sook

Moved to brisbane with no family or support. If my child is sick, I take them to a doctor while paying too

Some people think their entitled to everything

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Ffs, this is the worst thing she could have done. Have a sook about it. The club is not obligated to support extended family...what does she want the club to pay for an au pair? Im sure gillon could assist.

Ive got a son with a disability and a few other issues which has settled down now. its taken 3 years but there was minimal support from my or my wifes employer.

What a sook

Moved to brisbane with no family or support. If my child is sick, I take them to a doctor while paying too

Some people think their entitled to everything

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Sounds like you've got it all figured out.

Seeing as all 3 of your kids are under 3, when you're at the doctor how do you go with sll of themin the waiting room, particularly your child with autism?

I am assuming your circumstances are similar or worse than the Kelly's seeing as you are able to easily judge them from afar - so your superdad advice would be awesome!

Sounds like you've got it all figured out.

Seeing as all 3 of your kids are under 3, when you're at the doctor how do you go with sll of themin the waiting room, particularly your child with autism?

I am assuming your circumstances are similar or worse than the Kelly's seeing as you are able to easily judge them from afar - so your superdad advice would be awesome!
if you're going to have a go at the poster and try relate it to her situation, choose a better example. When their kids were sick it was the club doctor that went to the house she didn't have to sit in any waiting room trying to deal with the children, or pay.

nobody is saying her situation isn't difficult, but she has plenty of help offered to her which apparently isn't enough. People doing it harder have simply pointed it out that she's just sooking, it's pretty well documented on her own social media how her average day goes and what she deals with. If it was as tough as she claims, you've got to wonder why she hasn't employed some kind of help from the large number of facilities available in the Geelong area.

I imagine Geelong are in a difficult position because any benefits they provide the Kelly family would be, at least, football department spending which counts against the soft cap and, at worst, payments to a player which counts against the salary cap.

I doubt they're just not willing to provide support, they're likely to be very limited in what they can provide without jeopardising their position with the TPP.

lol in a perfect Geelong world. He doesn't want to be here but he will be at least for another year.

if you're going to have a go at the poster and try relate it to her situation, choose a better example. When their kids were sick it was the club doctor that went to the house she didn't have to sit in any waiting room trying to deal with the children, or pay.

nobody is saying her situation isn't difficult, but she has plenty of help offered to her which apparently isn't enough. People doing it harder have simply pointed it out that she's just sooking, it's pretty well documented on her own social media how her average day goes and what she deals with. If it was as tough as she claims, you've got to wonder why she hasn't employed some kind of help from the large number of facilities available in the Geelong area.
Pretty sure you go to a specialist to treat a kid with special needs and so not as easy getting the team doctor to pop over. Still involve waiting rooms etc...

Very easy for people to be taking pot shots at them. "If it was so bad go to freo" etc... there is a lot more to the story just probably conveyed poorly and kelly not wanting to point specifics. It was clear he didnt want to go to freo and there is just reason, we dont need the reasons but obviously he was adamant freo is not an option. Given his situation i would say the issues would be significant.

Like every other player that got traded, Kelly is entitled to choose what club he wants to go to. The fact eagles couldn't satisfy geelong and kelly giving an undertaking he will committ to geelong for another season says more about kelly's character than anything else.

I reckon in the end, Geelong will regret their stance and i hope they do.

Pretty sure you go to a specialist to treat a kid with special needs and so not as easy getting the team doctor to pop over. Still involve waiting rooms etc...

Very easy for people to be taking pot shots at them. "If it was so bad go to freo" etc... there is a lot more to the story just probably conveyed poorly and kelly not wanting to point specifics. It was clear he didnt want to go to freo and there is just reason, we dont need the reasons but obviously he was adamant freo is not an option. Given his situation i would say the issues would be significant.

Like every other player that got traded, Kelly is entitled to choose what club he wants to go to. The fact eagles couldn't satisfy geelong and kelly giving an undertaking he will committ to geelong for another season says more about kelly's character than anything else.

I reckon in the end, Geelong will regret their stance and i hope they do.

That's the thing though, if it was so bad they would be going to Freo to get home, or would just stop footy all together nobody is forcing him, or her, to stay in Geelong where it's supposedly a dire situation. We can pick apart her statements all we like, but the one conclusion we will always come back to is she's just having a sook in the media, and has a lot of growing up still to do. It's understandable, and I honestly don't blame him for not wanting to go to Freo, but you can't claim a desperate situation needing to go home but refusing to do so because it doesn't suit everything you want. Her sook about the club in the media is literally that - a sook, because the club has done plenty of things for them, Sam Blease even commented on it insinuating it's probably not true what she said. She waited until September to bring this up with the club, which just screams incompetence on her own end if she needed help that much.

It's easy to take pot shots because she hasn't exactly hidden her thoughts on the situation. When you look at what she says? Screams entitled. That's what people are taking issue with.

How exactly are they going to regret not doing this trade? Kelly is committed for at least one more year and they will try to convince his family to stay, what have they got to lose? Whatever players WCE take with those picks aren't necessarily the players Geelong would have taken.