Time for a base or move into the City of Adelaide.

It's small minded because of what's to happen to the stadium in the next few years.

If what has been reported is true and aami is gonna look like a suburban oval it does create an issue for a professional sports organisation!
Plus I think it's only natural to become more central to the city....
It's not so much about a Pub but it would be nice to have a place for us members to gather after a game!

We have the benefit of time but that doesn't mean we can't think about it and if the opportunity is there take it.
We need to stop thinking as just another club, we should aim to be bigger and better!

We don't need a full blown stadium as a training facility though. We already have great indoor training facilities and the Football Park surface isn't going anywhere. That's all we need right.

As for a pub for members, how well will it be utilised? I think you'll be surprised as to how little it will be used by members. The club knows this, hence why they're not pursuing it. After all, we don't want a Prince of Wales debacle our neighbours had.

We don't need a full blown stadium as a training facility though. We already have great indoor training facilities and the Football Park surface isn't going anywhere. That's all we need right.

As for a pub for members, how well will it be utilised? I think you'll be surprised as to how little it will be used by members. The club knows this, hence why they're not pursuing it. After all, we don't want a Prince of Wales debacle our neighbours had.

The surface isn't going anywhere but the lights, the gates and fences will, leaving us without being able to train at night or have closed sessions or just sessions without dog poo.

Given most of the training is done during the day I can't see that being an issue.

Several Melbourne clubs have open training venues yet don't seem to have these issues.

Also, any parkland facility will almost certainly be open, with no lights, so it will have the same issues as Footy Park only we'll be paying a mint in rent.

Considering how many closed sessions we have it will become a concern in the future I think.
Wether we like it or not at some point we gonna have to leave aren't we?
So if the opportunity arises I don't see anything with moving to a different venue!
Personally it's not so much about moving closer to the city, it's more a case of us having our own base and wanting for nothing!

Rucci is just raising this in an attempt to inform protestors now early and so they can build momentum. He did the same when we looked at Adelaide Uni. I'm sure if there was something similar with powa he would keep it quiet then sing their praises if/when it happens. Really can't stand the guy. A pathetic weasel.

Also, any parkland facility will almost certainly be open, with no lights, so it will have the same issues as Footy Park only we'll be paying a mint in rent.

We will be forced to move in 20 years and when we move it should be a place we plan on staying at for 100+ years. We should be looking to purchase land cheaply rather than lease, which is why we would need assistance from influential people in the state government to make that happen and it would need to be owned by the state or a council. Any privately owned land will be too expensive to buy in any convenient location. It needs to be in a convenient location so that it can generate a profit rather than be an expense by putting a tavern and function rooms on the property.

When we own the land we can put up permanent lights without thinking "how much are we willing to pay for light towers that will get demolished in 20years time, or when we find a good property to move to." we just think "how much are we willing to pay for permanent light towers"

Apparently we are looking at moving to park 2! Near the Adelaide Aquatic Centre!
Reported by Rucci so don't know how trusted this is?
To be fair to Rucci if he is saying near the Aquatic center, then you can guarantee and bookmark that it won't happen.

The ironic thing is the Port board has Amanda Vanstone, a massive Lib head.
On the odd occasion I listen to Vanstone on her show on RN, Counterpoint, she either manages to bring Port into a global topic or is just rambling about waiting in lines at the supermarket while people in front of her decide what they're doing. Clearly an ex politician with nothing better to do.

We will be forced to move in 20 years and when we move it should be a place we plan on staying at for 100+ years. We should be looking to purchase land cheaply rather than lease, which is why we would need assistance from influential people in the state government to make that happen and it would need to be owned by the state or a council. Any privately owned land will be too expensive to buy in any convenient location. It needs to be in a convenient location so that it can generate a profit rather than be an expense by putting a tavern and function rooms on the property.

When we own the land we can put up permanent lights without thinking "how much are we willing to pay for light towers that will get demolished in 20years time, or when we find a good property to move to." we just think "how much are we willing to pay for permanent light towers"

Local government land will not be sold especially in the city or on the fringe of the city they aren't a business it's the land of the people. They will however enter into extremely long term leases which would suit the AFC with clauses in for extensions. No real difference than owning in this instance as if you build on it the building will need replacing before the lease is up so it's not as if you would lose on your investment

Considering how many closed sessions we have it will become a concern in the future I think.
Wether we like it or not at some point we gonna have to leave aren't we?
So if the opportunity arises I don't see anything with moving to a different venue!
Personally it's not so much about moving closer to the city, it's more a case of us having our own base and wanting for nothing!
They already do a lot of closed work inside the shed. Not every session is out on the oval.

It's not a comparable situation but the Cazalys in Cairns is chockers for meals most nights and very popular. Also the Brothers leagues facility. Both of course have pokies and live entertainment. But I recon it's the restaurant which does the cracking business. Maybe it's because of the members specials making it enticing and since you mostly have to be a member to be there because of the liquor licencing. Then people feel somewhat obliged to use the facilities because they have a membership even though the cost is basically nothing.

i use to have meals and drinks wif sis at the norf sydney leagues club. A better establishment than our casino for its ability to cater for everyone. square meals, affordable and cheap grog. pokies is where they
would get you.

The Leagues Club set up in the northern states is VERY different to club owned pubs here though. Most of them are funded largely by the mass amounts of pokies, something we can't do (as legally we're only allowed 32-40 pokies, compared to the hundreds the Leagues clubs have).

i use to have meals and drinks wif sis at the norf sydney leagues club. A better establishment than our casino for its ability to cater for everyone. square meals, affordable and cheap grog. pokies is where they
would get you.

I guess that's the aim ha ha. They've never got a penny from me gambling wise in the 32 odd years since I turned 18.
They like to call it entertainment.

Why do our guys need to train in the city?

What actual benefit is there for our club to invest such a large capital outlay right now when we have a pretty good facility at West Lakes?

If the developers want to kick us out and pay for the privilege then that is a different story.